We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vegetarian Gourmet Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica to be near the airport for our flight the next day. We arrived in the early evening after visiting the nearby La Paz Waterfall Gardens and enjoyed a lovely romantic vegetarian gourmet dinner overlooking the city of San Jose from the scenic mountainside location. We stayed in the El Roble junior suite and it was beautiful! Upon arriving, we were surprised with a beautiful rose petal decoration on the bed for our 20th wedding anniversary. The bed and especially the comforter and sheets, were the most comfortable of all of the places we stayed in Costa Rica! We loved the authentic and artistic décor and the very helpful and friendly staff. We only wish we would have had more time to spend to take the organic coffee tour and enjoy the beautiful grounds. This is truly a special place and we hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the El Roble junior suite and it was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Lara; Thanks for writing in a talking about your 20th anniversary at Rosa Blanca. I hope you come back soon for a longer stay to take advantage of the myriad activities we offer and of course, to take advantage of our coffee tour, which also allows you to fully participate in a "cupping" where you will learn how to discern between quality and mediocre coffee. I loved the photos of the food (looks like you are a big foodie!) and thanks for noticing our bamboo/cotton blend sheets. Expensive for us but really worth it for the comfort of our guests.
See you soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 678 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This coffee tour is a lovely walk through shaded organic coffee fields, relaxing and informative as the impassioned guide tells stories and anecdotes that entertain and educate. We are taken through the process of drying, roasting ( aroma therapy) even how to taste coffee, the yummiest part of the tour.It takes a couple of hours but it's leisurely and comfortable, and a beautiful way to spend the morning or afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Laurel A; Thanks for writing about us- it is nice to hear from people who live inside Costa Rica as well as visitors from other countries. We know you are a frequent visitor to Rosa Blanca and I am glad that after all this time, you still love your experiences here. I hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed this property and all of the privacy it afforded. The staff were great, the food delicious, rooms clean, and grounds beautiful. No single complaint. We were there in May 2011. Great location close to the airport for your beginning nights and ending nights of any CR trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyAndDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear HollyAndDavid; Wow, not one single complaint- that is so nice to hear and thanks so much for writing about us. I hope you will stay many more days next time and experience some of our wonderful and authentic activities and cultural excursions which are perfect from Rosa Blanca, as we are perfectly situated for dozens of day trips to the best the Central Highlands has to offer. And of course, you already know about the great coffee grown here and all around us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stay here since it's only 15 mins from SJC airport and is gorgeous. Much better than living in the city itself. The coffee here is amazing too. Take the plantation tour too. Restaurant is very nice! We stayed in El Cafetal and it was a beautiful room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sutanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sutanuka; Thanks for the review and thanks for mentioning our food, which we are so proud of. Our chef, Oscar Picado is so talented and he is obsessed with his organic greenhouse where he grows almost all of our greens, spices, herbs and also the exotic tubers such as "Ñampí", "Tisquisque", "Yuca" and other vegetables and fruits such as "Chayote", and edible flowers. I hope you can come back and experience more of our interesting creative Costa Rican cuisine.
See you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for 2 nights to start off our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax from a big wedding! We loved how it wasn't too big and we felt very taken care of and welcome. We ate all meals here and loved everything we tried. Marco took care of us the most. He was great! You have to do the coffee tour. We learned so much and saw a lot! The coffee here is incredible. We are saving our bag for a special occasion. Our room was beautiful- Rosa Blanca. The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Overall just amazing. We voted best room and meals on the trip. Thank you for making our honeymoon special!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstrmucklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Mstrmucklow; I am so happy your days here on your honeymoon were so great. The fact that you got to stay in the Rosa Blanca Master Suite is even more exciting and I know you must have loved waking up in the morning watching the sun rise from behind the Irazú volcano and seeing the birds feeding right outside the balcony. After all, you were 45 feet above the ground! We are3 very proud of our coffee and also that it is organic and shade grown and if you feel like you want to buy some more, you can always get it online door to door at CafeMialgro dot com
Thanks for writing in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our trip to FRB was three nights of splendor in the peaks above San Jose surrounded by a sweet plantation full of relaxation and ease. Kids swimming, adult massage, endless coffee tasting and tours. The staff was beyond our wildest dreams, as they treated us like family and we left with heavy hearts hoping to one day return! Our villas were as splendid as being set back in the forest can be. The food: breakfast, lunch, or dinner were exceptional, but Marvin's drink specials will always be something I crave! There's no better experience in our minds, and we recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pradogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Pradogirl; What a great review and thanks for taking your time out of your day to write to TripAdvisor about us. I am so glad you loved the food and the special cocktails we prepare, we love this area of our hotel and as you know, we use our greenhouse and organic orchards to get the tastiest, healthiest and freshest produce, fruits and spices for our food and for our cocktails. Next time you will have to ry our specialty drinks with fresh herbs, ginger and "Guaro", the national rum style alcohol we produce here which is smooth,mild and really delicious. See you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very relaxing - great rooms, restaurant, and service. The staff were very accommodating and enhance the quality of your stay at the inn. The food was delicious and the coffee amazing! I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckenney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear ckenney4; Thank you so much for writing about Finca Rosa Blanca and I am very pleased that you loved the food and experienced the great relaxation that is fomented here from the nature that surrounds the small hotel on so much property. Come back soon, OK?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
4.3 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
411 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort

Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $245 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is a world-class 14 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is one of the "National Geographic Unique Lodges of the World" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing