We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very relaxing - great rooms, restaurant, and service. The staff were very accommodating and enhance the quality of your stay at the inn. The food was delicious and the coffee amazing! I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckenney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear ckenney4; Thank you so much for writing about Finca Rosa Blanca and I am very pleased that you loved the food and experienced the great relaxation that is fomented here from the nature that surrounds the small hotel on so much property. Come back soon, OK?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 686 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a fabulous time at Finca Rosa Blanca, it is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could want and near San Jose so you get the city feel. The food was great and the staff very accommodating to the guests. It is a quiet and peaceful place to spend a vacation in Costa Rica and there are so many adventure trips that the hotel can arrange with their wonderful guides. Definitely will go back on a return trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Allison S; thank you very much for writing in and talking about our resort. We certainly hope you do come back and this time spend some more days here to experience some of the many other activities we offer. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was fantastic on every level! Calm and serene, the natural beauty and wildlife are breathtaking. The view is worth the trip alone. Near a nice small town, it is close enough to enjoy local nightlife, but also secluded enough to escape into your own world. The staff were all very kind and accomodating, and like to grow a report with the guests. They were eager to help with any request you may have. The food and coffee are also amazing, and rival the scenery and atmosphere for the best thing about this place. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DS232134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear DS232134; I really appreciate your nice review and for letting other readers know about our small inn on a large property. Of course our coffee is one of our most important attributes and we are quite proud of the quality and the coffee tour, but you took advantage of our restaurant and its "farm to table" style and so many other aspects which is the best way to experience our small hotel. Thanks again for writing in and for appreciating what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spent four days at Finca Rosa Blanca. It was a wonderful alternative to San Jose. It is secluded and relaxing. Because it sits on a coffee plantation the scenery was gorgeous. The rooms were quite comfortable with a design that was charmingly unique. The location of Finca Rosa Blanca is perfect for doing activities in the area. We went on an excursion each day (nature preserves, Poas Volcano) and were back in the afternoon to relax and enjoy ourselves. The staff was warm and friendly and gave wonderful reccomendations on what to do in and around Santa Barbara. It was obvious that the quality of our stay was extremely important to them. We also had a WONDERFUL guide named Manolo whose knowledge about Costa Rica and its flora and fauna made for an unparallelled experience. Lastly, the coffee at Finca Rosa Blanca was out of this world. I missed it the second I left (thankfully I bought some for friends and family, as well as a small stash for myself). As I said, Finca Rosa Blanca has a wonderful location that is perfect for excurions, or for relaxing with a cup of coffee and enjoying the beautiful view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aidan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Aidan R; What a nice review of our coffee plantation and Inn! Thanks so much for writing about us. Our coffee is quite well known here, but because we are a single origin small coffee farm, it is usually through our guests that they get to tour and then do a cupping to really understand our quality and responsibility to the environment. Of all the coffees "cupped" in the international Rainforest Alliance annual event with 30 international professional "cuppers" (this year in South Carolina USA) we ranked 11th of all the coffees in Costa Rica and the only "specialty" ranking of any organic coffee. As a small resort, we also have a myriad other activities we offer, including volcanoes, cultural tours, off road bicycling, hiking at 10,000 ft in the beautiful Braulio Carillo cloud forests only 8km from our farm and so many more. Your 4 days here was the minimum we recommend if you have the time.By the way, you can buy more of our coffee at CafeMilagro dot com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here two nights at the start of our trip and were so glad we did. This hotel had hands-down the friendliest staff. Very knowledgable about the area and had good recommendations. They arranged a tour to Poas volcano, which was worth the one hour drive each way. Their coffee tour was a somewhat strenuous walk, but was worth it as it was very informative. Learned a lot from the coffee tasting part of it as well. Food in restaurant was very good to excellent and variety was good, although dining service was sometimes a little slow. Loved the ceviche. Stayed in El Cafetal room, which was just beautiful in all respects. The resort is close to airport for convenience, but would have felt cheated if we only stayed one night. The laid back atmosphere in this incredibly beautiful Plantation Inn was a perfect way to start our trip.

Room Tip: El Cafetal room was beautiful. Liked that you could see each room on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lolita545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Ann959; I am so pleased you took the time to write about our small resort so that others can understand what we are trying to do. Our service to our clients has to be the best, as our guests are looking for something authentic, exciting, relaxing and creative- if not, they would be going to a cookie cutter standard hotel. Also, all of our employees live in the area or close by and thus have great pride in their work and their home town. We hire our staff based on their personalities and their love of people which is an inherent talent- the rest we can train them to do. I also love El Cafetal room, especially the mural painted by Oscar Salazar on the wall behind the bed, which depicts the church of Barrio Jesus behind the coffee fields below and which can be seen in real life from the private deck. I hope we will see you again soon to take advantage of more of our activities and cultural experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I made the decision to stay here rather than in San Jose upon arriving in Costa Rica. It is really close to the airport but is far removed from the city.

The roads leading in wound through other plantations, farms and greenery. We were greeted with drinks upon arrival. The overall laid back vibe was the perfect way to start a vacation. The property is large and beautiful. Well kept, lush gardens, hand made iron lanterns and other iron work that was done by a local artist.

We stayed in the mainhouse which had hand painted murals also by a local artist. There was a large sky roof open area with a small fire place that was beyond charming. Our room had a private deck that overlooked the farm and you could see the lights of San Jose in the distance.

The pool was like a little private lagoon, really quiet, clean and had more lush gardens surrounding it.

We went on the tour of the farm and simply fell in love with the guide, learned a ton about coffee farms, the difference between plantations and organic farms. He taught us the importance of all of the plants and instincts. At the end we did a cupping and got to taste the difference as well. Was just fun. A little bit of a work out, definitely worked up an petite, which leads me to my favorite part... the food!

Everything is cooked fresh. I ordered a mojito and the server went and picked fresh mint! There was a cooking class and the ingredients were all incredible, like eating it straight from the ground.

The office will help you set up activities offsite if you are interested. We went zip lining in the cloud forest and they took us to a local restaurant to eat that was delicious as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TianaRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear TianaRutledge; I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Rosa Blanca and also for talking about your great appreciation of what it is we are trying to do and have been doing for the past 25 years: make sure our guests have incomparable and responsibly created experiences. From the unique farm to table restaurant, to the coffee, to the activities and even the place we are located- some 15 km from the capital city of San Jose in the best coffee growing area of Costa Rica- all is part of our idea to create an unforgettable vacation.
Again thank you so much for appreciating our little work of art and I hope we wills ee you again soon here for part 2 of Finca Rosa Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed here one night so that we could be near to the airport the last day of our trip. Finca Rosa Blanca is about 20 minutes from the airport but seems far removed from the city. It is difficult to find, even with a GPS. We asked a taxi driver who gave us free directions and we found the beautiful inn. Each room is different, with beautiful murals and wrought iron balconies overlooking the plantation. Our room had a small kitchenette, Jacuzzi tub, beautiful tile work, and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. We loved the beautiful grounds, gardens, and pool. The restaurant had excellent food. We didn't have time for the coffee tour since we came too late in the day. It's close to a number of attractions. Poas Volcano Park is about 45 minutes from here we understand. The Inn staff park your car in a locked, guarded lot about 100 feet from the main entrance. Very safe place. We could have easily spent one week here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel_Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Travel_Explorers; Thanks so much for your great description of your stay and for mentioning the details which we think are so important. Actually, our "slogan" is, "it's about the sum of the details". We believe that comfort and activity are two aspects that must be perfect; for instance, we bought the best beds possible and use bamboo fiber and 1000 thread count sheets which is why you said that it was "the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in". Thanks also for commenting about our "farm to table" restaurant and the excellent food, which we consider as one of the most important aspects of our guests' experience. We have our own organic greenhouse, fruit orchards and organic chickens who give us unbelievably delicious eggs. Next time you musty come, as you said, for a week to really take advantage of our activities, tours and coffee experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
902 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
413 reviews
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
709 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort

Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $286 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is a world-class 14 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is one of the "National Geographic Unique Lodges of the World" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing