We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to escape to Finca Rosa Blanca for three nights. It was such an amazing experience--the perfect trip! The staff was more than accommodating and the food was absolutely wonderful. Also, I had read a couple of reviews that it was difficult to get to from the airport, but that was not the case. It was maybe 20 minutes from the airport and as long as you pay close attention to the map you can have emailed to you from Finca Rosa Blanca (maybe it is on their website as well) you will not have a problem. We WILL be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear LacyP; Thank you for taking the time to write about Rosa Blanca and also for appreciating our passion and love for what we do. Our guests' experience is the single mos important issue and we really work hard to make the several days people tend to stay here invigorating, relaxing, and full of new experiences and wonderful activities. I will make sure to tell the staff how much you and your boyfriend appreciated their great service and of course the chef for his great "farm to table" cuisine. Thanks again for letting us know about your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    115
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
143
385
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Finca Rosa Blanca is one of the most beautiful inns we have ever stayed at. The rooms are all individually named.There is hardly a straight line anywhere. The suites are Gaudiesque. Everyone addresses you by name. The grounds are beautiful. Flowers and beautiful plants everywhere. Almost everything is organic. They grow much of their food on site. Across the street is an organic coffee plantation Definitely take the coffee tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordondb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Gordondb; We really appreciate you naming us as one of the most beautiful inns you have ever stayed in. We pride ourselves on making your stay delightful and unforgettable and after 27 years of engaging with our amazing guests who really appreciate what we have done and choose us based on our creative style of architecture, cuisine, service and sustainability, it always makes us feel appreciated and successful when we read reviews like yours.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

All three generations of my family stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca on the tail end of our vacation in Costa Rica. What an amazing end to an incredible journey! The hotel itself is absolutely stunning, and the grounds are equally amazing. It is peaceful and relaxing and designed to feel like you are in a dream. All of the staff is friendly and engaging and obviously they enjoy being a part of the Finca Rosa family.

The tours offered are fantastic!!! We did Poas volcano, La Paz, and the bird watching tour with Manolo. He is a wonderful guide and educator. He had my children (ages 4 and 6) mesmerized throughout our tours. You MUST take a tour with him.

Of course we also did the coffee tour with Leo. He is phenomenal and is able to make coffee interesting and exciting to learn about. We had retired teachers on our tour, and they summed it up best when they said Leo's passion was contagious. We all left smarter than when we began.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmerola22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
DearMmerola22; Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. It is always so satisfying to receive feedback from our guests and our staff are so proud and happy when they hear that our guests had an unforgettable experience.I am also very pleased when our guests take advantage of all the activities and tours we offer, as this is the way to reap the benefits of an authentic and personalized experience.
Leo is indeed a gifted coffee connoisseur and you hit the nail on the head when you wrote that "able to make coffee interesting and exciting to learn about". As you noted, our other guide, Manolo is also equally engaging and that is why, like you did, we always recommend that our guests try to stay for 3 or 4 days so they can really take in the beauty, the plethora of activities, the coffee and the culture of the Central Highlands.
Again thanks for the nice review and we hope to see you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Finca Rosa Blanca is such a unique and exquisite place to visit. From the beautiful rooms and grounds to the excellent food flawlessly prepared and served. My girlfriends and I stayed in one of the suites and found it to be perfect for the three of us. We had ample room and privacy. Our patio overlooked gardens and the valley below. I couldn't leave the room without taking my camera. At every turn throughout the grounds and inside the main house I found myself taking breathtaking pictures of the artwork and decor, flowers and plants and of course the staff. Speaking of staff, they couldn't have been more accomodating and friendly. Always making us their priority.

Although we were happy just staying on the premises and enjoying the hot tub, pool and just relaxing, we did take advantage of some of the great trips available through the Inn. We went canapy ziplining through the rainforest, visited a volcano and hot springs and toured the coffee plantation. Our guides were fantastic and it was effortless on our part because everything was handled for us.

I would definitely recommend Finca Rosa Blanca to anyone who wants to escape the hustle bustle typical tourist type "cookie cutter" hotel. This place is like a little piece of heaven. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Janeepoo; Thanks for the nice comments and I am very happy that you could take advantage of some of the myriad activities and day trips that we offer, besides just enjoying mour grounds with the coffee fields, gardens and spa. As you experienced and we certainly are in agreement, we are more of a destination/ resort than just a hotel and people are always frustrated when they only have one or two days here, as there is so much to do.
Also thanks for mentioning our restaurant: we are committed to serving the freshest and healthiest foods prepared with a great deal of creativity> I think we fall perfectly into that category of "farm to table", as our greenhouse is only 20 meters from the restaurant and from there the chef finds all of his produce, herbs and flowers he uses for his innovative cuisine.
Thanks again for writing and I hope we will see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very special place to stay - there is a main house with some of the rooms, and then 2 separate villas with more rooms, which can be connected together for a family to stay. Each room, which actually is a suite, is decorated slightly differently and also the layout of each room is different.

We had the suite called "El Higueron" - it was in one of the villas, and the room was beautifully appointed, with a very nice bathroom and a separate area with a day-bed and a small area with the minibar and coffee maker. These villas are an extra 3-4 minute walk past the reception area and the restaurant. Even though it's such a short walk, we were driven there on a golf cart with our luggage on the day we arrived.

The service at the Finca Rosa Blanca was incredible - from the beginning when I e-mailed them and asked about the booking, to reception, restaurant and spa. I decided to have a treatment in the spa and it was the best facial I ever had. They really pay attention to detail here - even the shampoo/lotion/conditioner provided in the bathroom were really luxurious and smelled heavenly.

We were served delicious food - for breakfast we could choose from the menu (even though breakfast was included in our room rate) and the choices ranged from pancakes, omelette, to the traditional Costa Rican breakfast of gallo pinto. Served with fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice - not to mention the excellent coffee!

We tried their lunch as well and also had 2 dinners - all of which were excellent. Great choice of meat or fish, and the service was first class.

The location of the hotel is a bit hard to find and we were certainly glad that we had a GPS in our rental car. When we entered "Finca Rosa Blanca" into the GPS it recognised it and lead us directly to it. However, the road is very narrow and has several sharp turns so you need to be careful when driving. There is a secure parking lot right opposite the reception area.

The gardens around the reception are beautifully landscaped and overall the property has a very luxurious feel.

It is also a good base for day-trips - we only had 1 day so went to the Poas volcano, which is well worth seeing (but you have to arrive there early in the morning to see it before the clouds roll in!). We used our rental car, the drive there took about an hour. Finca Rosa Blanca offers this as a tour with a guide, and they have other trips on offer as well. At the end of our stay we booked a transfer to the internal airport Tobias Bolanos at Pavas, near San Jose. This took about half-an-hour and was very easy.

We would definitely recommend Finca Rosa Blanca and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: All the suites are really nice, look on their website to choose your preferred room based on photos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Hela1; I am so honored to receive such a great and complete review of our small hotel. It is particularly inspiring for our staff, who are part of our family here, as they pride themselves on their service, attention to detail and their authentic and personal way of integrating with the hotel, the guests and the place. Our Spa is not huge, but the therapists are incredible and are some of the most experienced and sensitive that we know in Costa Rica. We personally are checking their services regularly (somebody has to do it!) and we know how satisfying and complete the massages, treatments and therapies are there. Thanks for pointing this out- I will make sure Pablo and Karina receive a copy of your kind words.
Again, thanks for letting everybody know about your great experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Attention to detail, they make you feel very special, grounds are magnificent, makes you feel you are still in the "jungle" but with all the comforts of home. Perfect for a special occasion - pricey but worth every penny in my opinion

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saralee78664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Saralee78664; Thank you for writing into TripAdvisor and letting other readers know about your experience. We like to think that it is never about the price, but rather meeting or exceeding one's expectations and leaving them with an unforgettable experience.
I hope to see you next time for some coffee and good conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There is no doubt about the fact that this is a very comfortable, well-organised hotel. As soon as we parked our car in the parking lot (close to the hotel), the porter came to us to hand over an umbrella. Another member of the staff drove us (!) to our room in one of their golfcarts, which was just about 30 meters ahead. The decadence of it… The waiters will call you in no time by your name, which confused me a little… I don’t know which feeling dominated: did it feel amicable or uncomfortable/strange? The manager was around from time to time, which I think is important. He was friendly, a real gentleman and he came over to talk to us twice. The other members of the staf are very friendly too and many people are working all day to maintain the beauty of this inn.

The rooms have just about everything one can desire, especially when coming straight out of the jungle to recharge. Our room (Las Aves) had it’s own little garden. Each room is different with it’s own advantage. Ours was very pretty with all kind of bird paintings (of course) on the walls. After one week jungle we were happy to give our clothes to the laundry service. It was ready in just a few hours. Close to perfection…

Also the food is, as one might expect, delicious. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in their romantic open-air restaurant. I think the best part of our stay was the coffee tour with the Italian Leo. He is like a walking dictionary, this man is unbelievable. Not only he knows everything, he is also a real good story teller with a lovely sense of humour. It was a privilege to have met and listened to him.

Although this is a beautiful place to stay, it is for a certain kind of tourist/visitor. I think we are way too adventurous and far too economical to stay here again. It is expensive and it deserves people that love to hang around in the spa, the swimming pool or get a massage after a half day of sight seeing. People who come to Costa Rica who don’t want to get dirty... Too civilized and proper for us, but still a very nice location and with a great contribution to sustainability. Bravo!

Room Tip: Las Aves is a beautiful room with it's own small garden. The bathroom is 'hidden' in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groenepepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Groenpepi; Thanks so much for your detailed and sincere review of our hotel and coffee plantation. Unfortunately you didn;t have the time to partake in some of our more adventurous tours, like the climb up to Barva Volcano, only 12 kilometers from us. Depending on your level of activity one can spend all day climbing and trekking in the cloud forest and eventually arrive to a very remote and beautiful lake at the base of the volcano. We offer all kinds of day trips and adventures, from the most passive to the very difficult and I hope next time you come, you will be able to participate in some of these.
Our staff love our guests and remember their names because they want to "embrace" our visitors as part of our family at FRB. And thank you for commenting on our food, we believe in the farm to table approach, using ingredients from our own organic greenhouse, the multitude of fruit from our trees and the creative dishes brought forth by Oscar Picado our chef, all of which add to the end of the day experience.
See you next time for some new adventures?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
862 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,276 reviews
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Property: Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world-class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing