We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different locale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Near impossible to find unless your rental car is equipted with GPS, Perhaps 15 miles and at least 20 turns on roads that are questionable sans any signs whats-so-ever.
That aside, neat location on the hills overlooking San Jose. Beautiful flora and fauna.
Clean and spacious suites, albeit, I had to slay one tarantula in the room. I don't assume he was trying to hurt anyone, but I didn't request him on my reservation.
The staff was excellent, and all seemed to know who you were in the small facility in short order.
The restaurant was wonderful, very reasonably priced and the food was very good.
We stayed two nights, which is about the max we could have stayed, sans being into a multitude of excurisions they have to offer.
We are not particular eco-folks but for those that cater into this, Finca might very well be a place you would like to visit.
We would go back providing we have a good GPS in the rental car.

Room Tip: Get a GPS if you have a rental car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallywhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Dear Wallywhitcomb; Thanks for taking the time to write in to TA and let us now about your trip. I am sorry you had to kill the tarantula, they do manage to get into every nook and cranny, but fortunately the ecological balance is so strong at Finca Rosa Blanca, that this happens extremely infrequently as the balanced ecology around keeps them away from the buildings. They are not poisonous but I know it is very unnerving to see one for many people.
We are indeed off the beaten track, which is one of the attributes which makes us so interesting: surrounded by coffee plantations and lush gardens on a small lane, we offer a complete sojourn into the coffee culture and the temperate climate. Costa Rica is an anomaly in terms of street signs, numbers as there are none! However, we have an amazing GPS system map here in the country and all the rental ca companies provide them. They are really foolproof. we do recommend that everybody who will be driving through Costa Rica, which is a beautiful and educational experience, request a GPS when they pick up their car.
Again, thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 678 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

Beautiful, unique, perfect spot for the beginning and end of your Costa Rica trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique; stayed in 2 different ones and loved them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTSZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Dear RTSZN: Thanks for the concise summation of Finca Rosa Blanca! We hope to see you next time you are in our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, is such a wonderful place. The grounds, staff, inn, artwork and coffee, were all a pleasant surprise. I didn't know what to expect, and was blown away. I felt at home in a place that was so far away from home. I didn't want to leave the place, there was so much to explore and just relax. There's wonderful folk art everywhere and Glen's art. The staff was so nice and helpful. They couldn't be nicer. I met Glen, the owner, what wonderful kind person, full of artistic inspiration. All I can say is never wanted to leave this place. I hope to return and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Ryan T: It was great meeting you and having the time to talk about our artwork which is one of our loves- as you know, I am a painter and have been my whole life and for me, a building without art work looks empty. We collect everything from local folk art to contemporary painting, sculpture and prints and we try to design even the railings and pavers with the idea of creating an interesting visual affect. We hope you come back soon Ryan and stay in one of the other rooms, as they are all different and unique. Saludos desde Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our first visit to Costa Rica and what a wonderful introduction. We loved the quirkiness of the hotel. We stayed in Las Aves which has birds painted on many surfaces. The bed was extremely comfortable, and huge. A lovely touch was the chocolate frogs on the bed when we returned after our evening meal.
The whole hotel is really special with interesting artwork at every corner.
The grounds are beautifully maintained with many exotic plants and birds. The pool area we had to ourselves, although as a poor swimmer I did not go in but my husband enjoyed it. I opted for the hot tub instead.
Food was very good. Lunch time menus provided large portions and the staff were more than happy to split one order to serve two.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

We did the coffee tour which was excellent. Leo was so passionate about coffee and had us all slurping nosily when we did the 'cupping'.
Would definitely go back given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear WestMidlandsLizzy; You are so kind to have taken the time to write such great comments about our small hotel.. I also love those little chocolate frogs, which are made fresh here in Santa Barbara and are organic Costa Rican chocolate. I stay away from the boxes though, as this would cause serious trouble in our inventory. Leo loves his work, he is in the coffee plantation most of the day and he loves, as you have seen, to take people there and talk about the true love of his life (after his wife of course). If we have one thing that we are proud of and have been trying to do for more than 23 years it would be the service to our clients happily delivered from our wonderful, proud and local staff. Thanks for mentioning the service, I will certainly pass those kind words on to them. Thanks again for appreciating Finca Rosa Blanca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Beautiful place to relax and unwind. Take the coffee plantation tour. We learned more about coffee in a 2 hour tour than we have in 50 years. Leo was great and passionate about coffee.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. You may want to have one facing the lights of San Jose at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Angela M;
Thanks for commenting on Finca Rosa Blanca. Leo is indeed a great host, guide and encyclopedia of information.about his true passion- coffee I hope you will be able to try the Rosa Blanca Master Suite next time. Will we see you next year?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed here with my 2 daughters and 2 sisters for 4 nights, celebrating a birthday and looking for adventure. We reserved Villa Laguna which had lovely rooms, comfy beds, plenty of hot water and outstanding ambiance. Everything was wonderful from the welcoming drinks, to the restaurant's fabulous food & service, through booking of our tours. The grounds were lovely and we had fun walking the many paths. The staff was very accommodating, even warming our pastries and supplying utensils to cut the fruit we purchased at a road-side stand. If you are afraid of insects, look around and check your room. This is a plantation with lush gardens which attract birds and other things.

Room Tip: La Guaria and El Roble join to form Villa Laguna which contains a small kitchen, two bedrooms with k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear GoCath; I am so happy that all of you had such a great time. We loved having all of you here and it was very obvious that you were really enjoying yourselves. Being in one of the villas allows you the great vies of the Central Valley and coffee fields below and is a great choice for families or larger groups. Couples also can enjoy the separate rooms if the whole villa is not rented.. Either way, a great location for being in nature and also great terraces for just hanging out and watching the birds fly by. We do have a lot of biodiversity and ecology at Finca Rosa Blanca, but the balance is so beautifully maintained that there are really very few problems with insects.
Can't wait to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at this resort at the end of our vacation touring Costa Rica. We were only staying two nights and the stay was only meant to round us back towards the airport to finish up our trip. It ended up being way more then we expected. Not only was our room extremely memoriable but the staff were incredible. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service and ambiance was outstanding. A must do at either the beginning or end of your Costa Rician holiday. Only downside is you are close to town and there are really no animals to speak of nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Blanca Suite. If you can get it, it is outstanding and will be more then wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear OffTheBeatenPath_1;
Thanks for the marvelous review. I am so glad you were content with Finca Rosa Blanca and you got to experience the Rosa Blanca Master Suite, which originally was the room we built for my mother who said she "always wanted to sleep in the clouds". To wake up at dawn and from the king sized bed watch the sun rising behind the Irazú volcano is really incomparable and I am sure you, like all of us, were amazed. As per the animals, we actually have quite a bit, although many of them are nocturnal; "Tigrillos" (a feline about the size of a smallish dog), coyotes, sloths, and over 120 species of birds that are quite abundant at dawn very early and many during the morning hours. We are close to the little pueblo of Santa Barbara but we are as you know surrounded by many coffee farms including our own and these areas are teeming with life. We recommend that instead of just starting or ending your trip here, which does make sense as we are only 20 minutes from the airport, that you stay at least 3 days so you can really take advantage of all we have to offer very close by: cloud forests, beautiful and culturally interesting central markets, zip lines, National Parks and incredible hiking.
Thanks again for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
4.3 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
411 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort

Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $245 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is a world-class 14 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort is one of the "National Geographic Unique Lodges of the World" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing