We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service ans tough Calamari Steak”

Ocean Basket Strand
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Strand
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service ans tough Calamari Steak”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

On 18 May 2014 at 17:00 I (3 adults and 2 children) had a meal at OB Stand, the restaurant was quiet. 10 minutes after ordering drinks we had to asked for the tea ordered by my wife, they forgot about the tea. Three persons ordered Sushi, only two were served, the third was plated but never served, had to ask for that as well. The calamari steak I ordered was the toughest I ever had in my life, told that to the waiter who reported it to the manager who did not made an effort to speak to me about it. I can not recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l0u1sC00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    19
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a View”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are Locals and often go to the Gordonsbay Branch - This is our new Local-Never Had a bad Meal yet. Well done guys. The restaurant is clean and Brilliant and Draft beer on Tap.
And View to die for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Satisfied from London”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good value (branch of a national chain) seafood restaurant. The setting is sublime - views across False Bay to Gordon's Bay and beyond. There is ample on street parking and although the building is a fairly characterless modern high rise building (restaurant is on the ground floor) the restaurant itself has an airy feel with high ceilings and an outstanding aspect. There is also a nice outdoor area for when the south easter is not blowing (it can blow a bit at Strand). Service is very friendly. All in all a pleasant and good value experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is a parking problem so we parked behind the hotel. We had to pass the backside of the kitchen and smelled of food in bins. It was an overwhelming ammoniac smell. We should have decided not to go further...
The views are fantastic once seated on the balcony, but hotel guests in bathing costumes walk around between the (very old dmaged) tables.
The food wasn't expensive as it wasn't good at all... The prawns were off and didn't have any taste and the fish was, euh, fish...
There is a serious problem to be solved.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bad Food, Bad Service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Some Ocean Baskets can be very good but this one is terrible. The fish and prawns we had were obviously from frozen. The chips dry. Just an overall bad experience going there with service also not good. We did not complain on the evening as this often does spoil it for everyone but when we came out we all said how bad it was. We will not go back there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket Strand also viewed

 
Strand, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing