We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True South African Belgian experience”

The Belgian Waffle House
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Strand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A little bit of Belgium, but in the heart of Strand, Somerset West Cape Town. Brilliant friendly service. For the sweet tooth, the Waffles a must, or enjoy a savoury pancake. Well worth the visit. Can get very busy, so be patient as there is limited intimate seating. A BIG thumbs up!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank einesweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

This is one of my fav places in Cape Town, you really can't visit Strand and not swing by... you would be doing yourself a disservice! The staff are lovely and the waffles are incredible!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AdventurerLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Was here for a nice lunch with my familie. The waffles and filled Pancakes are delicious, it brought back the memories of my youth

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 97rolandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We're not fans of the Strand (seems a little tired and run down), but we made the trip to check out the Belgian waffle house. Whilst we don't profess to be waffle experts, we've not come across such light and crispy waffles before! To die for surely, and judging by the crowds, we weren't alone! This is a small and very friendly restaurant - the owner was front of house and very much hands on. The menu is pretty extensive (includes pancakes), with both savoury and sweet versions. It might not be to everyone's taste, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019 via mobile

The Belgian Waffle House is very well located for those taking a stroll along the beach promenade. The very reasonably priced menu includes both savoury and sweet waffles and pancakes. The service was fast and efficient, and the portions very generous. We enjoyed our breakfast waffles and coffee, and will certainly be back to try some of the other options on the menu.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank MikeC7806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belgian Waffle House also viewed

 

Been to The Belgian Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing