We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben's on the Beach

Ben's on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Strand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts spectacular views across False Bay, towards Cape Town. Veteran award-winning restaurateur Ben, and his wife, Shirley (a former hotel school lecturer), established Ben's in 2004. They have created a stylish yet relaxed venue, where a varied and well-priced selection of dishes is offered. Ben's is one of the few remaining establishments that continues to dry-age meat - the time-honored and superior method. At Ben's you will not find over-priced and under-portioned "haute cuisine". We believe that the new expression "less is more" is gobbeldygook, where food is concerned. We concentrate on the simple yet timeless dishes that diners return to again and again, such as a great steak, fresh linefish, and the ever-popular creme brulee. At Ben's, you will discover generous portions at honest prices. We look forward to your visit ... And then return!
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Looks can be deceiving. Unassuming from the outside and gorgeous on the inside. A comfortable and very affordable restaurant. We stopped in for lunch and came back for dinner! A superb meal both times in a beautiful setting. The décor is lovely, the staff wonderful and the food is absolutely incredible. I had a steak that I could cut with a butter knife and was delicious. The Moroccan chicken is amazing. A "must eat here" whenever you visit Strand.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    166
    40
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fillet ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed with the meals, service and ambience. The fillet is always cooked to perfection, the fish is succulent and the cordon blue is genuinely the perfect balance of meat and cheese. The service is always fast, friendly and just enough to make Ben's on the beach the perfect family restaurant. If anyone ever asks where one can eat a good steak my answer is always... "Ben's on the beach"! Whether you want to celebrate your first date, 80th birthday or engagement; Shirley, Ben and their team go out of their way to make it a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Tashvanaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villiersdorp, South Africa
1 review
“Welcoming restaurant with great food at good prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We went to Ben's on the Beach to celebrate my 40th birthday. From the warm welcome at the door to the great food it was a wonderful experience and lasting memories have been made. The starters were so tasty (wild mushroom soup and spring rolls) and the fillet steaks perfectly cooked with a helping of the most delicious tomato-based spicey chutney. The ambience with the view of the stormy waves breaking just a few metres away is so relaxing. We had a great time and will return and also refer friends and family to Ben's on the Beach. Well done, Ben & Shirley!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Tasmin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ben's On The Beach never out of Reach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Its is seldom that service, quality of food and pricing attains 'beyond satisfactory' equilibrium. That being said, nestled literally on the beach where the spray of salt water actually moistens their windows , Ben's restaurant has become my natural Port of Call' where good wine, excellent portions of steak and fish are shared with good friends, shrouded by exquisite intimate decor. Perhaps its the retro music of the Shadows, or even the magnificent presentation of the dishes but never disappointment has that 'house of heavenly feast' bestowed upon me .

FMR Radio Presenter & author
Shiloh Noone

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilohNoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant and priced well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We love eating out at a huge variety of restaurants. We always return to Ben's. The service is always excellent. A lot of much more expensive restaurants can come here to learn about customer service. The servers always know the menu and what is available and so forth.
The food is always, always excellent. Quite a few of families, colleges and friends come here also, some on my recommendation and I always just heard praise for this restaurant.
Ben's prices are, I think very good value for money. Do yourself a favor and visit Ben's for a good outing. (Gilbert)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's on the Beach also viewed

Strand, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Ben's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing