We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Tanama River Adventures
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Utuado
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Carlton, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was an amazing tour! We tubed into caves and hiked to the caverns. It was unbelievable. We had a great guide!! Had lunch after. These peopleare great. They are passionate about what they do and they make you feel like home. The lunch was amazing. I would highly reccomend this tour. Worth the drive no matter where you are coming from.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“The most amazing sight, best thing I've ever seen!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The experience that Derek and Hector gave us was awesome!! From the repelling to the tubing we had a great time, they were very knowable about the area, plants, culture, and so on. They are genuinely great people. I am recommending this to anyone who is looking for a true adventure, you do need to plan on a bit of a hike but the final destination is truly the most beautiful site I've ever seen!!! Best place we ventured in Puerto Rico, I'm telling everyone to go and we will deff go back and visit them again!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kyleandcory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Rain Forest Adventure”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I booked the Full Day, Option #5 and lucked into a personal tour with Derek. This included a moderate hike to the "Bat Cave". We then hiked to a location where we rappelled 250' to a river. From this point, we continued our trekking, viewing beautiful terrain, waterfalls, caves and rock formations. The cave tubing was extremely interesting, and relaxing. My wife and I would have preferred to rappel a few more times. Derek, Bija and Fernando are wonderful people who enjoy sharing their backyard. They are very safety conscience and passionate. A special treat at the end was Yama's cooking authentic Puerto Rican cuisine.

Note. Give yourself extra time traveling from San Juan to Utuado. Traffic and roads can be a challenge! This is worth the drive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! ”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a truly amazing time on this tour! We were a group of 5 for the hike and cave tubing, and were lucky enough to go as a private group.

The initial hike was beautiful but definitely a workout. Our guide told us about different plants and the history of the area. We then got in our tubes and headed down the river. The cave was really cool and surreal, it's completely dark in the middle, good thing we had head lamps! You come out on the other side to a flowing river with beautiful mountain scenery that looks like you're in a scene from Jurassic park! We enjoyed drinking the fresh spring water from a stream, exploring the rocks alongside and wading through the river before heading back.

Would def recommend this trip to friends! Hoping to go back and do the rappelling tour when we eventually return to Puerto Rico. It is a bit of a physical tour with the hiking, you def need comfy, pref older sneakers and comfy clothes. Glad we brought the recommended change of dry clothes to change into after as you do get quite wet.

Helpful?
Thank Qsarah18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“A supercalifragilisticexpialidocious adventure!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

As a tourist, I will say this was one of the most exciting and well organized "short" adventures of the year (2014). We went cave tubing through the Tanamá River. This adventure includes rapeling, hiking, and water rafting. The team is really well trained, they make you feel safe through the whole activity, which I really appreciate. These guys are professionals.

As a geologist and educator (Arizona State University) this is a great trip to learn more about the Puerto Rican karst system. During the trip it is almost impossible to do not see fossils, they are everywhere! If you are really "into rocks", you will find the first two out of six formations that makes "El Carso Norteño" (Northern Karst). This is a great opportunity to put in practice some knowledge acquired about sedimentary rocks. Good for education purposes.

As a Boricua (Puerto Rican), this guys overpassed my expectations. When you combine price, location, expertise from the team, and service, this guys has 10/10. I been "wandering" around Utuado for a long time as a researcher and outdoor enthusiast, but never had the chance to look how beautiful is Utuado. This is the tour that everyone that is interested in knowing more about our beautiful Puerto Rico should do.

¡Sal y Explora! (Go outdoors and explore!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanama River Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Tanama River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing