We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was excellent but service was a shame”
Review of Paisaje Escondido

Paisaje Escondido
Ranked #18 of 25 Restaurants in Utuado
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was excellent but service was a shame”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have to say that the mofongo stuffed with red snapper, sea food mix and chicken was delicious. We picked the restaurant because the brochure was the best in terms of presentation. The guy also said that they would welcome us with a free plantain soup. A arrival it was empty. Only a party of two was there. We ordered appetizers and asked for the free soup. The waitress said it was being served. It never came. Also we had to beg for the drinks. We asked for a bottle of water and the waitress never brought it. Also a frappe for the kid and the waitress kept saying she forgot. We asked for trifongo for an additional charge and we got the mofongo. They wanted to charge me a 15% tip and I said I wouldn't pay more than a 5% which I did. We felt deceived because they lied to us saying a free soup was included also the staff was joking around the restaurant when we asked for drinks that never was served. The food was A and the service -F. Don't know if I would return. There are other options available. That's my experience and opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pancho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    7
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
va
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Had a great time.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lago Dos Bocas is really a neat place to go for lunch. You drive to the pier and choose a restaurant and hop on their respective boat. They then ferry you across a very scenic lake the to the restaurant. We picked Paisaje Escondido somewhat at random and were not disappointed. The food was good and the view was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jl21Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow, and bad”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Service was slow even by Puerto Rican standards, and on a day when the restaurant wasn't full. Unattentive waiters; our drinks didn't come until my boyfriend asked for them again. The place felt hot and stuffy, which is expected outdoors, but could have been helped by some ceiling fans. Appetizers were mediocre. My stuffed mofongo was extremely seasoned and salty. I've had better mofongos at food trucks. Food is overpriced. My guess is that this place remains in business because of its location. Utuado is a pretty town and the lake is nice, but if you go, pick any of the other restaurants there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoquiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place to go if you are not in a hurry”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

In our last visit to this restaurant, we had a longer than average wait time, but it was understandable due to the fact that it was a local holiday and every restaurant was packed. The food was exquisite, and the view is breathtaking. I highly suggest that you take the boat ride to the restaurant. It can be found at "El embarcadero del Lago Dos Bocas". You wont regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant of terror!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Everything is a lie, the best mofongo not true, the best food not true, fast servings not true, nice staff not true. What is true is they will ad the tip anyways mo matter how bad your were treated and you will never go again your life time. Another thing is you ask for any other restaurant they will tell you is close or full, so you think they are doing a huge act of good samaritan.and you end on the hell hole their restaurant!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ziskorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paisaje Escondido also viewed

 
Utuado, Puerto Rico
Utuado, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Paisaje Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing