We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We want to return!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utuado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We want to return!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a charming place with a breathtaking view of the mountains that surround it. The food and service is very good. Perfect getaway if you want to disconnect and relax yourself. His owner has a little piece of Heaven in earth. Definitely, we will return!...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    154
    54
    25
    13
See reviews for
90
268
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I thought carefully before writing this review. I want to present the honest truth of my several day stay, with my girlfriend. Imagine you pull up to a place that is situated in a very wonderfully remote location. Although it is just a few miles from town it takes about 20 minutes to get to Utuado. Upon checking in around 7 at night we were informed that the restaurant was closed. With all local establishments being closed as well. They were gracious enough to let us have some overpriced bread and beer. They were serving a very limited breakfast, fruit and yogurt and granola. As they were remodeling the kitchen. Construction work started around the same time the coffee was served.

The room was less than sparse. It was a bed, uncomfortable at that. Several pieces of wood fashioned as tables attached to the walls and a quite dirty chair. As others have stated there are no accommodations in the room. None. A single ceiling fan was the source of air movement. The room was very humid.

Imagine poorly constructed and poorly painted wood walls, no sound barrier. You can hear the snores, foot steps and chatter of the other guest in the 4 plex cabin. Each cabin is divided by squares. On the porch there is a hammock and two chairs.

During our stay the second night there was a water problem. Imagine hiking in the caves, think guano, and not being able to shower upon your return. Nor could you flush the toilets. Upon notifying them they did turn the water on in the morning, as the staff go home at 8 or 9. I spoke with the owner fully expecting that he would discount my stay. He didn't. He told me a story of how it happened to him once in New York. He did comp our $15 breakfast. If you are a coffee drinker as we are be prepared. Bring your own everything. Seriously. Think camping style at $125 a night.

I am sure if you love taking Yoga classes as they offer them for $12 a person in "the temple" it is an amazing place to practice.

Rules, did I mention the rules. Oh my they have a rule for everything. They have more rules than amenities. Basically you cant do anything. There is a long list on your door of what you may not do.

I have travelled to many places, I have stayed in ECO and green boutique and retreat hotels in the jungles of Costa Rica, in the Everglades. This is not a eco or green hotel it is a very budget conscious hotel that uses the idea of wellness to get you to pay and justify there controlling nature. It is not a retreat. Unless you think rules, poor uncomfortable and budget accommodation, poor water management and beer and bread and the sounds of construction are a retreat.

No Bueno!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ShanePorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We always feel badly when the guests' expectations are not met.

The evening of the reviewer's arrival, we served them the local beer, Medalla, @ $2 per can and Heinekin @ $3 per bottle along with some local bread, pan criolla, without charge.

The mattresses are medium to firm and to the liking of most of our guests. In the room with one queen bed there are three tables attached to the walls and a wall cubby for storage. There's also a clothes pole with shelf above, a large mirror and a nicely framed colorful poster from one of the municipalities annual festivals. The bathroom has a European style vanity and sink, a walk-in shower with a dispenser of body wash/shampoo.

We draw water from the mountain on the other side of the valley. A large tree fell across and broke the 2" pipe around dusk and we were unable to repair the damage until the next morning. When the reviewer checked out he told me of the inconvenience and I offered to waive the charges for breakfast. He found that acceptable and made no request for any further adjustment.

All the rules are designed to enhance the guest experience and provide a safe and healthy environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

For my birthday, we decided to get away from our work, stress and worries of life in the city of San Juan and headed to paradise, in the mountains of Utuado. We couldn't have picked a better place to go, Casa Grande is truly a retreat. We relaxed and napped in our hammock, surrounded by huge mountains, enjoying the sound of the river nearby and the cool breeze. Even though I had done my research and had read all the wonderful reviews here in tripadvisor, we were just so impressed by the peacefulness of the place, the care and maintenance they give to the facilities and gardens, the cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness of the owner and staff, the restaurant, the pool... We just loved it all. We were there for 3 days and 2 nights on the first week of September and we didn't want to leave. I took the yoga class with Steven on the morning of my birthday and it was just what I needed to start off my day with a clear head, relaxed and at the same time feeling balanced and empowered. During our stay, we did all our breakfasts and dinners at Casa Grande. Portions at breakfast are big, two can share most plates (loved the farmer's hash!) and fruit and veggies are so fresh! We were told some of the fruit is from trees on the premises and other was bought from nearby farmers. For dinner they have a different fish each day and the menu has something for everyone at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed everything we ordered. They only do breakfast & dinner (by reservation), but you can order a sandwich or salad in the morning and they will save it for you for lunch. We were so full after breakfast (around 10am) that we just skipped lunch, enjoyed the pool, went exploring the trails and scenery nearby. We drove for about 5-10 minutes on the main road and stopped for some empanadillas in one of the many local stands you will see with beer/refreshments and fried snacks. After that, we went back to Casa Grande to take a shower and have an early dinner at 5:30pm.

Since the place is pretty secluded, and we wanted to make the most of our time there, we planned activities around the area for before check-in time (3pm) and after check-out time (12pm on the last day). That way we had more time to enjoy our peace and quiet in Casa Grande. On the day of check-in, we visited Caguana Ceremonial Park in the morning and had lunch in a local café, and after we checked out of Casa Grande, we went to the Arecibo Observatory. Both places are great.

We are definitely going back to casa Grande, maybe another mini vacation next year, and would definitely recommend it for people who enjoy nature, especially couples like us, who are looking to relax away from everything. We want to thank Steven and his staff for making us feel so well taken care of during our stay. :)

Room Tip: We stayed during weeknights and there were not many guests at the time. Although we were assigned ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbmcava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in Puerto Rico for 2 weeks planning everything by the day. Found this place in frommers guide decided to check it out and we were so happy that we did. The place was so tranquil and the staff was very helpful we ended up staying 2 nights and didn't want to leave would diffidently go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonycan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I can't really explain the beauty of this place. We arrived at night time and there is not that much lighting around the area but you can still admire the beauty of the place. You can hear the river running from the cabins. It was so peaceful and so fresh. If you are thinking to arrive after 9pm, you have to call them and let them know, so they leave you the instructions of how to get to your assigned cabin and how to do check in the next day. We loved the room! Woody ceiling, no AC, no TV, beautiful bathroom, and peaceful colors. THERE IS A HAMMOCK ON THE BALCONY! We enjoyed a glass of wine and from the hammock the first night. There is so much beauty during the morning. If you think that the place is beautiful at night time, wait until the morning, the surrounding green mountains and vegetation are so powerful! You gotta see the mist covering the mountains and the fresh air everywhere. They have a restaurant for breakfast and for dinner. No lunch. The food from the restaurant is good. I loved the dinner the most. The pool area is pretty and peaceful. This place is fascinating and I am glad that I had the opportunity to enjoy it for three days. Everything was VERY CLEAN and people were polite. This is a must do! Here are some pics!

Room Tip: Room Orquidea 10....ours was not that one but the view was amazing and it is the most isolated one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, PR
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a clean and quiet hotel. This hotel is far from the metro area. The closest to a store is like 20 minutes. If you are looking to party or have kids I do not think this place is for you. It is call a retreat hotel for something. I think this warning is really important because its the key to either loving it or hating it.
What I love about this place was the great view it has nearly everywhere in the hotel of the mountains of Utuado. The pool is fill with fresh water from the mountains and has a great view. I didn’t have dinner in the restaurant, but I did have breakfast and it was really good. I recommend the ham omelet or the fruit plate. But the best part of this place is the yoga at 8:00am. It is in a room they call the temple, it has windows all around it and it feels like you are doing yoga with nature. The class is given by Steven, who is also the owner.
I would recommend that you bring your own soup because the one in the hotel is liquid soup from a dispenser. I stay in the room 14 Toronja complex. I saw other rooms and think that the Toronja complex is one of the best, it does not have a view, but I really like it.

Room Tip: Toronja complex is the best one. They do not have AC, but it is not necessary Utuado has a nice tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

If you want peace, relaxation and forget your troubles this is the place. Very nice location surrounded by nature you will hear occasionally a car go by the road down. Food was surprisingly pleasant and the location of the dinning area makes the experience even better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRL614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utuado
9.9 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
26.8 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
39.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
27.8 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Property: Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Address: Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Utuado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Mountain Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a valley in Puerto Rico's central mountains, Casa Grande is an oasis of peace and tranquility. 20 rooms scattered up the mountainside, each with private bath, balcony and hammock. Freshwater pool, restaurant and bar. The Café serves comida criolla, contemporary dishes and vegetarian options. Fully equipped yoga facility offering morning class, birder's paradise, botanical gardens and woodland hiking trail. Near Camuy Caves, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Ceremonial Park, Toro Negro and Rio Abajo Forests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Hotel Utuado
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Puerto Rico/Utuado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing