We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special treat!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utuado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Special treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having lived in San Juan in the mid 70's I returned with my wife for our 31st anniversary in April to visit a close friend still living in San Juan and asked hiim to show us Puerto Rico. We traveled to several spots all over the island and on the last night we stayed here. With out doubt our favorite, quiet, beautiful, relaxing, great food everything we were looking for and more. The flora and fauna of the island on display with walking paths, plants labeled to help us better understand what we were looking at and remember them. Rustic perhaps, no phone, TV, radio, AC, but, we were there to relax, regenerate, recharge, we did! The first place we found that really offered us the chance do do what we really needed to do, rest and recharge! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    153
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
90
266
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

For my birthday, I wanted to have a stress-free, hammoc, out-of-reach cellular signal to relax and I got it. The service is on point, answering all my questions and offering options, making the menu a flexible one. They even have a vegetarian menu. The rooms are like typical wooden houses. The landscape has a variety of plants identified. My room had just one ceiling fan (no air condition, cord phone) and a charming balcony with seats and hammoc. The pool was ok. The other guests enhanced the experience by singing me "Happy Birthday" with cake and paying what I ordered.

My low remarks goes to the price, since is an eco-friendly hotel, the management does not have high expenses (no air condition, no window curtains, clocks, outside lights are turn off after certain hours, very few room lights). They can reduce the hotel fare. Even if the hotel has mountains around, I could still hear trucks passing by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. At $125 per night our rates are moderate and well within the range of comparable accommodations. We're running a great special offer on Tripadvisor whereby you pay for three nights and get the fourth night free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The landscape is beautiful, the cabins are warming and immaculate, the beauty of the gardens! I was with my mother a few months ago (two times) and we renew our energy and relax our minds. In addition to that: its worth the trip to the mountains only to enjoy the EXQUISITE, HEALTHY AND DIFFERENT FOOD! (I dont think you find that in other places in the Island).

Thank you, thank you to the owner Steven that that night he had the sensibility to make an exception and allowed my little dog th stay with us, and thanks God my doggy behave excellent!

Blanca Gonzalez
Viejo San Juan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlancaMarianela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our whole family, kids and adults, loved this place -- it is beautifully landscaped and cared for, extremely remote and different from anything we'd done before. The rooms are more like cabanas, very simple but clean and charming, with lovely boardwalks and balconies with hammocks. It's a bit more like camping than hotel-ing, and you'll hear everything around you -- but that's mostly the sound of coqui frogs, bullfrogs, mourning doves and rainforest birds, so people with the right attitude will love it. The little swimming pool is great, surrounded by rainforest trees and flowering plants (nicely labeled as in a botanical garden). Dinner and breakfast were hearty and delicious, served on the open-air veranda under lazy ceiling fans and served by a friendly staff who were gracious letting us practice our Spanish. We hiked the trail through the forest, and some of us took a morning yoga class. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedgarfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice place and definitely up in the mountains of Utuado, PR. Long winding roads to get there...nice views along the way. Be sure to get there BEFORE dark--the roads can be a little difficult to navigate during the day..would hate for it to be your first time trying to get there in the dark! Drivers beware: after you drive up and unload, you will have to park in the lot from which you'll either have to climb a bunch of stairs or a long up hill to get to the rooms/cabins. The place is nice, the house is not so big as the name may imply:) Staff was wonderful and filled our cooler with ice for us (a few times). Peaceful location as long as the cars on the road right next to it aren't too loud...it is in a residential neighborhood and there are a number of houses on the same road. The grounds are pretty, the beds were ok (could use a little more padding), the hammock was perfect, and looking up at the mountains was wonderful early in the morning. We didn't eat at the restaurant (we picked food up and brought it to the room, we had drinks in our cooler), We were too busy being tourists and would just come early evening and get ready for bed, and left early in the mornings. A two day stay was enough to help us decompress from everyday life...but if you're going to be out during the day...the drive to and from is a bit much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WittyLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girl friend and I stayed here for two nights in April on 2011. Although some other reviewers thought the food was not that good I disagree. I thought it was well prepared and the menu was diverse with a mixture of local foods and a hint of international. I do think that prices should be included on the menu, but found them not to be outrageous when checking out. My one gripe is with the rooms. The beds are hard as rocks and the blankets are paper thin with no extras in the room at all. Contrary to popular thinking it does get rather cool at night in the mountains of PR.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC-MCFARLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We're glad you enjoyed the dining experience. The prices are listed on the breakfast and dinner menus. They do not include the dollar sign ($), just the amount. The beds are on the firm side of medium and not to everyone's liking. Extra blankets are available upon request at the front desk or from the housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

What you get: amazing jungle, awesome swimming pool, relaxing hammock on your personal patio, a comfy bed, and the amazing sounds of the coqui frogs as you sleep (including a cute croaking frog key chain on your room key).

What you don't get: tv's or telephones.

I would skip the dinner, not worth forty bucks. If you do go don't be late. I showed up fifteen late and a large group had eaten most of the food. They heroically scavenged the kitchen and found something for me.

Wonderful experience overall. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your Casa Grande experience. The night in question we had a large unexpected group of dinner guests and we came up a little short on our offerings at the end of the evening when this reviewer arrived to dine. Our regular practice is to maintain a more than ample inventory of food products to prepare and serve all menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utuado
9.9 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
26.8 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
39.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
27.7 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Property: Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Address: Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Utuado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Mountain Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a valley in Puerto Rico's central mountains, Casa Grande is an oasis of peace and tranquility. 20 rooms scattered up the mountainside, each with private bath, balcony and hammock. Freshwater pool, restaurant and bar. The Café serves comida criolla, contemporary dishes and vegetarian options. Fully equipped yoga facility offering morning class, birder's paradise, botanical gardens and woodland hiking trail. Near Camuy Caves, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Ceremonial Park, Toro Negro and Rio Abajo Forests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Hotel Utuado
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Puerto Rico/Utuado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing