We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Privilege Resort(Anse Marcel)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mont Vernon(Cul de Sac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LOVE(Grand Case)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,370)
Filter reviews
2,370 results
Traveler rating
984
842
324
130
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
842
324
130
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsradisson blukids clubmarina suitelunch buffetgrand caseall inclusive resortst martinlobby barnightly entertainmentall inclusivesinfinity poolla merrented a carmake reservationssecluded areabeautiful resortrecommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,428 - 1,433 of 2,370 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights - our first trip and experience in St. Martin. The drive there was adventurous - kind of shocked we found it with little trouble - but as the car rental place guy said - "How lost can you get? It's an island...". Once you take the round-about at Cul-de-Sac and start heading up the steep hill to the resort - the "reveal" is pretty amazing - a lovely, secluded area on a beautiful bay, tucked between lush green mountains. There are a few resorts pushed together in Anse Marcel - Radisson likely the largest. The resort decor overall is casual elegant...not crisp and modern, but cottage-like. At first I was disappointed that our unit faced the courtyard - but then realized that all of them face that or the mountains - I didn't see any beach-view units (or very few)...Everything at the resort with within easy walking distance - pool, beach, restaurants. Pool is lovely, but no in-pool bar (a quaint shack is available for cocktails, etc.). Beach is breathtaking - calm, warm water and visits from pelicans. Sleep Number beds in rooms was a surprise!
Only concerns to share:
- Staff is friendly but a bit slow (kind of an island thing, to be expected I suppose) and not overly communicative
- Biggest beef is that power was out for over 1/4 of our stay - in the evening (no AC makes for a pretty sleepless night there) - and then again the next day (no pool drinks, using the public restroom by dim candlelight, etc.). Worse part was - no communication from hotel re: this...no note under door, no voicemail - and absolutely no apology or offer of a credit (room, spa, food or otherwise) for the inconvenience. This really surprised me. Be warned if you are someone you are traveling with really needs the AC, or is confined to the room and wants TV, etc.
- Food overall was fair to poor (disappointing given French side!) - both breakfast buffet and lunch at le C - due to the latter, didn't bother with dinner.

So again - location, location. Have to go to Grand Case (I recommend for any meal you can) for dining...but it's very close.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHalleday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We are not newcomers to Anse Marcel. We just went back for the 18th year.Formerly the Meridien, closed for 2 years( we stayed at the hotel next door) Radisson has done a remarkable job with an already fabulous property. The rooms are completely renovated and lovely. The A/C which was always a problem, is now perfect. The beach, the staff, the grounds are wonderful. The breakfast regardless of the reviews is still the best buffet in the Caribbean. Fresh fruit, cheese, meat, eggs how ever you want them, and pain au chocolat. The restaurants in Grand Case are always a treat. Our favorite is Bistrot Caribe. We were so happy with our stay 1/27- 2/4, that we are gointo return at the end of March for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Went with husband and 6 friends (all in mid 30s)
pros: clean rooms, decent beach, quiet.
cons: poor service by staff (they are not that nice, not attentive, forgot wake up calls a few times), food is mediocre, breakfast buffet is very limited in selection, too far of a drive and over the hill from the dutch side, which makes it uncomfortable to drive at night and not all cabs will go that far in the night hours or will charge you too much, beach is nice but water is muddy-(go to orient beach instead), no service at the beach (no drinks or food). Overall, for the lack of better choices, from speaking to people, this hotel is an ok choice, however, prepare for mediocre vacation, unless you get out of the resort and go to outside restaurants and beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iriskasiriskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our first visit to St. Martin. We were pleased with the accomodations, the grounds, beach and staff. There were more children than we expected but we didn't have noise problems. Downsides: Breakfast was not very good and there was often a 15 min. wait to be seated. We rented a car at the airport and would say that the steep winding road to the hotel where you would often come around a curve to find a truck or SUV coming at you in the middle of the road to be a serious liability. It really made you think about if it was worth tackling that road to do what you wanted to do. Driving overall on St. Martin is not a pleasant experience - roads in poor condition and always a traffic jam and difficult parking. As mentioned, the power went out several times, leaving you without lights and AC. Also, a word about the concierge:
They are very nice and helpful, but do be aware that in some instances they make a commission from the place they reccomend to you. I don't know if this is common practice.

We had a horrible wait (almost 2 hours from arrival to getting through security) coming back home from St. Martin. Even though we checked in online with Jet Blue, since there is no curbside bag check, we still had to wait on the mile long line. Even though there were a lot of people, there definitely could have been more staff to move things faster. Good thing we got there early!

We had several excellent meals but the prices are very high, even for people used to paying New York City restaurant prices. Look for the places that will do a 1 for 1 euro to dollar exchange. It is definitely worth taking the shuttle to Pinel island from the French Cul de Sac. Another #1 highlight: We took a ferry to Saba island (The Edge, leaving from Pelican Cay in Simpson Bay). We did a package that included a tour with a local taxi driver and an excellent lunch with a beautiful view. Not to be missed! We highly recommend this over going to St. Barth's or Anguilla.

Bottom line: We were generally pleased with the hotel but the remote location was an issue. We weren't that impressed with St. Martin on the whole: poor infrastructure, high prices and extremely overdeveloped and unpleasant to get around.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Going into this hotel we didn't know what to expect as the reviews here are somewhat mixed.
Well, we were very happy, we found the hotel to be very good. The room (superior room in our case) was clean and in good shape, the bed and bathroom were very comfortable. We appreciated having free wired internet in the room (if you bring your laptop) as well as free wireless in the lobby and 2 computers for internet access in the lobby as well.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was buffet, pretty much the same everyday except for one dish that they rotate (out of the rotation the best one for us was the day it was fried plantains!). We though it was good in general, it included fresh fruits and your standard hotel eggs/bacon/bread/omelet options. Besides breakfast we did not eat at the hotel as it is worth driving to Grand Case and other places to eat.
The pool and the grounds are well kept. The beach is small but the water was nice, so it is a nice beach to relax in. We rented a car and went to different beaches (orient, pinet, baie rouge, long bay, Le Galeon), the hotel is very close to some of them and not too far from the others. Driving in and out of the hotel is through a narrow mountain road, which is not too bad once you get used to it but you still have to be aware of other drivers that might be driving too fast.
One thing to mention is that although Radisson webpage has a "best price guarantee" it is worth shopping around. We found a very good price for the superior room through CheapCaribbean.com (the superior room was not being offered at Radisson's webpage for our dates).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caraqueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews