We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first trip to St Martin; coming from California and being regular visitors to Vegas, we are hotel experts. I was so excited during the drive from the airport to the hotel; talk about a culture shock, loved seeing the eclectic homes, so much color. The Radisson Blue Resort was about 20 minutes from the hotel, as we entered into the hotel property, the long curvy drive was unique and adventures, the super lush green hills make it very secluded. This definitely isn’t your typical cookie cutter hotel, the Radisson is unique and the hotel gives you a sense of Island vacation. We had a warm welcome, with a yummy Rum cocktail courtesy of the hotel upon arrival :-) .. We had a marina suite [ marina view ]and just so you know; at first we were a little bummed on not having a ocean view, but we had the coolest view of some amazing boats and the view of the hills gave me such peace and comfort. This hotel was pleasant, relaxing and beautiful. The room was nice, super clean and nice layout. The room staff was very nice! Made sure the room was nice and cool for us.

From our room we would walk to the pool towards the beach, the grounds are kept up very nice, the landscape flowers are beautiful, the pool is perfect and the private lagoon beach is breath taking.

Had an amazing dinner the first night at the hotel restaurant at the bar on the beach - great service and fun bartender :-) The complimentary breakfast is the BEST, the coffee is amazing, Omelet station, pretty much everything you could possible want to eat :-) fresh and yummy!! I recommend getting to breakfast by 9:30am for the best experience!

In ending - We got a rental car, drove the whole island, visited other hotels, other beaches and we were always happy to come back to the Radisson at the end of the day, we decided we made the best choice by staying at the Radisson - it is on the French side; so you pay more to be here; make sure you know this - I didnt mind :-) Im on vacation!

Room Tip: marina Suite with Marina View is what I recommend - I would ask for 2nd story room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

First, this hotel does have a pretty good location that is secluded and surrounded by lush, green hills. Also, the pool was very nice and and well kept. The service was poor throughout the entire property (front desk, restaurant, etc.). The food at the restaurant was ok but expensive. The complimentary breakfast had a great selection and was actually pretty good. Just an average resort - nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buckeyesfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The road to the hotel is narrow and winding and the hotel is very isolated so be prepared to get a rental car or pay top dollar for a cab if you want to eat elsewhere (and you should). Requested upgrade on check in but got none. Told we had marina view but the view was the back of another building. Room just OK. Had ants behind bed which crawled onto bed. Told housekeeping twice but did not see any evidence that they vacuumed obvious food crumbs on carpet behind headboard of bed. Cleaned them up ourselves. Shower leaks all over floor and fire alarm goes off due to poor ventilation even with bathroom door open. No outlet in bathroom for hair dryer, must use where you brew your coffee. The beach is small because much of it is roped off for water sports. We claimed lounges in early AM or we were stuck at back of beach. Plenty of umbrellas but don't tilt or move them to suit you as the beach attendant will lecture you and redo it. They are not friendly at all. There are many kids there so lots of noise everywhere especially at breakfast, dinner buffets and beach. Even though there is a kids area at the pool, there were always plenty more kids at the other end. Also very loud around the bar so not relaxing. Pool closes around 5 or 6 so did not use the jacuzzi, too hot during the day. Would of enjoyed it in the evening but unavailable. Breakfast buffet plentiful, quantity vs quality though. Once you get your food, expect to be done before they bring your coffee. This was every morning without fail. Restaurants very overpriced. We were quoted prices for buffet but not told at end of stay that once billed price even higher because of exchange rate. Found this out when we received credit card bill. Very deceptive. Have never paid so much for mediocre food and would not have if we were given accurate information. FYI, this was not an issue anywhere else we ate on the island. We were told one buffet include lobster. A bold faced lie. We had to fight to have a pitcher of tap water at our table as we drink alot of water and the bottled water is expensive. One night, they downright refused to allow us a pitcher and were so rude about it. Made us very upset to have to argue and be made to feel like we were asking for something extra. Not a relaxing meal for our family. The buffets are not worth the outrageous prices. Go eat elsewhere. We complained about the misquoted buffet prices but they were rude about that too (some employees don't have a command of the english language so find one that does if you need help) and refused to honor the quoted prices. This is not a reflection on the hotel, just a side note. Prepare to carry all your purchase all day while shopping in Phillipsburg as lots of auto break ins. We saw people lurking about our car many times. Don't waste your money for snorkeling as not much to see. The turtles are awesome but alot of money for a few minutes. Unity car rental was great as was a fishing trip with Captain Lance and his mate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP2014648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Radisson Blu for the first time at the end of May. We were so delighted - it looked just like the pictures on line and the reviews on trip advisor did not lie! The resort is in a secluded area so we rented a car. It took about 45 mins from the airport. The resort is nestled between two mountains. The grounds are lush with beautiful flowers, shrubs and gardens. The beach has soft white sand with beautiful clear blue water that laps the shore gently. There were always plenty of lounge chairs with umbrellas. We never felt like we had to wake up at dawn to go save a spot! And the one day we didn't find an umbrella, we found two chairs under some palm trees. Shortly after we settled, someone from the hotel came over and brought us two umbrellas! The staff were pleasant, never rude. Although I didn't find them in general to be overly friendly, there were a few members of the staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room was lovely - very clean and bright. We were first given a room on the ground floor but asked to be moved to an upper floor. When we asked at check-in, the person at the front desk said she didn't have anything available. When we got to the room and weren't thrilled - the patio looked onto a bush and the room felt a little stuffy, I went back to the front desk, spoke to someone else and he moved us right away to a higher floor. We loved our room with a balcony overlooking the garden. I don't think there are true ocean views because of how the hotel is situated, but the grounds are lovely.

The open air lobby had a bar and plenty of places to sit comfortably. There was a patio off of the lobby with plenty of more comfortable seating that was always clean and well maintained. We would come here after dinner to call home because the wireless reception seemed to be better closer to the hotel.

Breakfast was included and had a good selection - eggs, bacon, sausage, omelettes, some kind of vegetable, pancakes, waffles, plenty of fresh fruit, pastries and breads. The restaurant where breakfast was served was nice, airy and spacious.

We ate at the restaurant C Le Restaurant for lunch one day and dinner another night. The setting is beautiful - open air, right on the ocean, comfortable seating. The food was very good.

There are lizards and iguanas on the property. You can find the big iguanas if you know where to look! We didn't find out until the last day that they like to hang out behind the restaurant along the banks of the channel leading to the marina. The largest one is named Gaston. Alas, we never found him. He is apparently very large and orange.

The resort is a little isolated so we were glad we rented a car. We drove into Grand Case a few times for shopping and meals and did one hiking excursion to Petite Cay (reviewed separately). Roads were pretty good, better than I expected, and generally safe to drive.

Overall, it was a wonderful, easy, peaceful vacation and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level. On the ground floor they're a little stuffy, I think because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This review won't mean much as what to expect for the future as RIU Palace is the new name of the hotel as of June 1st. I understand that as of Dec 1st it will be an all inclusive venue. We stayed there because we wanted privacy and to be away from the crowds and traffic. I won't discuss the great beach,pretty grounds, ample lounge chairs etc. The staff at the hotel are most gracious and make the stay very pleasant. The breakfast buffet and free WIFI(very fast) is great. It remains to be seen how the new management will handle that. One of the main reasons we stayed was the resort's proximity to many great restaurants. If you like to dine around as we do it would't make much sense to stay at an all inclusive resort. The property could use a little refreshing. We did not like the fact that you could not turn down the airconditioner below 22 degrees C. It was fine during the day but hot at night for sleeping. They need to add some amenities such as bathrobes to truly become a first class resort. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The spa was broken during half the time we were there, but it is huge and really great when working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Only one resturant for dinner. We paid more and booked a "Marina Suite" as we were told this guarenteed a water view. What we got was a view of a canal at the side of the property. Staff somewhat disengaged and non-existant at the beach. Breakfast (included) was a bunfight in the self sevice cafe and not particularly inspiring food either.
One plus was no music was alllowed on the beach so it was quite restful; They also provided a "welcome" bottle of good champagne in the room on arrival which was nice of them.
Overall, fairly expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice hotel with its own beach and a harbor. The beach is a gem - no wind, no waves, beautiful sand, and no screaming kids and people.

The room was very clean and there was a Nespresso machine in the room, which was a really nice touch and we definitely took an advantage of that. Our hotel room was on the outer part of the building that didn't have any view of the grounds, which was a little disappointing (if you can, ask for a room facing the grounds).

The food was okay. We had breakfast buffet every morning and there was enough selection of to keep us satisfied. We had only one buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was just good but not over the top. The appetizers were definitely better than the main course as the main course was just a selection of grilled meats and fish (a little bit overdone for my taste). All other nights we drove to nearby Grand Case where there are dozens of amazing restaurants.

The hotel is not on the main drag of Grand Case or Orient Beach, so one definitely needs a car to get to those more popular places. But, if you want to relax on the beach and don't mind driving few miles for an excellent dinner or for island exploration, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamilka1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: Bp 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range: $348 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace St Martin opens all year round and is located on the Anse Marcel beach, direct access to the Anse Marcel Marina next door. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Princesa Juliana Airport SXM (20 km) and Marigot (12 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 258 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa area or get in shape at gym. 1 outdoor pool with separate children's pool, 1 whirlpool. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet restaurant, French, Fusion specialty restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 3 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Martin / St Maarten/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing