We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This review won't mean much as what to expect for the future as RIU Palace is the new name of the hotel as of June 1st. I understand that as of Dec 1st it will be an all inclusive venue. We stayed there because we wanted privacy and to be away from the crowds and traffic. I won't discuss the great beach,pretty grounds, ample lounge chairs etc. The staff at the hotel are most gracious and make the stay very pleasant. The breakfast buffet and free WIFI(very fast) is great. It remains to be seen how the new management will handle that. One of the main reasons we stayed was the resort's proximity to many great restaurants. If you like to dine around as we do it would't make much sense to stay at an all inclusive resort. The property could use a little refreshing. We did not like the fact that you could not turn down the airconditioner below 22 degrees C. It was fine during the day but hot at night for sleeping. They need to add some amenities such as bathrobes to truly become a first class resort. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The spa was broken during half the time we were there, but it is huge and really great when working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Only one resturant for dinner. We paid more and booked a "Marina Suite" as we were told this guarenteed a water view. What we got was a view of a canal at the side of the property. Staff somewhat disengaged and non-existant at the beach. Breakfast (included) was a bunfight in the self sevice cafe and not particularly inspiring food either.
One plus was no music was alllowed on the beach so it was quite restful; They also provided a "welcome" bottle of good champagne in the room on arrival which was nice of them.
Overall, fairly expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice hotel with its own beach and a harbor. The beach is a gem - no wind, no waves, beautiful sand, and no screaming kids and people.

The room was very clean and there was a Nespresso machine in the room, which was a really nice touch and we definitely took an advantage of that. Our hotel room was on the outer part of the building that didn't have any view of the grounds, which was a little disappointing (if you can, ask for a room facing the grounds).

The food was okay. We had breakfast buffet every morning and there was enough selection of to keep us satisfied. We had only one buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was just good but not over the top. The appetizers were definitely better than the main course as the main course was just a selection of grilled meats and fish (a little bit overdone for my taste). All other nights we drove to nearby Grand Case where there are dozens of amazing restaurants.

The hotel is not on the main drag of Grand Case or Orient Beach, so one definitely needs a car to get to those more popular places. But, if you want to relax on the beach and don't mind driving few miles for an excellent dinner or for island exploration, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamilka1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited last April for spring break. Resort is located on amazing stretch of sand, views are gorgeous. It has European flavor that we liked. I felt relaxed from the moment we stepped into their lobby- white chairs, sand/white/blue colors - very earthy and pleasant. Then it was wonderful just walking around the property and admiring hotel grounds. Room was small but we didn't spend time in it. Nespresso in the room is awesome touch! Beach was so relaxing with trees providing shade and lots of lounge chairs and wonderful bar serving drinks and bites. I am planning a return visit, most definitely!

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Alena-voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The grounds and the beach were nice, everything else was sort of average. Spa was also very good. Check in was interesting since our room was not ready even though we arrived at 11am one day later (our flight from a neighboring island was canceled so we arrived in St Martin the next day). We waited in the lobby for 30-45 min waiting for the staff to get ready the room we were supposed to check in the day before…. Breakfast buffet strongly favored quantity vs quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenzi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What u need to know: it's a beautiful property on the French side away from the crazy action of what can be the Dutch side or public beaches.
Beautiful private beach, spectacular infinity pool, attentive staff, good room service and lovely options for food by the water.

Child-friendly, quiet, no blaring music, free non- motorized water sports.

Need a car to explore the island. Rent it from travelocity before u get there. Hertz is on the property, but u get a better deal, much cheaper, if u reserve on line ahead of time. Yes, the hotel is located on a steep road, but we didn't have any trouble.

Rooms don't have water view. We didn't find that to be an issue, but I felt it was important to point out for the next person who visits.

Try Del Tony Italian restaurant at the marina. Delicious.

Free breakfast didn't blow me away. Other reviewers have said it was great or raved about it. Sadly they haven't experienced a great free breakfast. To sound snooty- I have.
It was doable. Could be definitely better.

The selection overall was lacking, especially whey you stay for 8 days.

Nice omelets and French bread. Delicious coffee. But there could be more tropical food options ( we are in the tropics where is all grows) the selection was the same every day.

Having said it all, we'd go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denvertraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson Blu St. Martin (now an RIU resort) from May 23rd - 30th.

Hotel is located in Anse Marcel, gorgeous cove/marina. The drive to the hotel is on a narrow, windy road that has great views, just make sure to hug the sharp turns as you go up and down the hill.

The hotel is best suited for those looking for a beautiful resort, away from tourist heavy attractions, and pristine waters. The hotel has their own private beach, plentiful beach chairs, beautiful pool area/jacuzzi. Water sports are available, for example, jet skis. The property is also surrounded by beautiful rolling hills, providing a serene and private atmosphere.

Rooms are well appointed, we first had a double bed room on the first floor. I'd suggest getting a room on a higher floor, which was accomodated by management. The beds are sleep number beds and bathroom is large/comfortable. The room included a couple nice amenities, for example a nespresso machine and ipod dock.

Breakfast is served daily at the le marche. Oustanding breakfast and a highlight at the resort. A plethora of options were available: eggs, meats, pancakes/waffles, baked goods, omelette station, fruits, juices, etc. Service was attentive and courteous. Staff works hard to make you feel completely at ease.

If you want to explore the island and take on a couple activities, recommend renting a car. Property has a hertz rental station on-site, huge plus for us since the hotel is about 30 min or so from Princess Juliana airport on the Dutch side.

The resort never felt crowded and was perfect to come back to after a long day of activities.

Recommend visiting Marigot, there's a smoothie stand by the port, that makes a killer banana shake. While at Marigot, hike up fort Louis for a great panoramic view of the port area. Also, go hike Loterie Farm, a challenging hike and keep a lookout for monkeys.

During our visit, we traveled to Anguilla and St. Barths (day trips) visiting resorts at both islands (Viceroy Anguilla, Eden Rock St. Barths). Everytime we returned to our resort, we felt more confident in our choice with Radisson.

Only recommendation for the resort would be to add more food options for lunch/dinner.

As we explored the island, good food options were scarce. It's easy to spend a lot at a nice restaurant and not be happy with the food. For example, stay clear from Rancho del Sol. You're better of getting fresh fish at Lolos beach restaurant in Grand Case, a bare-bones shack where locals eat. It may look run-down, but always follow locals for good food and good value.

A wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RaymundoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
6.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: Bp 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range: $347 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Martin / St Maarten/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing