We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for quiet and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for quiet and relaxation”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I traveled here last October. The resort is gorgeous but very quiet. We were going to stay in a suite, but opted for a standard room based on reviews that they are just as nice but smaller. The standard room was very comfortable, spacious and had a large balcony. We were very happy with it. None of the rooms have an ocean view, but that wasn't a problem as the courtyard, which all balconies overlook, is beautiful. The resort was very quiet throughout our stay, which was a little disappointing since we prefer some entertainment /activities.

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful, though trying to order at the beach bar proved to be a daunting task. We had to yell out to one of the many folks behind the bar to order, and we were the only ones seated. I ordered a tuna steak, rare, and it came out well done. These are little things, but something to be note here. Once we had food and drinks in hand, it was like being on the French Riviera. Wonderful French lounge music playing in the distance, a warm tropical breeze, sounds of the ocean.. it was perfection.

I noticed two rusted food containers during breakfast, which was a bit of a turn off. Staying away from the containing food inside those, it was delicious.

The beach and pool are wonderful. There were so few people around while we were there, that it felt like a secluded part of the island. The beach area is by far the best part of this resort and what makes it special.

We received a couple’s massage at the spa, and while the spa is very nice, the massage was mediocre. I'm not sure I'd return there, and the spa services are almost double the price of what I pay at home.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay here and recommend it for anyone looking to relax. It’s a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are wonderful and you shouldn't need to upgrade unless extra space is needed. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    804
    304
    121
    83
See reviews for
666
1,115
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you want lots of options and people watching, the Radisson Blu St. Martin is not for you. If you are looking for the quiet and chill of the Caribbean, the Radisson Blu is worth the trip. First, a rental car is a must. Anse Marcel is up and over a steep hill (attack that hill in your tiny rental car, you can do it). What awaits you is a small resort (large for St. Martin) on the quiet French side of the island. Check-in was quick and we were happily surprised to be upgraded to a suite. It was heaven now that we travel with our toddler. The made for a non-stressful way to start the day (excellent bread/pastries and French-pressed coffee). The pool was excellent especially for babies and toddlers; a nice gradual entrance for the kids with a sandy play area close by. For adults, go hang out closer to the infinity edge where the kids can’t touch (neither can some of the adults). The beach was perfect; small waves and easy to walk right in. We saw the water sports guys bringing out the jet skiis day one, but we never saw/heard anyone using them. The Radisson staff was always available to help you find a place to sit and grab towels (unless it was before 8am, a bit more difficult but it can be done). Drinks and meals on the resort and across from the resort were pricer than in Grand Case, Orient Beach or Pinel Island. The staff we met were polite and helpful as well as very accommodating of our toddler. We enjoyed our stay and will consider returning after visiting a few more islands.

Room Tip: Suite was great for traveling with a toddler (all suites are on the marina side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Perhaps the most striking feature of this hotel is its amazing location in a protected bay within a nature reserve of breathtaking scenery, with a brilliant pool and beach area.
Yet the most remarkable memory upon leaving is the outstanding staff at this place, every single one of whom, from bagagistes to reception, bar, pool, and general staff, extremely and genuinely friendly and helpful. A big thank you too all the staff at this outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Radisson. We enjoyed our stay, breakfast buffet was lovely and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We ate at C Le restaurant and enjoyed our meal. There are a few restaurants within walking distant. We enjoyed those too. The hotel has its own beach and a infinity pool. Hotel is isolated but we rented a car and also visited restaurants in Grand Case.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Wife and I chose this hotel for its seclusion and high rating. None of the cabs at the airport would drive us to the Radisson with only 2 passengers. I inquired inside about the water taxi, and was told the price would be over $200 for only 2 passengers (this is far more than the list price). So, we waited outside at the cab stand for over 30 minutes until a driver reluctantly agreed to drive us to the Radisson. During the drive, he explained that he was losing money on the trip with only 2 passengers, and said in general cabs don't like driving to the Radisson because it's so far away and because of the steep and winding road leading to the hotel.

The best feature of the Radisson Blue St. Martin is its seclusion. This place exudes privacy, peace and quiet. (Unless, that is, if you go on the weekend, or when they are hosting a conference- then it's full of screaming babies and noisy conference attendees. Thankfully, we had a few extremely relaxing days before all that started.) The hotel pool is probably the best I've ever encountered (and my frame of reference includes stays at multiple 5-star hotels in tropical locales during the last 12 months, so this is saying a lot!). The beach is sublime. Arrive mid-week and you will have both mostly to yourself.

The hotel staff are top-notch. Everyone was friendly, courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The few problems we had were addressed immediately and to our complete satisfaction. That said, there were a few annoyances during our stay that I've not encountered during stays at comparable hotels. The porter did not bring our bags to the room for over 30 minutes after our arrival. I had to march to the lobby and get them myself. Also, every day, the maid would forget something minor but noticeable while cleaning our room. One day, she forgot a small bag of garbage on the counter after putting a new bag in the bin. The next day, she removed an empty box of tissues but didn't replace it with a new one. The next day, she removed our dirty coffee cups but didn't replace them with new ones, or give us new nespresso capsules. Again, these are all small issues that caused minor (if any) inconvenience to us, but when it happens every day it starts to reflect poorly on the hotel.

The food at the hotel is good, not amazing. C Le Restaurant does a nice job, but could be a bit more accommodating of dietary restrictions. (If you don't eat pork, tell them in advance.) Le Marche offers a good American-style buffet, although not especially creative. After a few days of the same breakfast buffet, I started to get sick of it. Unfortunately, there are no easy alternatives for breakfast if you're stuck in secluded Anse Marcel without a rental car, as we were.

The spa is quite pleasant, and reasonably priced. We went for a few different couples massages and were very satisfied on both occasions. On both (nonconsecutive) days, my wife and I noticed that there were no paper towels in the lavatories of our respective female/male locker rooms. Not sure how they expect spa guests to dry their hands. Again, a minor inconvenience, but the fact that it occurred to both of us means this is now one of the things we will remember about our spa experience.

By the way, the downside of staying in such a secluded, heavily wooded area is that there are crickets - one of the locals called them "squeakers" - that make very loud chirping noises at night. These are not like crickets in the United States. They actually squeak. Loudly. And they will keep you up at night. My wife and I live in New York City and have grown accustomed to sleeping with occasional honking and sirens outside our window. But the squeaking crickets really threw us for a loop. This is part of the local charm, I suppose, and definitely beyond the hotel's control. Just be prepared for it if you choose to stay here.

Overall, we were happy with our stay. I really felt like the staff wanted to make us happy at all times. We didn't sweat the small stuff during our stay, but since I'm writing a review, I thought it was worth mentioning the little problems, which ultimately distinguish a good hotel from a truly great one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The resort property is absolutely lovely with a beautiful pool and quiet nook of a calm beach. The included breakfast spread is wonderful (fresh French pressed coffee!). The beach front restaurant was great for long lunches and the beach front bar was perfect for late afternoon mojitos. It's a very quiet property so we went out to dinner most nights. They have a rental car operation right at the hotel which was great for us since we hadn't planned on renting a car prior to the trip. Staff is delightful too. If you are looking for a relaxing quiet beach -this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the walking path which resulted in a lot of privacy. We were able to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very Nice resort. Pool perfect.
Good and friendly service. Food excellent.
Rooms ok,clean,but not perfect .
Sport facilities ,fitness are up to date.
Outside the hotel, very calm,not much to do, you need à car
Overall great value for money in a little Paradise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterLommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing