We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax holliday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very Nice resort. Pool perfect.
Good and friendly service. Food excellent.
Rooms ok,clean,but not perfect .
Sport facilities ,fitness are up to date.
Outside the hotel, very calm,not much to do, you need à car
Overall great value for money in a little Paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterLommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice property well maintained territory and marina. Welcoming and accommodating stuff, excellent restaurant, superb pool and beach with plenty of chairs. Not crowded at all feels secluded. In the evening seem a little deserted and really dark, not much to do. Driving there is not much fun too, snake road in narrow with steep elevation, rent all wheel drive if you can, small cars have really hard time

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for a week 11/9 - 11/15/13 which is still low-season and that was perfect for us!! We had the pool practically to ourselves!! No shortage of beach chairs or pool lounges nor of places to sit for breakfast which is included. This was the only disappointment, albeit minor, but we did not think the breakfast buffet was up to the standards of what the rest of the resort offered. We lunched mostly on-site and did not find it to be overly expensive (living in Metropolitan NYC area, we are used to paying for good food).
We dined out every night and that was the highlight of the trip... on recommendation, we ate at Villa Restaurant & Le Santal in Grand Case, & Temptations on the Dutch side. I highly recommend all 3 of these FINE dining establishments. Customer Service at these restaurants was impeccable & food was AWESOME!!! We also went to Calypso across the street from resort which was good, but no WOW factor.... loved our waiter though, & Spiga in Grand Case which was just OK.
All the reviewers stress how you SHOULD rent a car.... We did NOT... we commute hours in traffic for work, we didn't want to even attempt it on this island with its hills, traffic, no speed limit, let alone after drinking & enjoying our nights!!! We got a driver the first night into Grand Case that we absolutely LOVED!! His name is GUS and he is well worth every penny we spent to have him drive us everywhere we wanted to go!! His prices were not out of this world & if you are staying at Radisson Blu - you will want to spend the extra $ to not have to do the driving at night to this resort. Ask around as a lot of people knew of him. Or email me & I will supply his # directly!!
Resort was clean, room was nice, no major WOW factor but private & quiet.... Bed was awesome once adjusted to our individual comfort level.
We did do a couple excursions - Sunset Cruise (not a booze cruise) I booked directly on their website - Lord Sheffield (lordsheffield.com) out of the Dutch side. Great crew & good food!! Beautiful Tall Sailboat (triple mast)....
We also went to the Butterfly Farm which was amazing!! Really cute place that had many different varieties flying around & in various stages of their life. The little presentation took about 30 mins & was very informative!!
Also want to mention that we did NOT take a taxi from the airport, instead we took the water taxi (from Radisson's website) which is a VERY nice boat with wonderful staff & was a much better way to start & end our trip than wasting an hour in the car.... was faster & not that much more expensive!! We got to see the best view of the island in all its mountainous glory!!
WE WILL BE BACK!! Hopefully as soon as possible.....
Shout out to Sunshine & Regis (our pool guy & our bartender) they are the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We did a great deal of research before selecting this hotel for our nine night stay in St. Martin, and it was absolutely the right choice for us.

Location - The hotel is located on the French side of the island to the north. It does require a short (5 minute) drive off the main road up and then down a mountain to get there. Yes, the road is narrow, as are all roads on St. Martin. Yes, the road is steep, but if you drive carefully and at the posted 30 km per hour you won't have a problem. Traffic on St. Martin is dreadfully congested, and it can take 45 - 90 minutes to get from Philipsburg to the Radisson. If you plan to spend a great deal of time on the Dutch side of the island, at the casinos and in Philipsburg, you will quickly find the drive tiresome. If you want to be close to Orient Bay, the ferry to Pinel, and the restaurants in Grand Case, the Radisson is an excellent base, as it's only a 10-20 minute drive to any of these places. In addition to the two restaurants on the hotel grounds, there are three restaurants and a small market across from the hotel, so there is good variety if you don't want to drive after dark.

Rooms - The standard rooms are large, comfortable and nicely decorated. Bathrooms have a separate large tub and shower. Each room has a coffee maker, hair dryer, mini bar and a complimentary bottle of water. There are plugs with dual adapters, both North American and European, which is a nice touch. Rooms have small balconies that overlook a courtyard; the fact that the balconies don't overlook the pool or the beach mean it is very quiet, which is nice. If you can, splurge on a marina suite, which have separate sitting rooms and bedrooms, and give you a little more room to spread out.

Amenities - The hotel publishes a list of activities for the week. My advice is to take these with a grain of salt. We went to the C Lounge for two for one drinks at happy hour, and were charged full price. We went to the morning power walk, and were told we should not come every morning, as the intent was that we only go once so she could show us the path and then we could go on our own. We tried to sign up for the rum tasting, and we told they would only do it for four or more people. These were really the only disappointment of our stay.

Staff - The vast majority of the staff are wonderful, friendly, fluently bilingual, and very helpful. A couple of staff were indifferent, and only one was downright rude, but everyone can have a bad day. Special mention for going above and beyond have to go to Janelle at the front desk, Agnes in the restaurants, and Sunny at the pool.

Beach and Pool - The beach is shallow and calm, good for swimming. It isn't terribly wide or long, but there was always room and chairs available when we were there (end of November/early December). The pool is huge and beautiful. It has an infinity edge in one area, and a sandy area abutting it in another. The chairs and umbrellas are spread out nicely - you are not on top of each other. No matter what time of day we went, there were always chairs available. Smoking is unfortunately permitted at the pool, so if this bothers you make sure you pick an area upwind to set up at, so the smoke blows away from you rather than towards you. Of the nine days we were at the pool there was only bar service provided one day, but there is a beach bar nearby and you can purchase your drinks and sandwiches there and bring them back to the pool if you wish.

Restaurants - Le Marche provides an extensive breakfast buffet every morning, including many hot and cold options, as well as eggs made to order. The food was decent quality for a buffet. Le Marche also has dinner buffets available four nights a week. We went to the Creole buffet and found the food to be of very good quality overall. C Restaurant serves lunch seven days a week, and dinner three nights per week. We had lunch there once and drinks a couple of times, and it was very good as well, though the service was quite slow as they had no bartender so every time someone ordered a drink they had to run over to the beach bar to have it made. The beach bar has sandwiches and nachos, which were also very good.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay, and would love to go back sometime. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lot of pool and beach time in a quiet location.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BC-Westcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Perfect location for this hotel on the St Martin island, up North. The rest of the island is not worth spending too much time once you stay here. Clean beach, not overcrowded.
The room was average only, and to be honest, we found it expensive for the kind of room you get. Balcony was good, but overlooking the backyard (harbor) was not the nicest view you could expect.
Hotel facilities were great (gym, swimming pool). Good restaurants. Excellent breakfast. Dinner on the restaurant on the beach is OK, with a service that could be a little more dynamic and attentive. Special themed buffet dinners are a good option at the same restaurant that serves breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JollapParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is like a second home the staff is very attentive. The manager,Jean Marc has great team. The concierge Alain has been there for over 20 years even before it was a Radisson and does an exceptional job. There is no doubt that I will be returning. His staff is always walking around and offering assistance

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Positive: a secluded thus quiet location, a well maintained pool area, and right on a beach location. OK quality breakfast and good sleep quality. A good service of concierge for tours. A good service of pool attendants.

Improvement:
1) They charge breakfast for minors $15 (12 Euro) per day though our child does not eat much (a bread and a juice at max).
2) They gave complementary bottles of water only for the first day.... (I never experienced this very strange custom). I inquired about this to a guest relation manager (Lilian?) and she promised to provide bottles in the following nights, as we stayed four nights there, but the promise was never fulfilled.
3) The location is too isolated and it is even dangerous to come to the hotel (you need to drive very steep and winding roads for 10 mm.. we were very scared and we were lucky not to have any accidents). We realized that one or maximum two night stay in this hotel were adequate (but we paid all upfront, so we could not change our schedule) and we should have stayed one night, close to an airport and one night, either in Grand Case or Oyster Pond (more access to everything). This place does offer many things.
4) Building is a bit old and already showing decay. Our balcony table's glass was broken and a room attendant forget to supply hand towels in many nights...
5) Being an isolated location and called itself as "resort" they should have more resort activities. There are almost none (we tried to go to diving introduction at pool but it was over after 45 minutes of the start time) or costs significantly. When we stayed at Fairmont in Bermuda or any other "resorts", there were more elegant activities, such as free afternoon tea, a complementary boat tour to a historical center. But here, kids club costs $45 per day and everything is "costs" involved. Not value for money to stay in an expensive resort hotel with no resort activities.
5) As everyone said, poor quality and pricey food and drinks in the hotel. At least, an Italian restaurant just outside hotel entrance was acceptable.

Unfortunately we will not return this place.

Room Tip: Facing Marina is quieter and nicer. Higher floor gives more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doranobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Resort, Marina and Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced at our resort, during your stay.

1) We offer a Full buffet breakfast at a 24.96€ and a continental breakfast at 17.68€
( both available at half price for children).
2) 1 bottle spring water is offered complimentary upon arrival in the room.
3) Our location in a secluded bay, is a real plus for our guests: it is safe and we are within 10/20 minutes from Grand Case , Marigot ( the French capital) and Philipsburg (the Dutch capital) . I understand that driving on the island can be tricky because of the narrow roads.
4) Being a resort we offer the following activities at no cost: daily power walk , pool water-aerobics and sport tournaments, French and dance classes ( twice a week ) , reflexology class (once a week) , first dive in the pool ( twice a week) . Additional activities with a fee are available as well. The Kids club is 10€ for half a day and 25€ for the full day with lunch included.
5) We pride ourselves on a high quality of food and a menu variety.

Your feedback was shared with our team and we thank you for your remarks.

I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at the Radisson Blu Saint Martin in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: Bp 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range: $330 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Martin / St Maarten/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing