We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot on french side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot on french side”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Radisson Blue hotel is one of the best on the island. It's a bit of a drive from the the airport and definitely need to rent a car. I love the French side of the island were the hotel is located. Once I got over the fear of driving on a narrow road over the mountain the rest of the stay was great. The staff of the hotel is super friendly and always remembered my name . The breakfast is included which is a nice plus. Number of rooms have balconies and the rest patios . Air conditioning works and rooms are nice and clean. Staff in the lobby can recommend excursions and makes restaurant reservations in the village of Gran Case . A free gym also a nice touch and was used daily by my teen. Private beach and pool with jacuzzi is super convenient . Loved mango colada by the pool .Looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    823
    313
    125
    87
See reviews for
683
1,138
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel has everything you want in a vacation...private beach, great pool, professional and smiling customer service and good food! Rent a Jeep from Hertz to make it up and down the mountain. We came here on our honeymoon in the off season and it was like we has the resort to our selves. It was very ROMANTIC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArundelHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am writing this review as I sit in the SXM Airport after 10 days at the Radisson Blu. This was our first time at this property having previously stayed at Oyster Bay and the Westin at Dawn Beach in years past.

The property itself is beautiful. They maintain the property very well, even in the "slow" season that is September. The pool was down for repairs and it made no difference. The beach was wonderful. The chairs were always available and Steve was a wonderful host, setting up, getting food and drink, etc.

The grounds are expansive. We were not sure if we would be disappointed with not having the ocean view from years past. It turned out to be no problem. The beach was easily accessible, very clean and very calm. There was no problem with rough water or a severe drop off. It was used by adults as well as families with very young children.

We ate at the beach bar on a few occasions and the food was good, not great.

We also ate at the fine dining restaurant on one occasion. I cannot recommend it as the food was not as good as a lot of other restaurants in the area (had to have a car or get a cab). Also, I was very unimpressed with the staff as it was clear that they did not know their menu (both in the kitchen and on the serving floor)

The grounds are very tropical and very well cared for.

The rooms are large and so are the bathrooms. Everything is fresh and kept very clean. The rooms were very well appointed. Internet access was best when you used the hard wire connection in the room WiFi was available even at the beach.

Since we were in the off season the restaurants walking distance from the hotel were not open.

We will most certainly stay here again. BTW, a car is a must in my opinion.

The included breakfast was good and the staff there provided very good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort surpassed all others we've stayed at in the Islands in every way. The staff, food & facilities are excellent, the location is beautiful, & the summer rate we got was very good. Everything from check-in to check-out was fantastic, much better than anywhere else we've stayed in the Caribbean - on par with any top hotel in one of the world's big cities. It was really a surprise, usually find Caribbean resorts have bad service & mediocre food for high prices, this was not the case at all.

Room Tip: The rooms were laid out in such a way that they're all relatively equal. You can either request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ross8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We found ourselves checking in here following an incident of vandalism to our car in Grand Case at a private villa we had rented, While the incident was upsetting, it lead us to this great resort.
Yes, it was slow season and the pool was closed for maintenance, but I believe this was also reflected in the price they gave us. When you have a beautiful ocean with wonderful views a pool isn't always necessary.
We found all the staff helpful and accommodating when asked. We enjoyed the best couples massage we have ever had at the spa. When we called the concierge they arranged dinner reservations twice in Grand Case and the taxi services we needed.
We got to know some of the staff on a personal level with very little effort. They made our stay most memorable and enjoyable.
We will absolutely recommend this place and plan to return on our next trip to St Martin

Room Tip: We had a great room on the third floor overlooking the courtyard. Nice that these rooms all have pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Visited the Radisson in a low season with my family and it was a perfect place, quite and relaxing.
Great food but the service need to improve, especially in the F&B.
We had amazing breakfast by the beach, and the pool was outstanding.
Many activities for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davide C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've just been to st.martin. We stayed here 3 nights. The room and the sea was nice. You can enjoy the family on the beach. The sea was so calm and good for baby swim.
But the people working at this hotel were terrible. Of course some people were friend and gentle.
It took more than one hour to change the room and at the restaurant we had dinner was so so so slow. As we did not have menu, we were asked what did we have tonight??? joke??? no way,
At the front desk the french young guy worker was awful. He was so far from professional hotel man, And the pool was close because of maintenance. We did not have any information before our visit. We will never stay at this hotel next time!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 63wednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,797 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing