We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit better then OK..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit better then OK..”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just came from a vacation in Radisson Blu. The resort is actually very nice , the beach is excellent and the staff is accommodating , that is other than the front office . The folks at front office need a lesson or two on customer service , totally conceited at times farcical attitude .We did not know that the pool is closed ! That is about the half of the amenities of the hotel their answer - well it is posted on out web site . So what ?? Does that make it OK.. why don't you close the hotel than . A room upgrade ? I did go to the St. Martin to stay in the room.
They actually tried to charge us extra $30 per day saying the 4 person room had only two breakfasts covered - and the front office lady actually tried to convince me that that is quite common.
The reality is that while the hotel is really nice , the prices of food and the attitude of some of the staff make it average or below .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank njdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    830
    319
    127
    89
See reviews for
695
1,150
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful island.This was a birthday gift to my husband and he loved it. We rented a car to get around on our own which was the best decision so we saw a lot of the island, looking down from the top of the hill near the Radisson give you a feeling of being in the French Riviera. The beautiful blue water with the yatchs just sitting there give you a feeling tranquillity. I would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallison922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the time you top the hill going over to the Radisson to the time you dip you feet in the beautiful soft sand private beach, you feel you have found heaven. The views are breathtaking and the entire experience is phenomenal. The only drawback was the infinity pool was closed for renovation but a free upgrade to a beautiful two room suite was substituted. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect location. Average + food with wonderful staff...all ready to jump at your request!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsasaaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has spent either 11 or 12 Christmas/holiday vacations at this hotel and its predecessors. Obviously, we love it here. The location is perfect. We are used to driving up and down the mountain to enter and leave the resort. We love being on the French side where we don't see Burger King and McDonalds. The restaurants in Grand Case are fabulous. We make it a point to go to a different restaurant each night. Alain, our friend and concierge takes care of all reservations for us in advance. We find it very enjoyable to rent a car and explore the different beaches and towns on the island. Nothing is very far from the hotel although if you are really determined to spend a lot of time in a casino, there are more convenient locales.
The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. We have met many managers over the years but the current General Manager Jean Marc is very warm and the hotel seems to be running even better than in prior years. The rooms have been redone with sleep number beds and excellent a/c and flatscreens and are very comfortable. The views are limited to the beautiful grounds and the marina depending on where you stay. This is not a drawback to us, since we really are in the room only to sleep. Breakfast is great as is the service. We don't really eat at the hotel very much other than breakfast and perhaps lunch on the beach because the gourmet capital of the Caribbean is so close by and eating out is a great night activity.

This is a real Caribbean gem!

Room Tip: Marina suites work well for families and are economical compared to 2 room alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FAMILYTRAVELLERS646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here after staying several days in Cuisinart Anguilla. So to be fair, we came here looking for the same level of service and that was just not going to happen. The two people working behind counter were void of warmth or sincerity. The restaurant in the center of the grounds were unable to give gracious service, because they were overwhelmed by the 15 or so tables of guests. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant daily. It was buffet style and I swear there were dozens of fruit flies on Everything! The jams were swarming with them. The breads the fruits the hot bar the omelet station, all of it full of flies. So disgusting. Coffee via the self serve machines were the only redeeming quality of breakfast. We drove to breakfast after the first day.
The Marina suites are nice with a great view. Bed in bedroom was super comfortable, the sofa sleeper not so much. The pool is gorgeous and the beach is just ok. This is not the best beach so make sure you have a car to drive to others on the island.
The steep drive in is scary at first but after being there all week we handled it like pros.
Don't think I would come back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veniceluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for a full week in July. I was on the island for a concert with my Steel Orchestra. The group enjoyed themselves tremendously at the infinity pool, beach and beautiful surroundings. The modern rooms were always cleaned on time. The staff was friendly and willing to assist with any request. The hotel is secluded and away from it all. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome pool. Good, friendly service. Nice rooms/suites. Cappaccino & espresso at breakfast. Yum! Beautiful garden and foliage. There are a couple of good restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Try the rum punch in the resort restaurant. I liked the ginger rum.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to a marina suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1KulKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing