We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just got back from a four night stay at the Radisson Blu and no regrets!
The property is about a 40 minute drive from the Princess Juliana Airport but getting there was easier than we thought.

We stayed in a Marina Suite at the 6000 block that was close to the pool and beach access. At first I thought the Marina side might be prone to mosquitoes but no problems in the bug department. The suite size was decent, a simple tv room with a comfy couch and the bedroom to the back. We had a front facing balcony to the front of the room and a back porch overlooking the Marina channel. The room had two flat screens and the sleep number bed was pretty cool once we figured it out. And I'd give the housekeeping service a B-.

The pool definitely exceeded our expectations. There are cabanas at the pool that you can reserve for a small fee that are well worth it, you get a little cooler with bottled waters and ice, perfect for stocking up with some beers for a pool day ;) The private beach is so calm and serene that you really never want to leave. If you want a little more excitement than just laying on the sand, definitely indulge in the jet skis on site. I was kind of hoping they would have stand up paddle boards but no luck :( Other than that you get snorkel gear and kayaks at no rental charge, part of the resort fee I guess. Drinks at the pool bar? DELICIOUS. Best daiquiris and pina coladas I've had in a very long time!

There a few restaurants on the property; we had the complimentary breakfast buffet at Le Marche which was your typical hotel buffet and dinner one night at C Le Restaurant. C Le is located near the water front on the beach side so it gets a 10/10 for atmosphere. The service and food however I'm not too sure about. We were seated and had to wait 20mins before the waiter came over, the bread we received after ordering our main course was cold. My boyfriend enjoyed his meal, the mahi mahi and I had the sea food soup. Huge let down for something they advertised to be filled with the different seafood ingredients (the soup). It just wasn't the dinner we expected.

Before I forget, there's a small boutique close to the reception that is sure to have just about anything you'd need.

All in all, the hotel was a great choice. I'd definitely recommend it, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarleneRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool, the beach and the delicious cocktails served at the Beach Bar!
We hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson Blu for our honeymoon. I had never bee to the Caribbean before and didn't quite no what to expect of St Martin - but it was such a perfect trip!

We had a shared van ride to the hotel so we had the opportunity to see some other hotels on the way. When we finally pulled up to the Radisson Blu (it is on a far, remote part of the French side, about 40-60 mins from Philipsburg) we knew we had hit the jackpot and made the right choice.

We got in late and were greeted with a rum punch upon check in. It was 10:15 and the restaurant closes at 10:30 so they took our bags to our room and we raced off for a salad and some rose to toast the beginning of our honeymoon. The room was large and comfortable. Big bathroom, sleep number bed, Bose speakers, Nespresso machine, mini-bar and several American cable channels. We also had a balcony that overlooked the garden courtyard which was beautiful.

The hotel gives you breakfast every day as part of the rate which is a great value as there is plenty to eat. The hotel's private beach area is gorgeous with a calm bay/lagoon with minimal waves. The pool is breathtaking and really large - there seemed to be room for all. The hotel provides towels and there are chairs and umbrellas (if you get here early!). Aside from a day trip to Phillipsburg and another to Anguilla we really didn't leave the resort at all - you don't need to.

Food options are limited in Anse Marcel but pretty good. C Le Restaurant on the grounds was spectacular, we were blown away by our meal there. We also tried Da Tony and Calypso across the way which were both really good. I was disappointed with the hotel's Italian themed food on Tuesday night, but you can't win at everything! There are also 2 boutiques/bodegas there that sell sundries, clothes, water, snacks, liquor, etc.

The staff was amazing. They knew our names and went out of there way to make sure we had a good time. Patricio welcomed us with a toast to our marriage that was thoughtful and sweet. Rodrigue went out of his way to make sure we knew where to find the wonderful iguanas that are all over the property including the largest one - Gaston. Alain the concierge was always willing to help us find something to do. Sunshine was a great host and domino opponent and he spent the week making sure we were having a great time. We felt like part of the family.

Grand Case is a short and inexpensive cab ride away ($15 each way) and has a great beach, restaurant, car and shopping scene. Apparently it is known for the best food on the island. We went on our last night but I wish we would have gone earlier. 2-3 nights there would have been great so we could have experienced more of what Grand Case had to offer.

Bottom line the Radisson Blu is a great place. Wonderful staff, restful and peaceful and SO BEAUTIFUL. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: many say marina is the best view - but i wouldn't have been as pleased with it as the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you had a great honeymoon at the Radisson Blu St. Martin!
We look forward your next visit!
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson in January and had such a wonderful time that we had to come back! We were so pleased with the warm and kind reception upon our return. Of course, the beach is next to paradise. And the water is clean, calm and clear. The property is very stylish, clean and safe with a near perfect layout. The pool is one of the largest ever. There is a great, safe hiking path. The views are exceptional...ocean, mountains and marina! But what might be the best quality of this resort...the staff!! I am so grateful for their kindness and hospitality. It is truly the reason we will be back once again! Thank you to Isabelle, Romuald, Sunshine, Regis, Jimmy, Alain, Lena, Clea, Carine, Dimintri, Marie-helene, Aurora, Claude, Frank Miller, Yvan, Claire, Jeanelle and the many others that made this trip extraordinary! We are looking forward to our paths crossing...in Anse Marcel...again!

Room Tip: The marina suites are well worth the upgrade! Very peaceful and quiet. And no room is too far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleischer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our staff! They were very proud to read such great comments about them on TripAdvisor!
We hope to see you back to the Resort very soon!
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It may seem a little challenging at first to drive from the airport to this hotel, but upon your arrival you will be quite please to find a welcoming reception area, fast track check in, a spacious room, large bathroom, although I would be happier if the shower was a walk in and beautiful outdoor terrace.
Last night we enjoyed a creole dinner. Everything from the lobster bisque to the various dessert display was fulfilling. Our night was complete when we retired to our room and realized that our sleep number bed allowed my partner to enjoy a restful sleep on a semi soft mattress while I slept comfortably on my firm side.
Come and experience the beach, cocktails at poolside, and quiet evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you liked the Creole Buffet on Thursday evening and the cocktails at the Beach Bar!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel , service was great. Hotel staff was very helpful.
We stayed there for a couple of days and loved the beach. It is probably the best beach on the island. The swimming pools are also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your great comments about our Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful beach!
We hope to see you again very soon!
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I already gone 15 days in this hotel in 2012.

The room: spacious, comfortable, clean.
room service: served quickly and hot.
For people who complain being charged for non-consumed drink from the mini bar (the management of the mini bar is automated) drink: just report it and the problem is solved immediately without discussion.

Breakfast: eggs and omelette "done minute". The temperature of the other hot dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage ..., ...) should be improved. Choice of fresh cut fruit, cheese, yogurt, yaourt, waffle, pancake, croissant, chocolate bread, juice, toasted bread, french baguette, ... coffee served in coffee plunger

Spa: Very friendly and professional welcome. Competent staff available that listen your body during your massage.

Pool: the number of activities (pool volleyball, pool basketball, ...) has increased compared to last year. Free distribution (with a smile) of watermelon, melon, ...) 94m pool with a low shallower for child and a side of 1.50m deep.

beach: jetski for rent, water wings, scuba diving in the marina,

Beach restaurant: quality product but it lacks, for my taste, a little lighter proposition for the lunch menu.

gym: 1 bike, 4 running mats, 3 "rotex", 5 machines, weight .... airconditioning, bottle of water and music

For cocktails, let Claude perform, you will not be disappointed.

Very friendly staff. To the reception, go near ladies and avoid the gentleman with a little overweight.

this hotel, in July, is an excellent value for money, clean, nice, with good food and with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11release
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your second stay at the Radisson Blu St Martin. We are very happy that you appreciated our Resort & staff!
We look forward your third visit!
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We heard that happening before. Now we are experiencing it ourselves. The hotel is trying to charge us for the champagne from the mini bar that we did not use. In fact, we did not use anything from the mini bar!! Champagne is the most expensive item in the mini bar - 40 euro. Next, the hotel is trying to charge us with the lunch we did not have at one of there on - property restaurants. We are disputing those charges.

The beach is not that great, but decent. It feels like a lake. The pool is fabulous but why to go to the Caribbean if you cannot enjoy the blue- emerald waters??!!
This place is good for kids, and families with kids... You cannot hear ocean in your rooms... Most rooms face gardens... The place seems relatively safe in compares-sing to the rest of the island and this is the only reason that you might want to consider the hotel. Safety. Otherwise, go to another island... St. Barths, for example...
Oh yeah, the restaurant prices are crazy here... The hamburger will cost you 19 euro!,,

Room Tip: There are no ocean view rooms besides maybe 2-3 rooms. We stayed in the scenic room view- one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amante2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the concerns you had with the billing. We reviewed your comments with the team and took the necessary actions to improve our Guest's Experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson blu St martin in the future and give you another insight of our property.
Best regards,
Jean-Marc Jalbert - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: Bp 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range: $348 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Martin / St Maarten/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing