We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome resort”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

There was a small hiccup with our upgraded room (not available on the first night there), but once that was fixed everything went perfectly. The breakfast buffet was incredible with lots of great options. The beach is very private and a great place to relax and just enjoy the weather. We rented a car and that was definitely the right call as otherwise you'd either be paying a lot in taxis or be stuck on the resort. Make sure that you hike to Petite Cayes (about 60-90 min hike from the hotel) which had only 4 other people on the beach when we got there. The staff were all wonderful and really made the stay special. Don't forget to check out some of the Lolos in Grand Case for some cheaper dining options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. Your words about the hotel but above all our staff mean a lot for us. We are so glad that they made your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    823
    313
    125
    87
See reviews for
683
1,138
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We selected the Radisson Blu with the hope of a warm quiet break from the harsh reality of winter. This turned out to be a brilliant choice.

The resort takes a little effort to get to the Radisson from the Airport. The resort is as far from the airport as you can get and still be on the island of St Martin. When he picked us up our driver Rrrrraphael (that’s how you say it, now you try) asked if we knew where we were going. Confused we said the Radisson, he laughed and clarified that he meant where on the island and how long it would take to get there. Around about 45 minutes…

This is obviously an older property. They have done a nice renovation to update the rooms and amenities. We found our Marina Suite clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed, but a little dark.

The staff from the front desk, to the beach service was very attentive and helpful with anything we needed. The food/drink service on the beach is a little slow, but exceedingly friendly.

The Anse Marcel beach is fabulous. The sand is soft, the water calm, and the shade of the palm trees perfect. The pool is also great and apparently the largest on the island. Between these two locations we had a great relaxing vacation, which is exactly what we were seeking.

We found the food at the Radisson and the small facilities across the street all to be quite good. The breakfast buffet is nice and has stations for fresh waffles and the ever-present egg station. For dinner the hotel does rotate the Theme of the food so that if you say on-site that boredom doesn’t set in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2mnytls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you found our Resort to be the perfect place to relax on the beach or on the infinity pool and just enjoy the tropical weather! We hope to see you soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I, as well as our 2 children, just spent several nights at the Radisson Blu in St. Martin. We are seasoned travelers with experience staying in many 5 star hotels and resorts. We can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel, the accommodating, polite and caring staff, and the innate beauty of both Anse Marcel and the charming, plantation-style hotel. You truly feel that you are in Europe. Wonderful pool, unbelievable beach, comfortable and well appointed rooms, fantastic buffet breakfast. Thank you for a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoilednyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for this really nice review. We are so happy that you had an unbelievable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Radisson Blu Resort in St. Martin is the perfect spot for a Caribbean vacation. We spent a week enjoying our lovely and comfortable Marina Suite overlooking the canal leading to the little marina of Anse Marcel. The rooms were clean and spacious; breakfast buffet was ample with varied choices both hot and cold. All staff from the front desk, concierge, pool, beach and dining were welcoming and friendly. The Radisson is a quiet resort with a spa, but no casino or entertainment which seemed fine with the guests who chose to go there. They were a diverse group, more Europeans than North Americans and ranged in age from young families to seniors. We rented a car for several days. Conveniently there is a Hertz desk right at the hotel. We visited Grand Case nightly for wonderful French dinners, and drove to Marigot and Phillipsburg for a little sightseeing. We aren't shoppers, but there are plenty of opportunities to purchase gifts or souvenirs in these towns. We did drive to other resorts, the Westin at Dawn Beach and La Samanna. Although both are nice, we were quite pleased with our choice of the Radisson. We did not find driving difficult. The car comes with a GPS. The roads are hilly and winding, but not dangerous because it is impossible to go fast. Watch those speed bumps! Parking may be a problem. We find arriving at a town during lunch break, between 1 and 3 makes it easier to find a place to park. We took a ferry to Pinel Island which is pretty, but the beach no nicer than that at the Radisson. We used the water taxi for transportation from and to the airport to the Radisson. It is a great way to see St. Martin for the first time, a twenty minute boat ride preview of a beautiful island.

Room Tip: The Marina Suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conshohocken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you liked our Resort and thank you for your nice words about our staff! We are also glad that you had the opportunity to visit the rest of our beautiful island!
We hope you will be back to the Resort soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Radisson Blu. We booked the trip months ago on USAir vacations and got a great deal on a Marina Suite. The hotel was excellent as was the service. When we arrived the hotel was packed, the third of 3 large group bookings that sort of took over the place. Despite their loud and somewhat obnoxious presence for a couple of days we had no problem getting lounge chairs by the huge pool or tables for the superb breakfast buffet, lunch or dinner. But don't eat all your meals at the hotel....the French side of the island boasts many outstanding eateries, most featuring outstanding French cuisine. The hotel has an excellent fitness room to work off some of the calories, including several weight and cardio machines. Free wifi is available both in the rooms and common areas, including the pool. The conceirge booked dinners and cabs for us without incident. And we recommend asking for "Frank" as your driver...he took us on a 3 hour tour of the island and handled many of our dinner cab rides (I would not recommend a rental car on the narrow and crowded streets). Shopping was good, especially in St. Peterburg on the Dutch side of the island. The butterfly farm was also a fun, short visit. We used the water taxi for the ride to the airport when leaving, a fun diversion that started right at the hotel marina. Our room was cleaned every day and the A/C, hot water, and baggage services were all first rate. After the group left, the hotel was very quiet but no drop off in food or other services. The flower arrangement availabloe for a small price on Valentines Day was a really nice touch. All in all this was a hassle free, top notch travel experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a marina suite on the second floor...quiet, spacious and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities! We hope you will be back to the Resort very soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a review of Anse Marcel beach as we didn't stay at the Radisson.
We toured the island a lot and found that Anse Marcel beach is probably the best. Super sandy beach, quite water, even a nice snorkeling on the right hand side of the beach. Beach bar of Radisson is the best to have a quick lunch or sandwich (wraps were nice). We were staying in Cul de Sac so was quite easy to get to Anse Marcel (about 5 min. drive). There is a public parking before Radisson's entrance, then it's a 5 min. walk to the beach (follow the signs). Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagmanSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review about our beach. We are very happy that you had great time at the beach bar and we hope you will stay with us for your next visit on the island!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This January we spent our family vacation, for the third time at Radisson Blue. We were very happy to repeat the great experience from last year. Unfortunately, it wasn’t so. The hotel still very nice and clean, this time was very crowded and different renovation were ongoing. The pool was a noisy place where the construction of a new cabin/bar was in process. Workers, equipment, a lot of movement, it looked like a construction site, not resembling the relaxing vacation site that we hoped for. Liliana Arrigoni the VIP manager was very helpful trying to accommodate us and to minimize the impact of the construction noise. She offered a cabin that provided for a little separation from the pool, though the noise still persisted to be an issue.
Breakfast was as we remembered assorted and fulfilling, but this time we had to wait to be seated and when seated, the tables were still not ready. There was not enough personnel to take care of the numerous visitors…one table was missing the coffee, other table was missing the silverware.
The resort has an elegant French restaurant called “C Le Restaurant” located very close to the beach. You can smell the sea and hear the waves. It is like a dream place. This year we went there twice. The first night we ordered from the “a la carte” menu that was delicious and expensive. The second night we only had the barbeque/buffet option, that was ok, only that we found a fly in the soup and the fish was not eatable. There were other choices, so we did not leave with an empty stomach, but it was far from the experience that we were looking for.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, even though it was overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlorinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We cannot apologize enough for the bad experience you had in our Resort with the construction of the beach bar and the food. We took measures in order that this situation cannot happen again. We hope you will be back to the Resort for this time enjoy the Beach bar, which is really a great addition!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,797 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, West Indies, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing