We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay in May of 2012 at the Radisson was amazing. The crystal clear water was nestled by the green hills. Within minutes of our arrival, we were given the room key, delicious drinks, and a friendly staff member to help with our bags. We wanted a family beach getaway (2 kids- 14 and 8) and that's exactly what we got. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of choices. My only negative point would be the price of the food. There are two restaurants in front of the property which offer more adequate pricing. (I would not recommend the Italian restaurant as they had insane prices and mediocre food)

As far as entertainment went... We were entertained! The pool is beautiful, the beach astonishing, and the property itself; elegant. We hired a small, private boat (everything was checked and confirmend with the trip planning staff) and went on a tour and snorkeling expedition. There is more than enough entertainment on the property itself as well!

One word of advice: Bring the strongest possible sunscreen available. Our skin, used to the East Coast sunshine, was NOT ready for the magnitude of the St. Martin sunshine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    801
    303
    121
    82
See reviews for
663
1,111
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is the farthest one in the island on the French part. It is nestled between mountains and has a semi private beach. The neighboring resort and the people who rent the villas can walk by a fenced walkway to go to the same beach but Radisson Blu checks on guests room numbers occasionally.
Outside the resort, the island is very poor, trashy, and shabby. So, the tourists' money stays in the resorts and does not go to improve the island. Even on the main road in Gran Case, where they say is the gourmet capital of the islands, trash was everywhere.
If you did not rent a car like we did, you will pay a lot of money for transportation to go to Gran Case (20 minutes) or Marigot (25 minutes) to see the island or have an authentic island dinner. We stayed for four nights and did not rent a car, but for a longer stay a car is a must.
There is a very elite group who stay in this resort, young familes with children and older adults as well as gay couples. All nice people. The reception area was very small compared to the rest of the area the resort occupies. We enjoyed sitting under the stars on the patio outside and watching the palm trees.There was a construction near the pool so we stayed at the beach. The wiev is fantastic...mountains behind you and the Caribbean Sea with small or big island (Ibiza) on the horizon... and the color of the ocean changes with the clouds was magnificent.
The only disappointment was the breakfast. I would expect an erray fo French cheeses but none except three kinds of pre sliced supermarket ones. I asked for a soft boiled egg but never got it. The bread was good, but nothing can beat the breakfast buffet we had at SHERATON CESME last summer. Overall it was OK to see and visit the resort we had heard so much about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4historyandculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you appreciated our quiet location and our beautiful beach. However, we are sorry that the breakfast did not meet your expectations, we have shared your comments with the team to improve this area.
We hope you will be back to the Resort;
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful beach front property on its own magnificent bay. The hotel is well protected and very secure. The rooms, however, are not looking out on the water but this does not deteriorate from the first rate experience of the property. Excellent breakfast except for the coffee which is presented in a french press but is not actually french press coffee, just American drip poured into a french press. Very nice manager that upgraded our room when we complained of the mold in the lower level unit. I would recommend a top floor room. Overall friendly staff.

While visiting neighboring Grand Case (which boasts of many "fine" restaurants), my purse was snatched. At the hotel I met three other guests who experienced theft on the island (not at the hotel). Safety continues to be a major problem on St. Martin. While I would usually never limit myself to staying exclusively at a hotel property while in another country, this unfortunately is the only way to somewhat guarantee your safety on St. Martin. This is an island where it is advised to not even carry a purse or bag less it be stolen, usually in a terrifying way that I could not begin to describe on TA. Being confined to the Radisson Blu at Anse Marcel, however, is by no means punishment- it is a wonderful property that for good reason is sequestered off from public use.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room to avoid mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Radisson Blu prior to sailing on the Windsurf. It's a wonderful property with great service. If you haven't been to this property in the past 2 years its definitely worth a return trip. The hotel general manager Jean-Marc has done a fabulous job with the improvements on the property. If you get the opportunity to meet him you will find him him to be a gracious host with tremendous pride for the hotel.
This was our 4th time visiting and we will definitely be back.
Thanks so much for a great stay Jean-Marc and all the great and continuously smiling staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoomerOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read such great comments about our Resort. My team and I are indeed really proud of the job done since last year.
Again thank you for your very kind comments and support, see you soon!
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Make sure that before you reserve your trip that they are finished building. Also because I brought a towel from the room to the beach a staff member harassed me so rudely I was almost in tears trying to find my room key.

It only takes a few moments to be more cordial and a lifetime of horrid memories from the guest. The weather was beautiful, the hotel is beautiful, the beach was amazing and the breakfasts were good.

Room Tip: The room that I had was by a service drive but I was not in the room that often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rinarisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry that you did not completely enjoyed your stay with us because of the issues you mentioned. We are sorry of the noise from the construction of our new Beach Bar, and we have met with our Beach employees to review the communication to our guests.
We hope you will be back to the Resort to give you another insight of our property and enjoy as our guests the new Beach Bar concept.
Sincerely,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited the Radisson Blu Resort St Martin again in early December and found it up to standard. The facilities are excellent and the staff very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast service was exemplary. At the time of our visit, the haute cuisine restaurant was not operating but it was due to start up for the season on 15 December. There are some excellent restaurants nearby on the Marina or in nearby Grand Case, just 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilternman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the buffett for breakfast every morning. The private beach was wonderful and it was nice having so much space in between us and anyone else. The food was rather expensive which was a bummer and there aren't many choices around. Even the drinks seemed overpriced, for 2 pina coladas it was $24. Besides that price of food, it was great. The hotel entrance is beautiful. I also expected just a little something extra being newlyweds on our honeymoon, but no such luck. Other than that, the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aviongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing