We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort hotel in St Martin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent resort hotel in St Martin”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in October. All I can say is wow! From the moment we arrived to to the moment we left everything was amazing. Staff very pleasant, offered to park car on arrival and was given a welcome drink which was appreciated after the drive from the airport! Hotel was only running at about 10% capacity so we got a free upgrade to a larger room not to mention very personal service from all staff. The rooms were very well presented, clean and fresh not to mention very large. They even supplied beach towels in the rooms which were very nicely scented. The infinity pool area was simply amazing and loved the seclusion of it as for the majority of the stay we had it to ourselves. Restaurant was very good for breakfast and as they had low occupancy it was al a carte for breakfast although if you wanted something not on the menu it was no problem for them to make it. Only had one dinner at the restaurant during the whole stay as it was overpriced and the menu was not really exciting. The only real let down for some (but in my opinion) was the distance from everything, the hotel is very secluded and about a 45 min drive from the airport and 20 minutes from Marigot village but to be honest I really enjoyed the seclusion. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avi8or_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. We are glad that you appreciated the Resort and that you had a great experience!
We hope to see you soon!
Cordialement;
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    823
    313
    125
    87
See reviews for
683
1,138
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fantastic place with a formal garden of extraordinary beauty. It is wonderful just to walk around this resort. Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Sleep Number mattresses on beds are quite a plus, along with very high thread count sheets. You will sleep well! Wells are very thick and the place is quiet. Nice bathrooms (but don't forget that outlets are 220 V, so bring adaptors). Also, it is not to hard to make a mess on the floor when taking a shower, this is kind of a 'French thing'. Toiletries provided for guests are of unusually high quality. Breakfast is included and is good, nothing really special but good. Don't bother to take any of your other meals at this hotel, the food on the French side of St. Martin is fantastic. The hotel is on the remote northern part of the island. The road to reach it is a bit windy. If you stay here I think you really ought to rent a car. Driving in St. Martin is not bad at all, so don't hesitate. Roads are narrow but traffic is not bad and people are not insane in cars. Staff are very helpful and solve all problems. They do have some sort of weird high tech thing in the room minibar that goes haywire and ends up charging everybody for the entire contents of the minibar whether you take anything or not. The staff will fix this at once. The concierge was really effective.

All in all this is a really great resort---from what I could see after quite a bit of exploring the best on St. Martin. Far better than anything on the Dutch side. The Dutch side has bars, nightlife, strip clubs, casinos and brothels. The French side has restaurants and more relaxed bars. Both sides have incredible beaches. You can get from the tip of one side to the other tip by car in 40 minutes or less. You will sleep better on the French side, and this is definitely the nicest resort there. I recommend this place with no hesitation at all based on my five nights there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houstonscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you liked your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

To celebrate my 50th with my wonderful friends, Karen, Doran and Jill we decided to go to St. Martin and we could not have picked a more wonderful vacation for our "Girls Get Away" trip! We booked it through Apply Vacations! Breakfast buffet every morning, lunch and drinks on our own private beach and dinner in Grand Case (minutes away) plus the spa! The staff lived up to the "The Friendly Island" reputation. We did an excursion in Philipsburg on a catamaran called "Maribella" with Neal and Don as the crew and it was worth every penny and more! Would definitely go back. If you are looking for a vacation place, look no further and book it!
Tina (The Birthday Girl)

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinah507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Tina,
Thank you for this great review! We are more than happy that you had a wonderful birthday with your friends at the Radisson Blu St Martin!
We hope you will be back soon!!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I just spent a week at the beautiful Radisson Blu in Anse Marcel. The photos do not do this resort justice. It is nestled between two small mountains on a beautiful pristine beach which makes you feel like you are in your own private oasis. It's a quick taxi ride to the amazing cuisine of Grand Case where we dined every night during our stay. I had the pleasure of making several visits to the spa which were amazing. The spa is the best I have seen at any five star resort. It's a must stay for any trip to Saint Martin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for this really nice review about our Resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and that the Spa left such a good impression!
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Never thought that Radisson would have such a lovely property in its portfolio.
The Hotel itself is very secluded and quaint, situated on the far end of the French part of the island.
Being on the French side, we thought that we would have a hard time communicating with the locals. Au contraire, mes amis. Turns out, most of the locals do speak fairly good English.
Everyone on the hotel’s staff was polite and receptive to all our requests and questions. Claudette, the concierge, shared a wealth of information regarding the local restaurants. Front desk and lobby bartender (Claudius) were super and gave us pointers regarding local beaches and how to get there. We received a room upgrade without even asking for it. A nice touch.
Buildings are situated a bit off the beach, but a 100 yard walk is not a big deal. The entire property is immaculate, including the beach and rooms themselves. The mini bar is well stacked. A bit pricey when converting to dollars, but this is not a three star hotel. Besides, there are stores on the main road where one could purchase bottled water and snack, if desired.
Bed had an air mattress and bed sheets were well taken care of and of nice quality. Plenty of good pillows on the bed and towels in the bathroom. Though the toiletries were a bit sub-par quality and toilette paper reminded me of an office bathroom. A/C was working good, no noise and no condensation spots on the ceiling.
As mentioned before, the entire place is well taken care of. Paint, caulking, plumbing, floors.
Breakfast was a typical island breakfast. Variety of items was more than sufficient. I can even say that at times it was an overkill and redundant. The selection of cold cuts and cheeses was a lack luster. But again, this is a minor thing. Coffee press and espresso machine were a nice touch.
In conclusion, reluctantly, I have to say that the hotel restaurant’s menu is not what one would expect from a place that I have just praised. Restaurant’s aspirations that are so eloquently described in its menu, fall short of its mark. It offends my intellect and my pocket. An appetizer that blatantly combines baby octopus (ordinary Japanese restaurant appetizer), spicy calamari ( we get that in Costco) and plain seaweed, hardly is a worthwhile choice, especially for17 EU.
Place gets overall high marks.

Room Tip: Garden View is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vladmeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you liked your stay at the Radisson Blu St Martin. We are, nevertheless, sorry that the food did not meet your expectations.
We hope to see you back again soon!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We staid in the Radisson for our honeymoon in the off season (11 november untill 18 november). Very nice hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff and great service. Rooms are clean, swimming pool is huge and a big plus.

Unfortunately their beach restaurant was closed for renovations during our stay. Which is nicely located at the edge of the sea

The only thing i would suggest is up for improvement is the food quality in Le Marche. The prices are upscale, but the food is not that upscale (its OK i would say, not great). We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. Breakfast is OK (fresh fuit is a plus) Lunch was good (lobster soup and a salad), dinner was average (dorade, fish).

The hotel is very nicely located in a bay with a calm water beach. I would defenitely visit this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Resort. However, we have shared your remark about the food with our team in order to improve our service.
We hope you will be back soon to the Resort.
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently spent a two week honeymoon at the Radisson Blu in St Martin. The hotel and grounds were lovely and superbly maintained. The beach was in a bay surrounded by mountains, absolutely beautiful. What really separated this from other places I have stayed was the people. All of them, from housekeeping to the manager were willing to do whatever it took to make you stay more pleasant. There are a few that really stood out. First Claudette, the concierge. She spent hours explaining different parts of the island, things to do, things that shouldn't be missed. She even shared the history of island. With out her, the trip wouldn't have been nearly as much fun. The bar staff was also amazing Claude and Patricio. Claude's rum tasting is a must. They were friendly, funny and made amazing drinks. By far the best I had on the island. Housekeeping was in the room up to three times a day making sure towels were stocked. The breakfast buffet in the morning should not be missed. The pool is beautiful, the hot tub is surrounded by plants, giving the illusion of privacy. The internet, both wired and wifi was excellent. My room supported 1mb both up and downstream If I had to find something negative to say, they ran out of soap for 2 days (but provided extra liquid bodywash to all the rooms). I hope to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We could not be happier that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us! I have passed your compliments to Claudette, Claude, Patricio and all the others!
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,797 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing