We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a short stop-over”
Review of Logis de la Barque

Logis de la Barque
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Logis de la Barque
Reviewed May 24, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. We had booked a twin room but were shown to a double. This was rectified immediately and we were shown to the room next door which was larger with a little ante-room.
The bed was surprisingly comfortable-bathroom was smallbut it was clean and the shower was good.
coffee and tea making facilties in the room-but no milk-

The staff were friendly and helpful (although quite often the reception desk was un manned and so it took time to find somebody to assist)

we ate in the hotel one night and the food was excellent. The service was good and the food arrived promptly. Breakfast was lovely.

all in all a very nice hotel for the money that it costs.

The only problem that I encountered was the noise from the room above us. The people upstairs seemed to spend a lot of time during the late evening and early morning walking around upstairs and the noise of the floorboards creaking was quite difficult to ignore. I would certainly ask to sleep on the top floor if I stayed there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairem006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

I originally stayed here three years ago, following the retirement of the proprietors of the hotel in Fye where I had been staying at least twice a year for fifteen years. I was a bit apprehensive the first time I stayed at Hotel de la Barque, due to the very negative (solitary) review. The rooms seem typical of this class of Logis and you wouldn't want to spend hours doing other than sleep in them, but why would you want to? The restaurant is excellent and the staff, including cleaners, friendly and cheerful. M. Vincent, the proprietor (and whom I presume is the 'man in black' so scathingly referred to in an earlier review), has always been helpful and accommodating, helping out with our faltering French and tolerant of changing requirements regarding number of guests in our party and hence rooms. These situations have been smoothly dealt with via excellent email communication, in English if you wish. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a stopover en route to the South or on the way home. While you're there, have a little look around the town. Beaumont-sur-Sarthe has a Roman Gate, the Feudal Mound, covered market and a Roman bridge dominated by a 11th century Château.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Fine hotel in a handy location for Le Mans. Secure parking for our motorbikes. Staff very friendly and helpful with my poor grasp of the French Language! Always had great food in the restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockysnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Stayed one night at this two star hotel en route from England to Bordeaux by car. Did not expect too much for the rate (around 50 Euro), but our room was extremely small and the bathroom pretty tiny. Bed was surprisingly comfortable and shower was strong with plenty of hot water, so things couldn't be too bad.

An employee who appeared to be the manager as he had on a black suit was not too helpful when we checked in, and was similarly curt when I asked for a dinner reservation. I was summarily told that it would be at 7:30. OK, so we had a pleasant time exploring the little town and then having an aperitif in the friendly bar.

Very good waitress in the restaurant, which had about 10 other guests. Unfortunately, our black suited friend was also in attendance. We could have accepted the delay in taking our wine order, had the white wine been cold when it arrived, but when M. Black Suit stopped taking our dinner order to answer his mobile phone and leave the restaurant for 10 minutes we knew things were unlikely to improve.

Surprisingly, the food was excellent, but then one can eat at a similar standard in most French towns, so why put up with insolent service? We did not partake of the 9 Euro breakfast next morning, preferring to get on our way and take our chances on the Autoroute.

Wouldn't stay here again because of the one employee. A pity, as everyone else seemed to be happy to do their bit.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Nellychabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-la-barque, Propriétaire at Logis de la Barque, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-la-barque, Propriétaire at Logis de la Barque, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Sandrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-la-barque, Propriétaire at Logis de la Barque, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Logis de la Barque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de la Barque

Address: 10 Place de la Liberation, 72170, Beaumont-sur-Sarthe, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Beaumont-sur-Sarthe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaumont-sur-Sarthe
Price Range: $81 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis de la Barque 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Logis de la Barque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing