We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Carabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Jolie Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Jolie Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Le Langon B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Le Carabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Le “Carabi” is a fully equipped, comfortable “Gite” in the grounds of “La Jolie Maison” bed & breakfast, and located in an excellent geographical location. Lin & John are the hosts whom are akin to your best friends, yes really!!! Because of this, returning is never in doubt. Also meeting the diverse multi-cultural clientele that frequent this establishment, eating the excellently prepared and reasonably priced meals, if you prefer, is an option you must not miss.
Lin & John, we wish to extend our deepest heartfelt thanks for making every moment in your company a joy and pleasure. You added a dimension to our holiday never experienced before and probably never to be beaten in the future. We very much hope that we meet you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
wow guys, what can we say to those amazing comments. We so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 weeks in Le Carabi and were able to relax and enjoy your holiday. It was real pleasure to have met you both and we truly hope you will pass our way again. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came by Irish ferry to Roscoff, and drove the 5 hour trip to Le Langon. Tired by the journey, we were greatly relieved to find Jon & Lin most welcoming hosts. I'm a wheelchair user, and assistance was immediately offered with our luggage, but first we had to have a beer and coffee with them at their patio parlour. This got our stay here off to a great start.

We stayed in the the 'Le Carabi' gitte, which is designed specifically with mobility impaired guests in mind. Access about the living space, kitchen, bathroom & toilet areas have plenty of room using a wheelchair. There's a shower chair available as well as one of the beds having an electric pillow lifter and can be raised up & down to suit your level requirements. The gitte can accommodate four persons as there's a double bed upstairs also. Should you need any additional equipment for your mobility impairment, it can be supplied in advance for very small fees.

Evening dinner can be provided with 24-hour notice which was most welcome after our journey. John & Lin produce the most magnificent meals and will gladly join you afterwards as socialising company for tea, coffee and a digestif (or two). Such was their company, we dined there three times the week we stayed, and being outdoors late in the balmy air, was just superb. There are garden areas to relax on sun lounges, ripened fruits available from the trees and bushes, and to cool off, a swimming pool to take a dip in. There's also a hoist to assist those with mobility problems to get in for a swim also.

La Jolie Maison is at the centre of the village, and you can easily get about the old Roman market square to a the few shops and café bar. This is very convenient if you don't wish to have to go off elsewhere by car. You will not be disappointed at your stay here, and we look forward to a return journey sometime again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so so much for your extremely kind and positive comments. We hope that will give confidence in our gite to anyone reading this who is a wheelchair user. Thank you also for taking the time to put some pictures on. It was truly a pleasure to have met you both and we really hope that will see you again in the future. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with our visit. John and Lin are super hosts who looked after us wonderfully and gave us great advice about places to visit in the area. The accommodation cannot be faulted - lovely room and en-suite, beautiful gardens and great breakfasts. We also had a couple of evenings meals which were delicious - one of which was on the terrace shared with guests staying in the Gite which made a lovely occasion.
Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments and for taking the time-out to write them. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way to South West France. We could not have been made more welcome. In the evening we enjoyed a super meal on the terrace with the added bonus of entertainment thrown in; both of the owners are talented people. Good breakfast in the morning with bacon and egg if you are having withdrawal symptoms. A super value for money overnight stop.

Room Tip: Request the home made entertainment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winifredholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Very kind of you to take the time to write some comments, thank you very much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south elmsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

After a long day's ride we were gven a very nice warm welcome.John and Lin are the perfect hosts.I arrived very low on fuel,after being unable to find a petrol station open on a sunday.John kindly put me a few litres in the tank.Lin's cooking is second to none,true resturant standard,nothing was to much trouble.the biking in the area is very good and Lin and John both gave advice on places to visit.I can 100% recommed La Jolie maison to biker's and none biker's alike.Thanks John and Lin :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you guys, it was a real pleasure to meet you all and we truly hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from touring France with friends and stopped at last jolie Madison for 2 nights. Lin and John are fantastic hosts they make you feel very welcome and they are very friendly. The rooms are lovely very clean and comfortable, and the food was delicious.The location is good for access to beaches and la rochelle. We were spoilt here and compared all the rest of the B & Bs to this but none came near. I will recommend this to everyone if they want excellent value for money and a very clean friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we truly hope to see you all again. Kindest Regards Lin & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thank you John and Lin for looking after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was superb, and the kindly downloaded and printed maps enabled us to venture far and wide in the Vendee area looking at properties for sale. The sun even made an appearance as we left, showing La Jolie Maison and the gardens at their best. The village is friendly and well maintained, the area interesting and no need for a restaurant with Lin's prowess in the kitchen. We now know why your regulars, including many French guests, come back time after time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linbar0559, Owner at La Jolie Maison, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely kind comments, we truly look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Langon
3.5 mi away
Auberge de la Riviere
Auberge de la Riviere
#1 of 1 in Velluire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.4 mi away
Logis Le Fontarabie
Logis Le Fontarabie
#2 of 3 in Fontenay-le-Comte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Rabelais Hotel -Restaurant -SPA
Le Rabelais Hotel -Restaurant -S...
#1 of 3 in Fontenay-le-Comte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Dimes
Les Dimes
#3 of 4 in Le Langon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aux 4 Cornes
Aux 4 Cornes
#1 of 5 in Fontenay-le-Comte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.8 mi away
Park & Suites Village La Rochelle - Marans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolie Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolie Maison

Property: La Jolie Maison
Address: 2 rue Jean Jaures, 85370 Le Langon, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Le Langon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Le Langon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Jolie Maison offers you charming Chambre d'hote / Bed and Breakfast facilities, all rooms with en-suites, in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open all year round. Also available is our self-catering Gite 'Le Carabi,' sleeping 4-5, which is family & disabled friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Jolie Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing