We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday accommodation for large groups.”
Review of Vendee Vacances

Vendee Vacances
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vendee Vacances
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday accommodation for large groups.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our large party of 20 plus family and friends have just returned from a fabulous two week holiday in Les Chardonnerets. All of our group, young and slightly older(!) made the most of the great facilities that the accommodation had to offer and its good location to enjoy a holiday to remember.

The holiday property was booked over twelve months ago and Jon and Julia did everything to make the process as simple and straight forward as possible. Information and instructions received prior to our departure were helpful and clear

The house itself is incredibly spacious with a very large kitchen. This was the best equipped holiday let kitchen that any of us had ever been in and enabled the chefs amongst us to prepare excellent meals. Although we ate outside for every meal, the kitchen table was easily big enough to seat our whole party. The downstairs inside space was completed with a large utlity space, downstairs shower room and two large comfortable sitting rooms. There was also a ground floor bedroom suite of two large rooms and a further bathroom thus making it very appropriate accommodation for anyone with mobility problems. The upstairs space was split into two wings with a variety of bedrooms to meet any needs.

All of the rooms were spotlessly clean when we arrived and the house immediately create a positive response from everyone. Towels and linen came as part of the package and the linen was changed at the start of the second week. At the end of our stay a thorough clean was included as part of the price and we were only asked to make sure that all bins had been emptied and dishwashers loaded and turned on.

The outside space is also good and was where we spent most of our time during the two sun soaked weeks. A large covered terrace and barbeque area had a table large enough to seat around 30. We mainly made use of the large gas barbeque but there is also a charcoal barbeque if required. There is even a large fridge freezer on the terrace making it easy to access the all important drinks. The pool is large with many sun loungers spotted around and played host to many silly games and fun. It is however also large enough for more serious swimming. The children of all ages particularly enjoyed the play area trampoline and large garden.

Les Chardonnerets in located a short walk from the centre of the small village of Mouzeuil St Martin. The epicerie and boulangerie was the only shop in the village but was welcoming and had a good range of breads and pastries every day but Wednesdays. Larger supermarkets were 15 minutes away in Fontenay le Comte and Lucon. The coast was only 30 minutes away and we enjoyed trips to the beach at the quiet but idylic Le Conches as well as the more bustling La Tranche sur Mer and Le Sables d'Olonne. The accomadation is situated in the south of the Vendee but all of the attractions of the area are at most only two hours away. During our stay members of our party visited attractions such as the Zoo at Palmyre, the aquarium at La Rochelle, Futuroscope theme park, the water park at Noirmoutier and lots of the local attractions in the surrounding towns and villages.


Overall this was one of, if not the best, large property that we have stayed at. The price was reasonable as we occupied nearly all of the available bedroom space. Jon and Julia were unobtrusive but welcoming owners who would have been readily available had we needed their help. All in our group agreed that we would definately recommend Les Charonnerets to anyone that we knew and would return were we to visit the Vendee in such a large group again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branks1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Les Chardonnerets. The party consisted of 12 adults and 13 children, although the accommodation could sleep up to about 28. The general layout of the gite and quality of fixtures and fittings was exceptional. 'This is better quality than my house said one of the guests, as he put his bread in the Dualit toaster!". Vendee is a wonderful area of France and this gite is about 45 mins from the beeches, an hour from La Rochelle and an hour from Puy Du Fou, which is a 'must see' day out for children and adults alike. The swimming pool was a lovely temperature and there was enough grounds to set up a volleyball net or play some cricket - so there is also plenty to do at the gite. The outside area was most used, with the BBQ employed most nights to feed hungry children and adults. Nearest supermarket is Lucon about 10 miles away, but the kids loved the morning walks to the village for pastries and bread. I really could not rate this place highly enough, and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: The rooms were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are an extended family of 18 recently back from our 2 week stay at Les Chardonneretes where we celebrated a 70th Birthday. The event was a great success in which the venue played a huge part. There was so much for the children to do and play with that the adults were able to enjoy lots of quality time. Jon & Julia have created a wonderful holiday gite with character and which caters for all ages and the readymade food they provided when needed was delicious and plentiful. I would thoroughly recommend Les Chardonneretes to anyone. Reay Brandon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at Les Chardonnerets where we stayed with 20 others including 10 children and we all had the best time. The place was brilliant and catered so well for us all, the children had a blast and we found it hard to get them out of the pool, off the climbing frame and off the trampoline. The place has been so beautifully converted, lovely rooms and very comfy beds! to be honest I can not fault the place and the owners who were so accommodating both before and during our stay. We have already started talking about when we can all go back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerityH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just back from Les Chardonnerets, we went 3 years ago before gites split but its even better now. Lovely, rooms really nice and all facilities etc!! John and Julia couldnt do enough for us and we had them prepare us a meal for our last night which was really good too and good value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we're pleased you enjoyed the food.. It was a pleasure seeing you here again and we hope very much to see again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

17 bikers, with Harley Davidson's have just had their 2nd holiday in La Maison du Ble, the accommodation has been renovated into one big space which is truly amazing. The weather was not as good as last time, but Jon & Julia did everything possible to help us and sort us out with extra beer and wine for when we arrived. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you back and we were particularly interested in your response since you are the first group that has stayed at Les Chardonnerets / La Maison in both it's earlier incarnation as two gites and now as single large property. Your positive feedback and suggestions were very much appreciated and we look forward to (hopefully) seeing you back here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at La Chardonnerets and had a fantastic time.
The gite is wonderful: spacious, well maintained and has everything you could need. We travelled with two toddlers and one baby and they thoroughly enjoyed their time. John and Julia have a gorgeous accommodation here and offered meals and support with anything if required. Amazing place and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Les Chardonnerets. We're very pleased that you found the property so much to your liking and we hope we'll be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vendee Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendee Vacances

Property: Vendee Vacances
Address: 4 rue de la Rhee, 85370 Le Langon, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Le Langon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Le Langon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality, family-friendly, gite accommodation. Especially designed, furnished and fully equipped for groups of all ages and families holidaying with young children. Three properties on different sites near the town of Fontenay le Comte: Les Alouettes sleeping eight in four bedrooms; Les Roches, sleeping 12 in five bedrooms; Les Chardonnerets, sleeping 24 in 12 bedrooms. All with fenced, heated, swimming pools and play areas. 35 minutes from La Rochelle and the beautiful Vendee beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Vendee Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing