We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accommodation in Vendee”
Review of Vendee Vacances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vendee Vacances
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Les Chardonnerets. The party consisted of 12 adults and 13 children, although the accommodation could sleep up to about 28. The general layout of the gite and quality of fixtures and fittings was exceptional. 'This is better quality than my house said one of the guests, as he put his bread in the Dualit toaster!". Vendee is a wonderful area of France and this gite is about 45 mins from the beeches, an hour from La Rochelle and an hour from Puy Du Fou, which is a 'must see' day out for children and adults alike. The swimming pool was a lovely temperature and there was enough grounds to set up a volleyball net or play some cricket - so there is also plenty to do at the gite. The outside area was most used, with the BBQ employed most nights to feed hungry children and adults. Nearest supermarket is Lucon about 10 miles away, but the kids loved the morning walks to the village for pastries and bread. I really could not rate this place highly enough, and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: The rooms were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are an extended family of 18 recently back from our 2 week stay at Les Chardonneretes where we celebrated a 70th Birthday. The event was a great success in which the venue played a huge part. There was so much for the children to do and play with that the adults were able to enjoy lots of quality time. Jon & Julia have created a wonderful holiday gite with character and which caters for all ages and the readymade food they provided when needed was delicious and plentiful. I would thoroughly recommend Les Chardonneretes to anyone. Reay Brandon

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at Les Chardonnerets where we stayed with 20 others including 10 children and we all had the best time. The place was brilliant and catered so well for us all, the children had a blast and we found it hard to get them out of the pool, off the climbing frame and off the trampoline. The place has been so beautifully converted, lovely rooms and very comfy beds! to be honest I can not fault the place and the owners who were so accommodating both before and during our stay. We have already started talking about when we can all go back...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just back from Les Chardonnerets, we went 3 years ago before gites split but its even better now. Lovely, rooms really nice and all facilities etc!! John and Julia couldnt do enough for us and we had them prepare us a meal for our last night which was really good too and good value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we're pleased you enjoyed the food.. It was a pleasure seeing you here again and we hope very much to see again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

17 bikers, with Harley Davidson's have just had their 2nd holiday in La Maison du Ble, the accommodation has been renovated into one big space which is truly amazing. The weather was not as good as last time, but Jon & Julia did everything possible to help us and sort us out with extra beer and wine for when we arrived. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you back and we were particularly interested in your response since you are the first group that has stayed at Les Chardonnerets / La Maison in both it's earlier incarnation as two gites and now as single large property. Your positive feedback and suggestions were very much appreciated and we look forward to (hopefully) seeing you back here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at La Chardonnerets and had a fantastic time.
The gite is wonderful: spacious, well maintained and has everything you could need. We travelled with two toddlers and one baby and they thoroughly enjoyed their time. John and Julia have a gorgeous accommodation here and offered meals and support with anything if required. Amazing place and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Les Chardonnerets. We're very pleased that you found the property so much to your liking and we hope we'll be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from a week @ Les Allouettes, Le Langon, France which is about a 50 minute drive from La Rochelle itself - the hospitality offered by Julia and Jon was fantastic. Party of 4 adults and 2 kids (7 and 11) who had a ball; entertained by the array of pets, swimming pool and outdoor facilities! The gite was perfect for relaxing in, with home from home comforts, and this is the first time we have shared accommodation with friends, but given the separate wings, privacy was not an issue and worked well! If you want a really relaxing holiday this is perfect but you are quite remote with very little going on in Le Langon itself but Fonteney-le-Comte is only about a 10 minute drive away which is bustling!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia_and_Jon, Owner at Vendee Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to review Les Alouettes. We're delighted that you had a good stay and hope that we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vendee Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendee Vacances

Address: 4 rue de la Rhee, 85370 Le Langon, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Le Langon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Le Langon
Price Range: $42 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality, family-friendly, gite accommodation. Especially designed, furnished and fully equipped for groups of all ages and families holidaying with young children. Three properties on different sites near the town of Fontenay le Comte: Les Alouettes sleeping eight in four bedrooms; Les Roches, sleeping 12 in five bedrooms; Les Chardonnerets, sleeping 24 in 12 bedrooms. All with fenced, heated, swimming pools and play areas. 35 minutes from La Rochelle and the beautiful Vendee beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vendee Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing