We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best family holidays we have ever had”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mother;s Garden

Peace, space and beauty of the Mother's Garden cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace, space and beauty of the Mother's Garden cottage
Comfortable accommodation for up to 7 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Peace, space and beauty of the Mother's Garden cottage
Comfortable accommodation for up to 7 people
Main double room
Downstairs double with easy access and adjoining shower room and toilet
The kitchen is fully equipped
Dine outside
Close to nature
Eating the Latin way
Stonechats, nightingales and bee-eaters, among many others, nest close by
We can guide you on wonderful mountaintop walks
Your hosts - Maggie, Martin, Ella and Joe Joe
The main farmhouse, 50 metres away
Families work together harvesting almonds in late August
Take a chair and sit in the orchard
The lush valley - seen from La Vinya Del Pare
Feasts and fiestas - real Spain
La Petita the pony in the olive grove
Chance to join in farm harvests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Falset, Province of Tarragona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
193Andrew
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best family holidays we have ever had”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Situated in a beautiful part of rural Spain this holiday had something for everybody, using the owners expert knowledge of the area we had a quiet, peaceful holiday, visiting local village markets and eating Tapas at village restaurants.
But we interspersed this with visits to a choice of two water parks with slides that would terrify the most ardent of adrenalin junkies and ate the most fantastic seafood after a day on the beach, swimming in the warm waters of the Mediterranean.
Finished off with a day in Barcelona, a truly amazing experience, we will definitely be booking to go to Mother's Garden again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing friendliness of Martin and Maggie, the owners of Mother's Garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiroBCN
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect, ecofriendly hideaway in the greate Priorat nature!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spend a long weekend with the kids in Martin & Maggie's Farm! We and the kids enjoyed every minute - from collecting eggs in the morning, learning from Martin about Mother Nature to relaxing at the pool. Not to forget the amazing views of the surroundings and the excellent food and wine the region has to offer! Mother's Garden was a great experience and we'll sure come back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig_Fum...
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuinely lovely experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a sweet, spacious, and well-maintained cottage! The setting was peaceful with a stunning view of the mountains. Martin and Maggie are great hosts, living just a stone throw away and genuinely happy to help. You also find their own tasty olive oil on the dining table. Make sure to order light supper they offer at a very reasonable price cooked with fresher-than-ever produce from their own garden! Our 2.5 years old daughter had lots of fun in their big and clean swimming pool and enjoyed meeting the chickens and the pony. I enjoyed massage in their yoga/massage studio right next to the cottage. Our time in Priorat could not have been better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We found Mothers Garden from a book which I picked up in Mexico in January. Upon reading No Going Back I realised we had seen the documentary in early 2000 and thought it would be fantastic to check out if the family were still in Spain. Not only were they still in the Olive business but also did holidays to their beautiful cottage, which is where we have just been. Words do not adequately describe this special place or the attentiveness of Martin and Maggie. Our stay was without doubt outstanding in every way. From fresh local produce to fabulous views, tranquility and a wonderful family too. Thank you Martin and Maggie (and Joe) for making our stay so wonderful..... WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK! .....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather! Not brilliant sunshine but hey
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Asa2...
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“One of our best holiday experiences in Spain”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Mother´s Garden is located beautifully in a valley within walking distance to a small village. We went here to explore the wine regions of Priorat and Montsant, and found it to be an excellent base camp for such excursions. The region in general is breathtaking, steep valleys with winding, narrow roads and pretty, old villages. We did not do a lot of hiking this time, but realized there would have been great options for this. There are excellent restaurants in surrounding villages and Falset is located conveniently close and great for shopping high quality meat, fish, veggies, etcetera.

The house looked good on the internet, but we were still pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The rooms are more spacious than what we´ve experienced renting other holiday homes in Spain. Lots of light and direct access from the bedrooms to the terraces. The house is new, built in traditional style and with high standards. It is as well maintained is if it would be the owners home, clean, tastefully furnished and the kitchen is well equipped. There is a lovely area to sit outdoors and a pool just next to the house. The only thing we wouldn´t rate 5 stars are the beds, which are typical spanish standard in terms of comfort.

Martin and Maggie live conveniently close, so it is easy to pop over and ask things. On the other hand, thanks to trees and bushes, you have your privacy at the cottage. M&M were incredibly helpful during our stay, and did their best to make us feel at home. Martin did a fantastic job as full-time travel agent during the planning phase and thanks to his knowledge about the region and his connections, we came to meet amazing people and experience things that we would never have done otherwise.

To conclude, our stay at Mother´s Garden is right up there in the top three list of our best holiday experiences ever. We didn´t bring the children this time, but they would have loved it too. HIghly recommendable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house as such, the hosts, the location!
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Who-is-sy...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit with family and friends. We love everything about it. It has given us some very special holiday memories that we will keep forever. We enjoy the simple things like walking into Marca to the bakers, having a drink in the bar, a stroll up the hill to the turtle sanctuary enjoying the fantastic views. We love going further afield to the castle at Miravet, the market at Falsett and even a day trip on the train to Barcelona. Martin, Maggie, Ella and Joe are warm, friendly people who have created a very special place that I feel privileged to have shared a little part of. I look forward to going back one day.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenLondo...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical Mother's Garden!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2012

Mother's Garden is truly a special place, the location, people and the incredible scenery of the region make it a fabulous place for families, groups of friends or couples to visit. The accommodation is very comfortable, fabulously furnished and homely. Maggie and Martin (the owners) are fantastic and have extensive local knowledge, so will advise on anything you may need. A great holiday, I intend to go back again and again! Many thanks, Colette

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing