We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with an impressive wine cellar and great kitchen”
Review of Hotel Hostal Sport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hostal Sport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falset
Certificate of Excellence
Culemborg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with an impressive wine cellar and great kitchen”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is not really a hip design hotel, but otherwise it's really great. Comfy rooms, relaxing by the fireplace (in winter of course) and very friendly staff. The owner, Marta, is also very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves very well prepared (mainly Catalan) dishes. With this great food you can drink a great wine, especially from Priorat, Montsant and Penedès. The hotel has its own impressive wine cellar, with many older vintages. It's a real candy shop for the wine lover. And it's no problem to take the rest of the bottle to your room or even bring your own wine to drink by the fireplace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky_Pete66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta D, Gerente at Hotel Hostal Sport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion, see you soon! Wines are waiting ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    74
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
26
101
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nothing like a roaring fire in January, in the living room at the far end of the hotel looking out over the garden. Falset is the capital of the Priorat county, which makes fine "Priorat" and "Montsant" wines (both appelations controlées), and the Hostal Sport is an ideal base from which to drive out to see the county. Mind the winding roads, though! Oh! And the wine lkist in the restaurtant beats them all! Colossal!

Room Tip: The by-pass took away almost all night traffic from the front (southern) side. No preference these d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miquel_Strubell_True
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta D, Gerente at Hotel Hostal Sport, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanunda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Working vintage at Scala Dei Winery in the heart of Priorat I stayed for almost 3 weeks at the Hostal Sport in late September 2012. The rooms have all you need. The highlight is the restaurant and the welcoming staff. I had no Spanish or Catalan language but, with the patience of the waiting staff, was able to navigate the menus easily to savour the many delights of the regional cuisine. I did not have one disappointing evening meal. Even more impressive was the extensive wine list which meant that I was able to taste many of the regional producers some of which are not available for sale outside of the regions of Priorat and Montsant. The staff were exceptionally accommodating, knowledgeable and made me feel welcome (almost as if i was visiting extended family).

Room Tip: If you are staying as a couple ask for the recently refurbished larger double rooms .... they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

On our wine-tasting journey in Priorat we stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are comfortable but not luxurious. We had two excellent dinners at the hotel and the first evening we began whith a very interesting talk about Monsant wines followed by wine-tasting. For breakfast you can order omelet by your own choice and the orange juice was real fresh juice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lars_gustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great stay in Hostal Sport during harvest in Belmunt, The hotel has a perfect location for visiting the wine region, we have known the hotel since years... nice place, nice room, excellent service, fine food !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everything good, nice food, very good wines and very nice service. It's a top location to organize trips to the most important wine villages of Priorat and Montsant; especially when you are with larger groups. They have special accomodations for wine tastings and other things you like to organize. If you want the top, you could reserve the Mansarde-suite with 2 balconies .. super!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lululuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta D, Gerente at Hotel Hostal Sport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
thank you very much. hope we meet again in priorat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Sport,( also called Hostal Sport) in Falset about an hour and a half from Barcelona. The Hotel was very comfortable, the rooms clean and air conditioned and the staff extremely helpful.I was visiting the Priorat region of Spain to attend a wedding and the above hotel was recommended to me. The price was incredibly reasonable and bed and breakfast worked out at about £36.00 per person per night.The restaurant was also extremely good.I needed a late check out on our departure date and even thought the hotel was busy the manager arranged for us to keep our room until 5 p.m. at no extra cost.This would not happen at most hotels. So I thoroughly recommend this hotel. The local wine is excellent and the countryside beautiful.It is easier to fly to Reus than Barcelona as it is just 20 minutes from the Hotel.Falset is a small town of about 2000 people, it is very Spanish and there seemed to be mainly Dutch, French and English tourists.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony, it may be a little noisier than rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanishhol186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta D, Manager at Hotel Hostal Sport, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
thank you very much to write here, hope I see you again in priorat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falset
4.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
#1 of 1 in Els Guiamets
100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cal Llop
Cal Llop
#1 of 2 in Gratallops
139 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Els Pampols
Els Pampols
#1 of 1 in Porrera
31 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Mas Mariassa
Hotel Mas Mariassa
#1 of 1 in Pratdip
188 reviews
8.0 mi away
Figuerola Resort and Spa
Figuerola Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Vandellos
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostal Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostal Sport

Property: Hotel Hostal Sport
Address: C/ Miquel Barcelo, 4 - 6, 43730 Falset, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Falset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hostal Sport 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with 90 years of history, located in the Priorat, one of the lesser-known regions of the Catalan territory but with more personality. Dedicated to the wine tourism. Local cuisine. We are always open. Including holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hostal Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing