We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“L'Oceano d'Or - near child abduction”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jard-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping L'Oceano d'Or
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“L'Oceano d'Or - near child abduction”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at the site on Saturday the 27th July.
The first week of the holidays was great. The site was fine the pool clean and the kids and ourselves relaxed and had a good time both on site and in the surrounding area.
This did not last on 6th August in the early evening a man unlocked the toilet door in one of the washing blocks where our daughter was and tried to take her.
Thankfully she shouted and got away running back to our tent which was approximately 100m from the block.
We went straight to reception to report it but where greeted with a lack of concern for the situation other than we were told a security man would go past our tent that evening
We went back to the tent and decided to call the police. They were very good and took the incident very seriously with an number of visits etc.
At no point until our departure on 9th August did the campsite come to see us to check if they could be any assistance.
Speaking with other people on the site there had previously been an incident where pictures were being taken underneath toilet / shower doors
Considering this is meant to be a family campsite we were surprised by the campsites approach.
We have contacted the campsite to ask what they plan on doing for the future if such an awful incident were to occur again but we have heard nothing from them. We know it is hopefully an isolated incident but wanted reassurance from the campsite that they would look at there procedures etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadotel, Propriétaire at Camping L'Oceano d'Or, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for this terrible experience. This is the first time we have had to deal with a problem of this kind. Our discretion on the matter came from direct orders that we received from the policemen, asking us to keep quiet so that they could catch the man. We apologize if you felt that we did not feel concerned about the problem. We can assure you that we did everything in our power to prevent this incident from happening again. Our security was asked to specifically patrol the area around your pitch so that you could feel safer.
The man came from outside the campsite, entered the grounds during the afternoon and tried to open the door on the little girl who resisted and closed the door.
The police came 5 minutes after we called them and after immediate investigations the man was arrested the following day thanks to the collaboration between our staff and the police. The man lived next to Jard sur Mer and was unknown to the people in the area. He is now in jail.
We regret that you feel that we had not approached you after the police intervened but as the investigation was in process we were unable to update you with information following the intrusion. We were very unlucky that this man chose our campsite and since this incident we have installed a security camera.
Unfortunately, the campsite remains powerless in front of this kind of situation and has other no choice but to let the police lead investigations.
Fortunately, it was an isolated event but it has increased our awareness and in the unlikely case of such a problem reoccuring our reaction time will be immediate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
114
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our fifth visit to L'Oceano d'Or because we loved it on previous visits. We had always booked with a UK travel company (French Life and French Freedom, who went into administration earlier this year, meaning we had to book direct with Chadotel, the camp site's owners. What a mistake! The mobile home we were allocated was very tatty - leaky gutters above the porch, bare chipboard walls, very shabby woodwork, grass and hedges not been cut etc. All of this however paled into insignificance when compared to the attitude of the site staff which positively stank - unhelpful, uncommunicative, confrontational even. The last day mobile home inspection degenerated into a heated arguement which really spoilt the end of the holiday. If you book this site, please do NOT book directly with Chadotel!!!

Room Tip: Learn French before you travel - it wont help you book a decent room but it may help you when the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall this site suited us well. Travel in a camper van and don't tend to drive it out once settled so was good everything was nearby.
Site was clean, sanitary was good. Our pitch was big. Swimming pool is small for the amount of guest and i honestly don't think it was heated. my daughter loved the slides though. I think the water was a little dirty.
Jard was a nice little town, if you are looking for night life life then not so good but great for families.
Beach is rocky, but really easy to cycle to other beaches, which we did with our 7 year old, on cycle path no problems.
Take away was expensive. We were quite close to entertainment at night but it was not loud like in other reviews. Quite surprised by negative reviews, as it was cheaper than many other campsites in area and overall was pretty good.
Main gripe no loo paper in loos, but our block was always clean.
Highly recommend for campervanners!!! super u walk able as well

Room Tip: Pitches on the corners are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigandcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in L'oceano D'or for three weeks in July with three children aged between 4 and 7. Can't really fault the site on anything. Location is fab with short walk to village and 20 min walk to port and beaches. The pools on site are fantastic and our kids had a ball on the slides. The entertainment for the kids was brilliant with nightly disco and daily club. If I was to be really picky the broadband was annoying as wasn't great coverage and although there is a takeaway on site it would be nice to have a small restaurant. all in all we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. There was some lovely views,the caravans were lovely and clean and there were plenty of facilities plus lots of entertainment for everyone. It is very close to some nice towns like La Tranche,La Sable,Talmont Saint Hilaire and Saint Jean De Mon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have never been to the Vendee region before, having always holidayed in Brittany on various campsites. Found the Vendee to be a nice area especially Jard Sur Mer and Les Sables D'Olonne, places were busy due to it being August holidays but loved the many beaches that were available near to the campsite (within ten minutes drive). Our two young boys loved Plage Les Conches, mainly due to the fact they could make use of the bodyboards we brought for them! The temperature is definitely hotter than Brittany as well, we couldn’t believe the difference from previous weather we have had in Brittany.
We were lucky to get a great pitch on L’Oceano towards the rear of the campsite. Meant walking further to get to the bar and swimming pool but must have helped with the noise as we didn’t find it too noisy. The size and seclusion of the pitch was also a bonus for us and the boys for playing as we didn’t feel like they would be annoying the neighbours! I would definitely recommend decking if its available as well, like having an extra room and great for sitting out in the evening time. The other great thing was the friends the boys made-after the second day we hardly saw them, except when they were hungry! I think if we had just gone to the beach and spent time on the campsite they would have been more than happy!!
Also recommend Puy du Fou-excellent day out, I was a bit hesitant at first due to the price of tickets but having been would definite recommend for a (full!) day out.
All in all a good holiday and will be looking to return next summer, fingers crossed the weather is as good.

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch towards the rear of the campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in a Keycamp supertent and initially, were very pleased with our location. Despite being right next to the toilets, we had very little noise and it made life easier with our children. However, reality set in the next evening and our sleep was constantly disturbed with people using the toilets/showers and the club house. The noise really is as loud as the other reviewers have stated and the site manager really needs to address this problem. There also seemed to be alot of teenagers hanging around the site who I am sure were not holidaymakers.

Our three children really enjoyed the pool area although you did have to arrive early if you wanted a sun bed. I did feel that the pool should have been manned by more than one lifeguard as the slides seemed to be a free for all with an accident waiting to happen.

The walk to the beach takes a good 20 minutes at a fast pace and there are a couple of good restaurants. I would point out that it's not a direct route and you need to keep your bearings after a couple of glasses of wine.

Room Tip: Choose a pitch AWAY from the club house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jard-sur-Mer
3.2 mi away
Camping Le Petit Rocher
Camping Le Petit Rocher
#2 of 12 in Longeville-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
8.3 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#3 of 6 in Chateau-d'Olonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
18.1 mi away
Camping L'Ocean
Camping L'Ocean
#1 of 5 in Brem Sur Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#1 of 2 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Jard Camping Caravaning
Le Jard Camping Caravaning
#7 of 18 in La Tranche sur Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Bois Flottes
Les Bois Flottes
#1 of 4 in Saint-Vincent-sur-Jard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping L'Oceano d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping L'Oceano d'Or

Property: Camping L'Oceano d'Or
Address: 84 rue Georges Clemenceau, 85520 Jard-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Jard-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Jard-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Camping l`Oceano d`Or Hotel Jard-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing