We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Holiday”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a fantastic week's holiday at Les Limornieres. Alex and Nicole were so helpful and informative, there when we needed them but not intrusive. I was ill one of the days and Nicole very kindly dropped in some soda, which was a massive help and I very much appreciated the kindness. The garden was a perfect size for our 1 year old and there were nice little villages nearby, as well as some amazing chateaux.
We'd highly recommend this holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I spent five days at Les Limornieres and it was just delightful. After three weeks of travelling this was the perfect end to our holiday - so relaxing we unwound and nearly stopped!
Alex and Nicole were perfect hosts and a fount of local knowledge. The cottage, setting and location were delightful - particularly when you follow Nicole's directions!
Lindy

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 story Noix cottage. Beautiful but if you have trouble with stairs could be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Les Limornieres for 5 days of glorious autumn sunshine. Nicole and Alex were the most charming and welcoming hosts, with a wealth of information about the surrounding area. We were delighted to be able to pick fresh fruit, tomatoes, herbs etc from their extensive gardens, and to borrow bicycles. The cottages are absolutely gorgeous, rustic, furnished with taste and most comfortable. Strongly recommended. Will be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishie x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for a week in Chene, with our 10 months baby daughter. Everything was perfect, as stated by many previous reviewers. For us, as lovers of French gastronomy, it was great to be able to pick up great local "goodies" from daily markets (Loches recommended), as well as from a store in Descartes where a number of local producers gather and sell their things - highly recommended for fresh delicious fruits and vegetables (real ones! not plastic-type ones found in supermarkets)
However, just one warning: beware of the narrow and steep stairs up to the bedroom, when you have to carry a baby in the evening after having too much of the local fabulous wine :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad_13pf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for a week at Les Limornieres in Chene Cottage with our 6 month old daughter in June. Everything was perfectly set up for our stay with plenty of kit for the wee one. There was plenty of comfortable space both in and outside the cottage which allowed for very relaxing evenings enjoying plenty of Nicoles lovely cooking and the house rose wine. There are some very nice walks from the cottage (loads of local info provided) and was great to borrow bikes for a morning jaunt into the village to justify the delicious pains aux chocolat.

We have to say Alex and Nicole went the extra (several!!) miles for us which was way and above over what we could have hoped for and are still incredibly grateful for their help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent five nights in the Noix cottage in July -- our third stay at Les Limornieres -- and it was enchanting as always. Our 5-year-old, who is growing up in a New York City apartment, loves being able to help feed the chickens, the rabbit and the fish and run around the lovely gardens. But it's the thoughtful touch of toys and books for someone just her age laid out in her sweetly decorated room that keeps her talking about Les Lemornieres all year. Alex and Nicole are the perfect, thoughtful hosts.

The lovely cottages (we have stayed in two and peeked into the third) are nicely functional, very clean and built around a lovely grassy courtyard. Every cottage has a nice outdoor dining space nearby. Some days, thanks to good weather, we had all three meals -- heavy on local produce -- outdoors. In fact, we had such fun cooking that I even made bread -- something I've continued doing since we got home.

Many of the "big name" Loire chateaux are within about an hour's gorgeous drive, including Chenonceau, Chinon, Usse and Azay-le-Rideau. But there are enough smaller chateaux, lovely villages, historic sites, and other interesting attractions within 20 minutes' drive (places that few Americans have every heard of) to keep you busy if you want to be dedicated tourists and still not leave the immediate area. We took a different route back to Paris this year and wished we had another week to see the towns we passed through that looked interesting.

There are nice markets in all the surrounding towns, and Loches and Descartes have large supermarkets. But you can also just enjoy the peace of Les Limornieres, which is unparalled. One day I walked the 2.5 kilometers to Le Grand Pressigny, past fields of sunflowers, and to pick up some groceries and passed only three vehicles -- a car, a delivery truck and a tractor -- on the way. One night my husband wandered into town and passed not a single vehicle either way!

We're already saving for another trip.

Susan
New York City

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent a week staying in Chene cottage at Les Limornieres and had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. We travelled by public transport from the UK and got around by bikes borrowed from the owners, Nicole and Alex, during the holiday. Although this presented a few challenges e.g. getting to and from the bus stop when we arrived, Nicole and Alex couldn't have been more helpful and never made us feel that we were asking too much. It was also great to have lots of email contact and advice before we arrived. We managed to get around dozens of villages in the area during the week and visited several chateau, as well as having a day in Loches by taking the bus. The cottage itself is very well equipped and comfortable, great to have British TV channels although we managed to resist using the wifi to check emails! It is in such a quiet rural location with nothing but farms and tiny villages for miles around and the garden is great for sitting and eating dinner in. We had a meal out at La Promenade in nearby Petit Pressigny which was very special and highly recommended. A few bits of advice if you are thinking about coming without a car - many of the villages have no ameneties at all and even in the larger ones, shops and bakeries may only be open for a few hours per day so make sure you stock up on bread, cheese etc rather than relying on somewhere being open to buy lunch! Also the main 'D' roads can be surprisingly busy between the towns so spend some time studying the maps and try to use the back roads if possible for a more enjoyable cycling experience. Finally, we went from 11-18 August and the sunflowers were just about dead so if you really want to see them I would go 1-2 weeks earlier than this.

Overall a great experience and we would without doubt recommend Les Limornieres for a French countryside holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grand-Pressigny
9.4 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
#1 of 1 in La Celle-Guenand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Savoie Villars
Le Savoie Villars
#1 of 1 in Le Grand-Pressigny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Property: Les Limornieres
Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing