We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing home base to explore Loire”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at Limornieres was a wonderful end to our France vacation. Chezania was perfect for our family of three. Our accomodations were very comfortable and the thick stone walls of our cottage kept us cool in spite of the summer heat. We enjoyed preparing meals with ingredients from local markets and eating outside. Very nice. The Crawfords were wonderful hosts and provided a wealth of information that helped us plan our days. The delightful Crawford girls were the highlight of our daughter's visit who also enjoyed the trampoline, chickens, and bunny. Next time we would like to stay longer so we could spend more time enjoying the night stars, the sounds of owls, and fields of sunflowers and corn. Limornieres is a restful place to return to after a busy day! Great visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandeeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a perfect family holiday we've just had at Les Limornieres, Nicole, Alex & the girls were very welcoming from the start and made you feel at home & relaxed from the moment we arrived. It was our first family holiday abroad with our two & half year old daughter and you couldn't have had a better holiday destination that had everything you needed on site. The accommodation was first class and very well presented, everything was there you need, even games & puzzles for the little one if needed. The children's play area is great with plenty for our daughter to tire herself out on plus it's away from the Gites so there's still a quiet area for the dads to rest in!
If you wanted to venture out there are many places to visit or family destinations that are within a 30 mile radius. We recommend you visit the Beauval Zoo Parc, our daughter loved it and you'll need a full day to see it all.
We're going back in 2013 for sure as there's plenty more local attractions to see plus it's just a fantastic place to relax & un wind!
Barry, Jen & Megan, Maidstone Kent UK

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a very enjoyable week's stay at Limornieres with our 2 children, aged 8 & 6. The gites had everything we needed for our stay, including a wardrobe full of toys (which are always more fun than your own), DVDs and books for entertainment during the occasional shower. The beautiful garden made our holiday. There was a trampoline, swings, slide, football goal-posts, chickens and a rabbit plus plenty of room for imaginative play. The children were so content playing with the other families we didn't venture far very often. However there are plenty of places of interest nearby including a pre-historic museum in the village and many chateaux further afield to explore. The welcome snack of baguette, cheese, caraffe of rose and fresh salad from the garden was much appreciated after a long journey.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we have returned from staying at les limornieres is a beautiful, quiet place with amazing places to play and a mini fish pond plus farm Alex and Nicole were very polite hosts and their daughters were exactly the same.

Room Tip: every room has its own qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elijah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've just returned from a lovely week staying in the Chene cottage at Les Limornieres which is a beautiful and characterful stone building perfect for a couple plus baby (ours is 9 months). Alex and Nicole were excellent hosts - available when you need them but not intrusive - and Nicole's cooking is superb! They have worked really hard to make the site beautiful - the gardens in which the accommodation is set are lovely with herbs and salad etc for you to enjoy and there is everything on hand to make a stay for a little person special - swings, paddling pool, slide, trampoline, plenty of toys and games and a lot to do for older kids and adults too. The setting is very rural but only a 15 minute cycle or 5 minute car trip into the little town of Le Grand Pressigny with bakery and some shops etc. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area if you want to get out and about but it's a great spot just to relax and do very little if not as we found! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable week here in glorious isolation. The cottages are located a few km from the nearest village, are beautifully done out and are perfect for families with young kids, so many toys, books etc around the place.

The cottage gardens are beautiful, the hosts' expertise in this area is evident, again loads for the kids such as the trampoline our girls were somewhat obsessed with, swings, slide etc. bikes freely available to get to the bakery each morning.

Initially I was concerned the local village was not really walkable and too small. However my view changed as the week went on; it was nice to be far from activity and really relax; the local village really grew on me as what initially appeared an overly conservative attitude from the residents gave way to friendliness and quirkiness with some real characters knocking about. The facilities are all you really need as well with a great butcher, fine bakery and, er, a Spar. Plus a couple of "interesting" bars! The Michelin star restaurant is well deserving of it as well and good value, plus the sommelier is a top bloke an sold me half a case of very decent (but cheap) wine on the side to boot!

The hosts Alex and Nicole (and daughters) are really lovely and strike the perfect balance between friendly & chatty but also leaving you in peace to enjoy your break.

All in all a lovely spot and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siharris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been to Les Limornières twice now and have loved it each time. We have stayed in both the Chêne and Noix cottages which are both very well thought-out, comfortable and absolutely perfect for children.
The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to add special details to the cottages and it is a place to go for parents who just want a break and to travel without having to pack everything for the children, basically all you need is their clothes and nappies! They also do their best to carry out any special requests, such as putting a matress on the floor for a toddler. Such fantastic, lovely hosts! The grounds around the cottages are wonderful too for children with the pedal tractor, swings and trampoline. The hens and rabbit are also a big success!
There is plenty to do in the area and the number of toys in the cottages and outdoors mean that parents can also have rest days while the children are occupied!

Les Limornières is definitely worth a visit for an easy, happy holiday! We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing