We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favourite holiday home in France”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Grand-Pressigny, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Our favourite holiday home in France”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We return to Les Balcons regularly it is the prefect home from home. The house is very comfortable and has everything you could possibly need (if can't find something you only need to ask Jim and Pauline and they will provide it for you). The village is just typically french and has an amazing boulangerie, some great restaurants, shop and even a public outdoor pool. You don't have to go travel anywhere it is all on your doorstep, however you would miss out on some amazing little villages, chateaux, vineyards, natural lakes that a great for exploring or swimming all within an easy drive. This is a house we will continue to return to and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to experience French village life whilst staying in a very comfortable home with amazing hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2017
Thank you for kind comments. It is always good to know our efforts are appreciated, if efforts, is the correct word as we enjoy making sure our guests are comfortable, and of course, it goes without saying that we are always happy to welcome returning guests.
Kind Regards Pauline & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragger19
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Loire Valley Gite”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Les Balcons in the Loire region is the best gite we have stayed in (and we've stayed in quite a few!) It is perfect in many ways, the village location being one of them. Le Grand Pressigny has two bars, small shops, boulangerie, restaurants, chemist, hairdresser, doctors, children's play area, post office and a lot more including Chateau and museum. Everything is within walking distance.
The gite itself had everything you want. There are three big bedrooms, two bathrooms, complete kitchen, wifi, freesat tv, washing machine/drier, plenty of comfortable seating (not always found in previous rentals!!) and lovely outside garden and seating areas. Although we went in late October we still made use of the outdoor balcony and it;'s views in the evening after a long day sightseeing. If you do need anything, the hosts Jim and Pauline are easily contactable and gave us excellent information prior and during our stay. Thanks for the daily email tips!.
We can recommend the local bar "Chez L" (Lisa speaks good English if you are struggling with French!) in the village centre. We went for drinks during the day and evenings and always had a friendly welcome. Their takeaway pizzas are delicious too!.
We didn't eat at any of the restaurant in Le Grand Pressigny but can highly recommend a restaurant called "Le Saint Mande". It's located ten minutes drive away in the village Ferriere-Larcon. It is an excellent, inexpensive, one-man band establishment serving four course meals with a buffet starter, choice of three mains, cheese, then dessert. We were so disappointed that we only found it on our last evening otherwise we would eaten there everyday!!! Park in the church car park and walk ten metres down the road and it's on your left.
The majority of the Loire Chateaux and tourist sites are in easy driving distance from the gite - we recommend Chenonceau and Chambord but to be honest they are all worth a visit.
We don't usually go back to the same places in France but the fact that we would definitely go back to Les Balcons (and are planning already) says it all really.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2017
Hi Emma thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Les Balcons. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Regards Pauline & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True French Experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great holiday staying at Les Balcons in Le Grand Pressigny. The house had everything we needed and more. It was beautifully clean and comfortable and the friendly owners offered lots of advice on places to visit. We particularly loved spending evenings on the balcony drinking wine and watching the sunset. We enjoyed cycling locally, discovering little villages and an abundance of chateaux. The troglodyte village nearby was very interesting. The local shops stocked good quality food including fresh baguettes and delicious gateau from the bakery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the village.
We enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M
1 review
“Lovely and Welcoming”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family and I had a lovely stay at Les Balcons. The house has fantastic amenities and Jim & Pauline were so welcoming --they also gave us some great suggestions for places to eat and visit in the Loire Valley. The people in the town of Le Grand Pressigny were also very friendly. We highly recommend Les Balcons as a place to stay and relax and as a base for trips throughout the Loire Valley.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you for your comments about the house and our hospitality. We are glad you enjoyed the village and the surrounding area. It is always a pleasure for us to meet people from different parts of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlyl...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was the fourth time we have stayed in Le Grand Pressigny......”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

.....and Les Balcon's was head and shoulders above the standard of other cottages we rented.
It is very well equiped,spacious,has a beautiful secluded garden,and is owned by two very helpful people,who do not intrude in any way.
It is ideally placed as a base to exlore that part of the Loire valley.....Chinon,Loches,
and Saumur are within easy reach,and the area abounds in fine dining!...and then
there are the vineyards...!
It all makes for a really good holiday.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the house and its location. It is always a pleasure for us to meet new people. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect country getaway”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fab area to explore. Really lovely house and outside space with everything you need for a great holiday. Loved the balcony on an evening. Such friendly helpful hosts Jim & Pauline.
Beautiful places to visit nearby but equally a very relaxing property to spend time chilling out in the garden
Very much hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thank you, Catherine, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we would be happy to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binsters1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home.”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Les Balcons is by far the best rental property we have stayed in.
The owners are so helpful and if you have any questions they are only to happy to answer them.
We have now stayed there on two occasions and by far this has been the best holiday we have had.
The property is spotless with everything you can hope for.
The balcony which looks out over The Loire Valley is so special and we loved sitting there as the sun settled on the evenings.
Les Balcons has that real home feeling and after the many day trips around the region it was nice to return to the house to chill.
With lots to do and amazing places to visits it is a great base in this region.
The village itself at Le Grand Pressingy has all you need t
Bakers, Butchers, Shop and Local Bars.
So if you are thinking about a holiday in Le Loire then LES BALCONS is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to renew our acquaintance with returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing