We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Folie Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inthira Hotel(Champasak Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Resort(Champasak Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
196
96
41
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
96
41
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla foliemekong riverexplore the islandwooden bungalowsswimming poolthree nightshotel boatbeautiful placesandy beachwater buffalovat phouspent nightsgreat poolfree of chargeboat ridethe managersstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 347 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

well certainly is a very nice place. like a country club. splendid sunset view.
on arrivel we wished to change our standard room to river front view. the difference was
huge.
in the room no privacy, as you can actually hear people next door. the couple beside us stayed for three nights and in the morning we were excusing each other for making noice.
but there is nothing to do really, the bathroom door make terrible noice, the water tub...
stuff lovely.

Room Tip: the only possibility really is to have the whole house,no people next door
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lovely location, just under an hour from Pakse (don't bother staying in Pakse, it's a ghost town without anything going for it). Once at the pier, (and arranged in advance with the hotel), one of the hotel boat picked us up. Hotel restaurant/ chill out area/ reception is nice. Rooms and bathrooms are cute and very clean, which is the main thing. Swimming pool area is nice as well, although could benefit from a little 'screen' (plants?) on the path side to make it a bit more private. Having a pool is a must when the heat goes up (and it does!).
You can also rent bikes (free) to go around the island, which are typical rice paddies and a few tiny villages, lots of kids shouting 'sabadees' to you with a large smile.
Now, no shops. No restaurants, no rice or noodle places to eat from. Therefore you have to eat and drink at the hotel.
Did manage to find a 'shop' (turn right when leaving the hotel and bike it in 5/10mn - can't miss it) to get a couple of beers at 10k a pop. Big Lao beers at the hotel are a rip off at $4, ie 4 times the price.
Food: ok. Fresh and fried spring rolls were to die for. Try the sample Don Deng platter. But generally, it is very expensive and the list is small so after 2/3 days, it can get boring. Breakfast was ok too: you choose 4 (!) options out of 8 or so. But there is a caveat. If something is not available, you just don't get it (stated one the menu), but the staff doesn't tell you that, so you end up with ordering an English breakfast with a missing sausage (re-(!)) and a 1inch rasher of bacon. :) Replacing the missing item with something else would be nice (extra bacon inch?!).
We also made the mistake to order a bottle of red wine (after 2 months in SEA, this is allowed). It was well past its best but when we saw the face of the manager while saying that, we just couldn't insist, just fell sorry for him... With hindsight and $40, shd have sent it back, really.
Room: as a previous comment pointed out : it is impossible to ignore what people in the room next door do. I pass on the details....

The main saviour for this little hotel, apart from the location was the staff. From Alom, the manager who couldn't help enough, to the girls at the restaurant with the biggest smiles and giggles. It was just lovely.

Still think a few issues need to be addressed as this is not a cheap place to stay. First one being insulating the rooms, as it did get embarrassing at some point....

Room Tip: Try to see if there s a room where the next door room is empty to avoid the embarrassing noises coming from next door.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it a lot. The bungalows are nice, the staff too, breakfast, the view, the bicycles, Vat Phou, the pool.... and not to forget the people living on this island. We had the feeling that almost everyone was greeting us when we were passing by on the bike. Three nights we would recommend, so to have one day for relaxing at the pool and having time for a walk or bike-ride on the island, and the other day to go to Vat Phou. Less would be a shame as there are not many places lie this with such a beautiful scenery and amazing sunset! PS: The bungalows are made of wood and look like a semidetached house, means you hear everything from next door. Just would likek to add this for the honeymooners...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

First up I wished we had got here earlier than we did, as it would have been great to be able to spend some time looking around, especially since the guide was picking us up early the next morning!
The experience was lovely. From the boat ride across the Mekong River, the unique tractor ride up to the lodge and the welcome (& drink) from the staff & Axel the manager. We were quickly checked in and taken to our room. The rooms might seem basic to some, but we thought it was great. Everything you would need on a relaxing holiday, and no I don’t want a tv in the room or worried about that there is no Wi-Fi in the room. (But there is Wi-Fi in the dining area) We are there to enjoy the lodge and its surroundings. We had additional bedding for our teenage daughter in the room and the room was still comfortable. The rooms have a balcony, great to sit on and watch the sun set over the Mekong River, or watch hubby go to the water’s edge to have a dip in the Mekong! There is air-con in the rooms, not that we needed it on. Dinner at the restaurant; the setting is lovely, staff beautiful and the food brilliant. Great cocktails! Breakfast is included in our package and again the food was great. We got up early and went for a walk before breakfast, seeing the locals going about their morning and a chat to Axel was a great way to start the day.
I paid cash and had no issues with our check out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axelwolkenhauer, General Manager at La Folie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your positive and balanced review, which all of us at La Folie Lodge have highly appreciated. It is good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at La Folie so much. You seem to have had a connection to the wonderful things La Folie, this island and Laos has to offer. Customer satisfaction is at the center of all our efforts, with a smile, humor and quality of service, all of us try and make every ones stay a memorable one.
Thank you once more, I do hope you will find an occasion to visit La Folie and Laos again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

But... There is the rest. Were there on New Years Eve : fine prix fixed dinner (without the drinks included) but nothing exceptional ; wifi not working ; loooooonnnng check in procedure ; no hot water in the bathrooms ; bedrooms described as luxury , are in fact simple wooden rooms without many facilities, such as a fridge ; be careful about the noise. We don't ignore anything about the life of possible neighbors.

Finally, big problem when we checked out : impossible to go through with the credit card, and we used the three different our party had. Taking into account the amount of the bill (indeed the restaurant is one of the most expensive of Laos, if not the most), it was impossible to pay by cash. We lost 45 minutes thee with the staff suddenly suspicious and asking inappropriate questions about addresses, phone numbers, and so on.... When the responsibility was clearly on their side and in spite of the fact they are charging you an extra 3% if you pay with your ViSa.

When the manager finally showed up, we were given the only excuse that "this is Laos ! " which I found inappropriate considering the pricing policy of the Hotel which is definitely not " local" .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarysbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axelwolkenhauer, General Manager at La Folie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your”constructive” and enthusiastic comments about your one night stay at La Folie Lodge.
Looking at your previous revues on Tripadvisor you don’t seem to be very happy and pricing at most of the places you stayed in Vietnam and Myanmar.
Our wifi works on the G3 network and judging by the time the female members of you family spend on the internet in the lounge and restaurant it was working fine. We had no complaints from any of the other guests staying with us at the time.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the check-out problem with VISA card. This breakdown affected only VISA and not MASTER cards in the entire country on the morning of the 1st of January, by the evening the service was back to normal. I can assure you our staff was in no way suspicious, they were just following procedures for manual payments with credit cards, as you did not have sufficient cash, demanded by our bank. Please understand that for this they tried to obtain a code from the central bank in Vientiane by phone but as the entire country trying to do the same simultaneously, this took time.
I also apologize for my comment “Welcome to Laos” it was meant in a humors fashion the usual way we normally handle problems when they come up on a daily basis in Laos, I’m sorry if my attempt failed and offended you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews