We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
18
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnomadic familythree dayscan't wait to go backhorse ridinglibraryyakmeatenvironmentlandscaperiverluxuryarcherycountrycampgersstoveshower
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 22 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Really. This was unforgettable. If only it had lasted longer than two nights. The trip from Ulan Bator is long and bumpy but then you find yourself in the most beautiful river valley. Not wilderness exactly for there are people around, but not many. The gers are set up in a crescent on a large flowery meadow that turns into forest or grassy slopes on the surrounding hills. Everything seems to be shades of living green and blue sky. It's almost to lovely for words.
The gers are lovely too, and quite comfortable (except for the beds that are somewhat hard). Bathroom facilites are necessarily somewhat basic, but perfectly adequate with gravity fed basins in the gers and communal outhouses.
There is no shortage of things to do and places to go. The food in the main ger was good and plentiful. Service likewise. Bring warm clothes and a rain jacket. The weather can change fast. But the sun is soon back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Lovely gers in this small wilderness camp. Lighting and lockable box, outside chairs, cushions etc. Little wash basin.

Library ger with games equipment (archery etc), books and telescope.

Flies can be a problem so there are some netted seating areas to enjoy beers, although these are expensive here (the most expensive we came across, almost double other places).

Good / interesting shower gers.

Food fairly good although some meat was found in 'veggie' soup one evening.

Good location for riding.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzamuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Jalman Meadows for three days and wished we had arranged a longer stay. It is very remote and tranquil, all quiet, such beautiful nature, amazing views. We hiked up mountains and on flatlands, rode horses with local nomads for half a day. We also got to visit a local nomadic family in their home with the help from one of the staff who translated, and were able to ask questions about their daily life - so interesting! The gers are cozy, beds very comfortable and we slept like babies. Good food, and also available for vegetarians. Friendly staff.This was the very highight of our trip, we just loved Jalman Meadows.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Marit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I travel alot, and I have to say that this was one of the most memorable holidays of my whole life! Jalman Meadows is a remote camp, about 3.5 hours from UB. There is not a whole lot to do. No internet ... no phone service. However ... there is wonderful nature ... beautiful gers to sleep in ... and remarkably good food. I went on a half day horse ride ... a river rafting trip ... and a hike up a mountain ... during my 3 days at the camp. However, what I appreciated most was the ability to sleep properly for the first time in ages ... to read books ... and just to relax without the pressures of my very busy life. I will never forget my three days at Jalman ... and can't wait to go back. If you are lucky enough to visit Mongolia, then please go to this place. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Action_Man_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Firstly, any visitor to Mongolia needs to realize that the country has its own rhythms and habits. While this camp is by far the best one I've ever been to (and I've been to quite a few), don't expect everyone to speak fluent English - which means you'll always get less detail than you really want - if someone is uncomfortable, they'll likely just stay silent, don't expect a precise schedule (you're on vacation, who cares about the schedule?!) and don't expect that you're in a 5-star hotel in Hong Kong/New York/Paris/London.

This camp is totally secluded - which is amazing if you're looking for no cell service or power points (though they have power points in the library). The scenery is stunning, the gers are outfitted beautifully - having things like a sink (which actually has water), curtains, comfy outdoor chairs and proper duvets/pillows is the height of ger camping luxury. The food is quite good and they are very accommodating of vegetarians (if you tell them in advance). The staff were helpful and willing to organize things like a bonfire for us - but there was no set time, it just happened at some point. They were around if you needed them (though you might have to go looking for them, thankfully they don't hover) and were lovely when you interacted with them. Having hot showers in a hot ger (individual gers) was something I've never seen before and it was amazing - way way way better than the freezing cold bathhouse style showers I've seen elsewhere.

All in all - absolutely amazing. But if this is your first visit to Mongolia, visit a ger camp closer to the city first so you get the hang of it before going this far out.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews