We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, and saved my husband's life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorkhi Terelj National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuul Riverside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, and saved my husband's life”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a wonderful ger camp. It was gorgeous and they attended to our every need. We're vegetarians, which can be difficult in Mongolia. No problem. The food was lavish, wonderful. It was September and the trees were golden. I've never been to a more beautiful spot. We'd brought bikes from Ulaanbaatar, but the mountain bikes at the Lodge were solid and would have worked well.

When my husband needed to go to the hospital, I was so grateful we'd booked here. They mobilized jeeps, SUVs and the company doctor. They sent one of the ladies from the kitchen so that the doctors could know what he'd eaten. The hospitality director stayed with us in the emergency room and took us to a hotel when we got out. Our rented bikes were stored in the company garage until I could deal with them. They provided continuing support until we left Mongolia. It was extraordinary. We'd only booked one night at the Lodge, and they treated us like family.

It's lovely to go to the back of beyond, a great privilege. Usually everything goes off without a hitch, in which case Tuul Riverside Lodge is the place. So lovely and so much to do. In a place somewhat lacking in infrastructure, though, it's nice to know you're staying with people who can get you through. This is definitely the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a few days there after being in UB for a day or so. The gers are beautifully furnished and comfortable, the service brilliant and the staff so helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and we never had the same thing twice. The surrounding area was amazing for hiking, riding, biking and all kinds of outdoor activities. The off roading truck journey into the camp is great fun and a welcome relief after sitting in the traffic of UB. Its a peaceful and refreshing place to be which is fab for travellers needing a couple of nights of comfort, families and couples. The camp manager, Inghyer was particularly friendly and Suzan at the office was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerensa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Faith can be rewarded.

I had read the reviews of TRL and contacted Suzan by email requesting accommodation in August. She responded quickly advising that space was available and provided a list of options that we may like to participate in. Having chosen I was then presented with an invoice and an account to credit. I have to say that it takes a leap of faith to transfer money to someone with whom the only contact has been by email. However it was done and we arrived in UB, stopped at the Sunjin grand and on the appointed day checked out and waited for the transport to turn up.

Bang on 1100, the agreed collection time, a minibus arrived and we were taken to the Hotel Mongolia where we stopped for 20 minutes awaiting the arrival of the 'bigger vehicle'. We took time out to stretch legs and generally mess about whilst we waited. Everything was quiet in the car park..... And then the Unimog rocked up.

Now I have bashed round the world and know and love Landcruisers and Defenders however when things get serious, a Unimog is what some might consider as a bit of a Carlsberg moment.

The ladder (yes they are that high) was attached and we all climbed into the back and off we shot. Initially a Unimog seemed a bit of overkill, however as we left UB and the terrain changed it became the logical choice as the roads faded away and rutted tracks became the norm.

To get to the camp (location 47 53 07.45N 107 14 13.87E) we had to cross the Tuul river and it was funny watching the wife and kids experience this. After the river crossing we did a couple more streams before heading off into the hills to get to the camp. The driver was excellent and the Unimog didn't falter.

Having arrived at the camp we were met by the camp manager ENKHEE (Enkh-Yeah) who was able to answer any questions we had and showed us to our Ger. Our Ger was semi-deluxe and had a queen sized bed along with a separate double which was idea for the kids. The beds had mosquito nets fitted above them. In the centre of the Ger was a very efficient wood burning stove that was lit in the evening and in the morning by one of the camp staff - it proved to be a very efficient space heater. The Ger had a bathroom unit fitted to the side in which there was a nice warm water shower, sink, and toilet.

Meals were eaten in a communal Ger and the food was well prepared, good quality and sufficient quantity for the number of guests staying at the time.

For our time there I had booked archery and fishing and planned to take time out hill walking with the wife and kids, however horse riding and evening fires were arranged through Enkhee at short notice. No request seemed to be too much for him.

The night before we left the heavens opened and it rained solidly. When we left at 1100 the small streams we had crossed on the way to the camp had become rivers and the river was swollen and more of a challenge, however the driver was competent and the Unimog did what it needed to.

We stopped once again at the Hotel Mongolia and transferred to the minibus however, before being dropped off at our hotel, I made a point of going to meet Suzan to thank her for such a wonderful experience.

On the whole a great family experience and one that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdMiZaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan S, General Manager at Tuul Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Adam,
Thank you so much for your positive review. Reading it makes me smile: your review is not only a pleasure to read, but also a vivid account of traveling to the lodge, which is valuable to all readers.
To immerse your two children in different cultures is of great benefit to them and to their future environment, were ever that may be.
Seeing you at the office after your visit to the lodge filled me with joy, I remember it well.
We look forward to welcoming you to the lodge again some time.
I trust and hope that you and your family are well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tuul lodge is a step up from the average Mongolian ger camp. Its best features are the newer Ikea brand bedding and the private bathroom attached to the tent.

However, don't expect a hotel quality stay. It's still a semi-camping environment. Travel is through rugged terrain which could be somewhat dangerous in rain. There are some issues with their solar panels which resulted in our tent not having power at all for its single light bulb.

Hours for hot water and electricity is limited to the few hours they run the generator. Water flow may suddenly stop due to water supply being interrupted. There's a slight gap between the tent and the bathroom which will leak during rain. Be careful when walking outside the tents at night because there's no lighting; there were fresh manure on the ground during my stay.

Service is above average for a Mongolian ger. You would have to trek to the restaurant/kitchen tent to get staff's attention.

My best experience there was the horseback ride through the hills.

Room Tip: Schedule your stay during good weather; consider alternate plans if rain is in the forecast. Ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan S, Managing Director at Tuul Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest

I wonder how to put this but: I run a ger camp in the middle of no-where, not a city hotel; I never promote the Lodge as a “hotel”. The Lodge is listed wrongly with Trip Adviser, which is regrettable. We tried to get that changed, without any success - we will try again, promised!

Thanks also for noting that we are "one step ahead/above average" regarding our service, facility and our feather duvets and bed clothing, (which we import to Mongolia to increase your well-being and happiness). I'm also happy that you enjoyed your horse ride with us!

Your kindness in promoting the good qualities of Tuul Riverside Lodge in your review was very much appreciated. However, your advice to travel/visit only on sunny days is funny - luckily, Mongolia has more than 260 sunny days per year to offer!

Should you ever have an opportunity to stay with us again, we will, as always, strive to ensure your comfortable visit. May you enjoy the blessings of good food, new friends, peace, an umbrella for rain, and the comfort of a warm fire wherever your travels may lead in your future.

Sincerely,
Suzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My 7 year old and I had a mother and daughter trip to Mongolia (me for work and her for experience). I decided to take her to stay in a Mongolian ger to experience life outside of a hotel room and city. Tuul Riverside Lodge is the perfect balance between modern (hot water, amazing meals) and rugged outdoors (beautiful scenery, quiet solitude of the outdoors and of course the obligatory bugs (which totally freaked out the city kid)). From the camp manager (Enkh) to the horseman (Bataa) to the wonderful people who worked behind the scenes to make the stay a comfortable one - it was an amazing and wonderful experience. TRL is only a short drive away (the drive itself is amazing with offroad experience that my kid loved!) from the hustle and pollution of UB but once you're there...you can imagine life as a Mongolian nomad. We also visited the horseman's family and they absolutely made you feel welcome. Highly recommended but bring the bug spray!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanCollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan S, General Manager at Tuul Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Joan,
Thank you so much for your critique on tripadvisor!
It is a delight to know that your daughter’s and your experience in Mongolia is a memorable one, thank you also for uploading pictures of your visit! Critiques like yours are encouraging and helpful; we now have a supply of bug spray at the lodge.
We trust that the two of you are well, and hope that we might welcome you again in Mongolia some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tuul Riverside Lodge is Mongolia's best ger experience, offering a peaceful escape for city-dwellers in UB, Beijing, Hong Kong, etc, as well as a rugged outdoors experience for those seeking it.

The gers themselves are the best in Mongolia - we stayed in a deluxe family ger which featured red timber floors and three beds: one king, one twin, and one for a small child. Each featured an extremely comfortable mattress and duvet as well as a mosquito net, and there were two huge wrought iron candelabras on either side of the wood-burning stove that provided light in the evening. The stoves themselves are all custom made and the furniture in each ger is typical, traditional Mongolian.

While the bathrooms are very basic, this is the only ger camp I've been to (of about a dozen) to feature individual bathrooms with toilets and showers.

Now, the meals. This is some of the best food I have had in Mongolia. Ribs, lamb, chicken, meatballs, fresh vegetables, and delicious soups - you will forget you are staying in a camp in the wilderness. Meals are served in a communal ger and provide an excellent opportunity to meet your fellow travelers, many of whom are gathered from all over Asia and the world.

Friendly, reliable, and - most importantly - responsive service are frequent complaints among visitors to Mongolia. Suzan and her team are not just pros - they offer a sincere friendliness and warmth that is second to none. We had a small child traveling with us, and Suzan and her colleagues were quick to offer to babysit should the parents want to explore the countryside. On cooler days, staff frequently offer to start and rekindle wood fires for the stoves.

On a clear night, gaze up at literally thousands of stars on the lounges outside each ger. In the morning, rent a mountain bike, take a hike or ride a horse on the steppes, or paddle a canoe along the Tuul River. The lodge has plenty of activities, including long-bow archery.

Many have remarked on the overnight costs associated with Tuul Riverside Lodge, but all I can say is, you get what you pay for. This is by far the most comfortable ger experience one can have in Mongolia.

This is still a camp on the edge of the wilderness - wedged between a steep cliff and a several spurs of the Tuul River - and there are bound to be occasional inconveniences. But all told, when you consider the comfort of the gers, the quality of the food, the variety of activities and the outstanding staff, this is the camp to visit in Mongolia. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadfromthesteppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan S, General Manager at Tuul Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear William,
Thank you so much for your visit and for your review on trip advisor. It is very encouraging to read not only such a positive but such a detailed review of your stay at the lodge; it is especially valuable to our potential guests to have a critique from someone who is so well traveled in Mongolia and internationally- I am certain that they will appreciate this feedback as much as we do!
We trust that you are well and are looking forward to welcome you back in Mongolia one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tuul Riverside Lodge is just outside Ulan Bator, but it feels light years away. Suzan was wonderful by email setting everything up, and she made the transfer to the Lodge from UB effortless. After an initial drive out of the city we transferred from a nice comfortable SUV to a more rugged vehicle -- and the real escape began.

The climb over a mountain ridge in the big 4-wheel drive vehicle was really dramatic. We eventually found ourselves in the camp surrounded by nothing but blue sky and a rolling green landscape. Then we spent a couple days taking long walks, sitting under a blanket reading with hardly a soul around, and just taking in the solitude. We spent our first morning on a two-hour horse ride, which was very pleasant.

Life at the lodge is pretty laid back, and the staff are just present enough to keep you comfortable in the rustic environment. Meals were wonderfully prepared. And the fires they prepared in our ger in the evening -- and especially first thing in the morning -- were heaven. Thank you to the whole team at Tuul Riverside Lodge for a wonderful Mongolian experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzan S, Managing Director at Tuul Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mark, dear Janet

It is a pleasure to recall the memories of our special guests as each new season approaches. Thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you on four days! Thanks also for your beautifully worded comments, which carry weight as you have been to so many different places, all over the world! What an encouragement - thanks again and we hope to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Suzan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorkhi Terelj National Park
12.6 mi away
Terelj International Resort and Spa Hotel
Terelj International Resort and ...
#1 of 3 in Gorkhi Terelj National Park
90 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
477 reviews
14.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
#13 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
Steppe Nomads Eco Camp
#6 of 100 in Ulaanbaatar
79 reviews
7.2 mi away
My Mongolia Eco Ger Camp
My Mongolia Eco Ger Camp
#15 of 100 in Ulaanbaatar
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuul Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuul Riverside Lodge

Property: Tuul Riverside Lodge
Address: Nomads Building | Khan Uul District, Gorkhi Terelj National Park 17060, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Tov Province > Gorkhi Terelj National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gorkhi Terelj National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuul Riverside Lodge is a small, fully sustainable, traditional Mongolian camp surrounded by a sea of grass and rolling hills, which stretch down to the nearby River Tuul and beyond. Situated within an hour’s drive east of Mongolia’s bustling capital Ulaanbaatar, a warm, and peaceful welcome awaits you. You will stay in beautifully decorated traditional yurts, known locally as gers, with the added advantage of en suite facilities. Gers are constructed from a wooden lattice frame, 88 roof poles, and are covered with layers of felt to insulate against the harsh Mongolian climate. Both strong and reliable, they are perfect places to spend your time in Mongolia. At the Tuul Riverside Lodge there is something for everyone, regardless of age, experience or ability. We offer a wide range of both adventure and cultural activities, allowing you to enjoy and learn about Mongolia to the fullest. Relax around a roaring campfire and marvel as the Milky Way passes overhead. Enjoy the solitude and freedom that is Mongolia, and let your worries fade away. Given the high standards of the lodge, the beauty and tranquility of the area, and its close proximity to the city, make it the perfect place to hold small business meetings, conferences and team building activities. Whatever your needs, the Tuul Riverside Lodge is ready and able to facilitate in any way we can. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuul Riverside Lodge Mongolia/Gorkhi Terelj National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing