We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bath breakfast tray one night new zealand tramp radox track janice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

A great welcome, Host Janice was watching out for us. The self contained cabin is located in the ‘garden’ of her property. Hob, fridge microwave and toaster cafetière and well equipped kitchen. Good size bed. Breakfast tray provided so you can dine at your timetable. Tray included usual cereal choices and bread plus fresh fruit selection and rhubarb compote from homegrown produce, yum! Likewise the homemade biscuits we had for the next day’s picnic! Slept well until it got light...then woken as light came through the bathroom window above the door.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ironingqueen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

By know you will be back home and your holiday to NZ will be just a memory. An extremely nice one I hope.

Thank you both for taking the time to write such a nice review.

So sorry about the light in the Dump. You wont believe this, but we have been staying in a hut in a holiday camp with the light from a street lamp glairing through our window all night. We will definitely be investing in a blind.

Take care
Janice
W.W.D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

The Wicked Wee Dump deserves a visit. Attracted to the place initially because of the humour of the name we were not disappointed. A lovely little studio shed set in the garden, close to the house but still private. Nicely appointed with everything 4 or 5 star travellers would require for a night away from a Hotel room. Home baking, country continental ++ breakfast and even an outside hot bath if you like to bathe under the clear southern sky.
We even stayed an extra night after our day jet boating on lake Hauroko. Nothing was a problem.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank zanite58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2017

Thank you for taking time to write such an amazing review for the Dump. Its so nice to receive such positive feed back . Photos of Lake Hauroko looking like a sheet of glass are very rarely seen , how lucky you were. Once again thank you so much.
Take care

P.Nut and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

We stayed here for just the one night before our Humpridge adventure. We arrived late but Janice was so very welcoming. We had a lovely bath under the stars which was just gorgeous. I cannot rate the breakfast highly enough...freshly stewed apricots, cereals, toast, bread, thick yoghurt...all divine. We packed up the homemade slice Janice had made, and ate it after the steepest climb on the Humpridge, and it was absolutely delicious! Thank you Janice we will recommend your wicked wee dump to everyone we know!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CatherineH3276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

It is recommended not to use names so ill just have to say a very big thank you C&G for writing this awesome review. You know how much we love to have positive feedback, by reading some of the previous reviews. I feel I am saying the same thing back in my response to every review. However at the time Im typing I am separating the people , so to me the response sounds the same, but the meaning is personal. THATS DEEP!!. Hope you get what I mean. From your friends on bikes to your personal email and now B . N. Thank you.
Janice
W.W.D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we started the Humpridge Track (the drive to the trailhead from the Wicked Wee Dump is Approx 20/25 minutes). What a lovely little place! A lot of thought has been put into making this chalet really homely & comfortable, really well decorated. The bed was also absolutely fantastic & so comfortable. Breakfast was included & featured tasty home-cooking. The owners were also very friendly & gave us a very warm welcome. Would stay again & would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

That is such a nice review thank you. Also great to read your positive reviews on the Hump Ridge Track and the Last Light Lodge. Drainage all done lol.
P.Nut and Janice
W.W.D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We stayed a night before taking on the hump ridge trail. The Wee Dump was fantastic and is probably the closest jumping off point for the Hump. Janice sent us off in the morning with some great date cake for the trail and stored out bags while we were away. It's a great place after the track too - as they have a wonderful outdoor bath where you can soak away the 62km pain from your calves.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

To both of you, thank you for your review. Oh dear the last comment about the tired calves. If thats all you had you did very well. Considering you took on the Hump Ridge with very little tramping experience.
The new kit must have helped.
Take care
Janice and P.Nut
W.W.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews