We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day out-highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wairaurahiri Jet

Wairaurahiri Jet
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Tuatapere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jet boat into the heart of Fiordland South Island's ultimate jet boat ride! We will take you on a trip of a life time. 94 Km’s of jet boating into the heart of Fiordland National Park and back; travel across Lake Hauroko and down to the rugged southern coast via the wild Wairaurahiri River. Our All Day Adventure includes, personal guided nature walks and a delicious kiwi style BBQ For your comfort on the colder days, we have fitted heated hand rails to our boat, along with woolly hats and over sized water proof oil skin coats for our guests to use while aboard. These are a great addition to help you to enjoy our already awesome boat trip The River: The Wairaurahiri River, 34 km of rugged rock strewn grade three rapids that drop 600 feet to sea level. These are the conditions which make the Wairaurahiri Jet such an exciting ride! Trampers: We can pick up or drop off - links with Hump Ridge Track and South Coast Track. Plus other packages, Helicopter, Jet boat adventure, over night adventure, or Twilight adventures trips. Our safety: Johan, (owner operator) has over 20 years experience on the river. Our twin engine jet boat is specially designed to handle the conditions of this remote area. We believe our boat is 200% safer than any other operator on this river as we are the only boat with two engines. Twice the safety and comfort. Safety Audits Wairaurahiri Jet is also audited yearly by Maritime NZ, Wairaurahiri Jet is the only boat on the river that is an approved activity and has achieved a Gold Enviro award Qualmark. New Zealand, tourism bench mark.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Best day out-highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Joyce & Johan are the most helpful friendly couple! Obviously know the area intimately. Awesome,thrilling jetboat ride, very skilful down low running river! Thank you to them for fitting us in and also for car transportation at end of 2 day south coast walk. Both are obviously very committed to protecting the area. Waitutu Lodge is a great place to stay. Peter & Rose were so generous and kind. Beautiful part of New Zealand. Will certainly be recommending to everyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a fantastic day, such beautiful scenery to make you speechless and so much fun on the jetboat. A great lunch at the lodge and Johan was really cool and knowledgable. Will urge others to do this trip!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMolving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

20th Feb 2014 Baldwin Family members done a trip down to visit my brother Peter and Rose Baldwin caretakers at the Waitutu lodge. Trip of a life time, will be back . I walked to The Wairaurahiri river 51 years ago, I was 12 years of age to return after all these years was unbelievable quite emotional , to look across the river from The Waitutu Lodge at an area I camped with my dad and sister in dec 1962 . To do the trip with Johan as skipper was so good he is a man with a wealth of knowledge on history and geology of Lake Hauroko and the river. We learned so much about this dreadful stoat pest and how it's wipeing out bird life , Johan and Joyce are doing a great job on exterminating as many of these feral pests as they can, get behind them people . I will be back to stay down the river some time in the future. My wife Margaret and I done this trip back to my original home town Tuatapere from Gladstone Queensland to vist family , the weather was great so down the river we went. Great barbecue lunch at the Waitutu Lodge. Thanks Johan you took me back to a highlight of my childhood.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tranquility and excitement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We did the trip on a beautiful sunny South Island Sunday in February , but still only saw 3 other boats on Lake Hauroko and no one else on the river . Such a pleasant surprise after the throngs of tourists in the Queenstown area.
The scenery was just magnificent, basically as it was before Man came to NZ.
I really hope to do this trip again , and hope to be able to stay a few days at the lodge as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Great day with Johan. He knows so much about the area and ecology. Fun trip
Great lunch. Best jet boat ride ever! Must do!!

Helpful?
Thank NzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wairaurahiri Jet also viewed

Tuatapere, Southland Region
Tuatapere, Southland Region
 
Tuatapere, Southland Region
 

Been to Wairaurahiri Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing