We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A month at the Sao Mai”
Review of Sao Mai Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thanh Hoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sao Mai Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Thanh Hoa
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A month at the Sao Mai”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have just spent a month at this hotel and was very pleased. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms are large and overall it is great value for the money. I work in the tourism sector and promote responsible tourism and was disappointed in this aspect od the operations. There is no linen policy, housekeeping changes the prepackaged soap and shampoo everyday [despite efforts try to explain, albeit in English] and the lights and AC remain on despite the removal of the card.
It is centrally located and within walking distance of several good restaurants. And the market is just beside the hotel for those interested in buying fresh fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecomacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Sao Mai Hotel 3 times and always found it of a good standard. It has free wifi which I find invaluable when working abroad and the rooms are fairly well furnished if not luxurious. It is reasonaby priced and the staff are helpful.

Room Tip: It is interesting being at the front of the hotel watchig the ealry morning activity around the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGreevy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel is standard for a smaller city in Vietnam. While probably not the highest "starred" hotel in town, it is centrally located, and within easy reach of just about anything in town. Since its service is basically on par with what I paid for throughout my travels in Vietnam and the region, I only marked it as an average hotel, although this is by no means bad, and I would stay here again if I returned to the area.

Pros:
* Tennis court
* Pool
* Very good breakfast buffet (wide selection, all you can eat)
* Affordable
* Centrally located
* Good mattresses and sheets

Cons
* Hotel is aging, so expect to find small tears, cigarette burns, etc. on some of the furniture and carpeting
* Staff does not really speak English

Room Tip: Choose one in the upper floors for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I paid $30 per night for 2 nights and it was well worth it for a change (after spending some nights in more budget accomodation on my trip). The room was on the 11th floor, was very spacious and modern, and had fantastic views across the city. The breakfast buffet was asian focussed but was varied and plentiful. The staff can't speak english (except for one receptionist) but that was half the fun in trying to organise things. The swimming pool was clean and large enough to do laps. The attached restaraunt gets very busy but I found the food tasty and safe. The restaraunt manager speaks excellent english and he spent a lot of time chatting to me. Thanh Hoa is not a big tourist destination, so if your budget can afford it, this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room up high for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Wan_Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I have stayed in many provincial hotels in Vietnam but this one is one of the few that stand out and I want to make special mention of. Most of all it's the big rooms that impressed me because this is something you'll hardly ever find, even in big expensive places. There is a swimming pool ( which I did not use) and a good selection of lacal food for breakfast. Out in the provinces you can do a lot worse.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunbarkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

The hotel was booked by local colleagues and we had our own car and driver, so location was not an issue although the hotel seems well placed for visiting the city or surrounding areas. The hotel is large and often used for conferences. The rooms were extremely roomy and kept clean. Wifi worked. TV channel options were limited for English speakers with just BBC and a music channel.

The breakfast buffet gives a range of local food options which should suit most tastes. We didn't try their restaurant's dinner menu but took a walk down the road (which is new but the sidewalk unfinished) to a restarant on the corner of the main road which had many more menu options and good food. I was only there for a couple of nights so did not interact much with the staff but they seemed friendly and helpful. The only negative comment would be not to expect to use the large swimming pool which was a pleasant green colour - but being winter, not many people would have wanted to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I do not expect to find such a nice hotel in a provincial town like Thanh Hoa. It is a four star hotel, my opinion. Besides nice room, I really like the breakfast buffet where I can chose from many local dishes. Definitely this is the place for me next time I visit Thanh Hoa.

  • Liked — Nice clean room. Reasonable rate
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BuiDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanh Hoa
0.2 mi away
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
#1 of 26 in Thanh Hoa
7 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
#5 of 26 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#2 of 26 in Thanh Hoa
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lam Kinh Hotel
Lam Kinh Hotel
#13 of 26 in Thanh Hoa
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Phu Hung Hotel
#18 of 26 in Thanh Hoa
2 reviews
9.9 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sam Son
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Mai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Mai Hotel

Property: Sao Mai Hotel
Address: 20 Phan Chu Trinh, Thanh Hoa 440000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thanh Hoa Province > Thanh Hoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Thanh Hoa
Number of rooms: 251

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing