We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not accomodating to nearby Villa renters” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Fontanelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not accomodating to nearby Villa renters”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed for a month in May 2012 at a villa that was a stone's throw from this hotel. I had really looked forward to going there and using their spa facilities. One day a couple of weeks into my trip, I stopped at the front gate (locked!) and asked whether I could book a massage - Answer (not nicely either) was that unless I was a guest I could not come onto the property. Really, they are happy to turn away business? I was extremely disappointed at their inhospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maryborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
We are sorry to receive your negative comment.
For legal reasons linked to our (small) Property and for privacy respect forward Guests staying at our Hotel, we are not allowed to host external people at our SPA.

In case in future you could have the chance to stay at Hotel Le Fontanelle you will have consequently the right, as all our Guests, to enjoy all our services, probably also positively appreciating them.

At your disposal for any clarification you might, I remain with my kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager - Hotel Le Fontanelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
197
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My review is long overdue as my husband and I visited in September. All I can say is WOW! Hotel le Fontanelle was definitely one of the high points of our trip and we are definitely coming back in the next few years. Everyone who worked at the hotel was so accomodating and polite. The food was excellent although I highly recommend taking their complimentary Vespa around the Chianti region and visiting the local wineries and stopping for lunch. Our only regret was not staying long enough. We would have skipped out on Venice and stayed longer in Sienna if we had known in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineHottyToddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Fontanelle, and our stay was delightful. It was recommended by Andrew Harper, so we knew it would be nice...and of course we were upgraded when we arrived due to the Harper priviledges! It is apparent that the owners care about keeping their location top notch. The setting for breakfast was beautiful ( but we turned the chairs each morning to look out the incredible picture windows!). We did not dine there for dinner, preferring other options. we rented Vespas one day from them, and had an incredible day going to other small communities.... DO THIS for something different. Our massages were good, not great. the staff were all very helpful, especially Uli who helped us with our bags. close enough to Siena to get there easily. The shuttle only goes at 10 am and returns at 5, so does not provide as much flexibility as other shuttles. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were nice, especially on rainy days! Overall above average stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

COngratulations to the entire staff at the hotel for making our 3 night stay last week the highlight of our Italy trip. I had been in contact with the property to set up an unusual request to actually stomp grapes. While I am sure the staff thought us crazy, Marion and her team made it happen complete with champagne. Not an easy task as most of the harvest was completed mid-may. Watching the sun go down while toasting our birthdays doing this completely silly thing demonstrated the hotels attntion to detail. I would like to thank the entire staff - everyone we came in contact with were polite, courteous, charming and eager to please. A special thanks to Annalise who went above and beyond - this young lady is a credit to the entire hospitality industry. It is no surprise that we met several couples who returned year after year. So many special moments.

A couple of comments:
- you definately should have a car to get around. Seems an obvious notation but if you dont taxis can be expensive.
-Do plan to rent vespas for a day
- the restaurant is fantastic and very pricey. You can have less substantial fare in the bar area.
- if possible book a jr suite with terrace

Altogether a very, very special place in an area with lots of beautiful properties. We would go back in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great trip to this hotel. The staff were very friendly and on arrival gave us a complimentary room upgrade, so we had a lovely view of the chianti wine region. The food was absolutely amazing.. The breakfast was the best I ahd in Italy, and the dinner was fantastic. The whole stay was just brilliant. It is definitely worth paying slightly more to stay in a hotel of this quality (as it is definitely not cheap). Our only wish was that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLD123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. This property was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint! We have stayed at some fantastic places over the years and I have to say, Le Fontelle had some of the best service we had ever experienced! The staff is wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The property is beautiful and the rooms are very cozy. We rented Vespa's for the day and had such a memorable trip winding our way through the Chianti region. I wish I was there now! We will be back!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from La Fontanelle & was struggling to decide between a 3 and 4 rating, see below for pros and cons:
Pros: Stunning setting, large outdoor pool, lots of lovely sun loungers, great restaurant setting, spotlessly clean, many seating areas both indoors and outdoors, allow well behaved on site ( even by the pool) library with good selection of books, some evenings a pianist plays, free wifi- good signal
Cons: Poolside menu very basic and not in keeping with the rest of hotel philosophy, rooms pretty simple and sound proofing not great especially late evening and from around 6.00am when staff start to arrive, wi fi unit very noisy by the bed especially around 5.00 am for some reason, no kettle in room, very basic hair dryer, lots and lots of Mosquitos, if the pianist not playing dinner is lacking atmosphere, dining and room charges are pretty high given the location.

Overall we enjoyed our 4 days but would probably go to villa San Michele or Villa Cora in Florence next time. To be honest we were a bit bored.
additionally the hotel needs to improve the directions on the web site as it is more complicated than indicated.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you dedicated to us writing your review and are pleased you appreciated all things listed in your PROs.
We are sorry that at the main time you had a CONs list, too, and that you did not enjoyed at best your stay at our Property. We will consider your comment as constructive for improving ourselves.

Kind regards,

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianella
3.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
8.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 11 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
15.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fontanelle

Property: Hotel Le Fontanelle
Address: Strada Provinciale 408, km 14.7, 53019 Pianella, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Pianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Fontanelle 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Fontanelle, is a 5 star luxury Hotel located in the Chianti Classico region, capturing the magical essence of Tuscany and the preciousness of its landscapes, offers to its Guests sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty, for a memorable stay or a private special event. With its 25 rooms divided into five different typologies, the Hotel proposes a special refined comfort, turning into the perfect choice for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Le Fontanelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fontanelle Italy/Tuscany - Pianella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing