We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

COngratulations to the entire staff at the hotel for making our 3 night stay last week the highlight of our Italy trip. I had been in contact with the property to set up an unusual request to actually stomp grapes. While I am sure the staff thought us crazy, Marion and her team made it happen complete with champagne. Not an easy task as most of the harvest was completed mid-may. Watching the sun go down while toasting our birthdays doing this completely silly thing demonstrated the hotels attntion to detail. I would like to thank the entire staff - everyone we came in contact with were polite, courteous, charming and eager to please. A special thanks to Annalise who went above and beyond - this young lady is a credit to the entire hospitality industry. It is no surprise that we met several couples who returned year after year. So many special moments.

A couple of comments:
- you definately should have a car to get around. Seems an obvious notation but if you dont taxis can be expensive.
-Do plan to rent vespas for a day
- the restaurant is fantastic and very pricey. You can have less substantial fare in the bar area.
- if possible book a jr suite with terrace

Altogether a very, very special place in an area with lots of beautiful properties. We would go back in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great trip to this hotel. The staff were very friendly and on arrival gave us a complimentary room upgrade, so we had a lovely view of the chianti wine region. The food was absolutely amazing.. The breakfast was the best I ahd in Italy, and the dinner was fantastic. The whole stay was just brilliant. It is definitely worth paying slightly more to stay in a hotel of this quality (as it is definitely not cheap). Our only wish was that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLD123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. This property was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint! We have stayed at some fantastic places over the years and I have to say, Le Fontelle had some of the best service we had ever experienced! The staff is wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The property is beautiful and the rooms are very cozy. We rented Vespa's for the day and had such a memorable trip winding our way through the Chianti region. I wish I was there now! We will be back!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MeredithATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from La Fontanelle & was struggling to decide between a 3 and 4 rating, see below for pros and cons:
Pros: Stunning setting, large outdoor pool, lots of lovely sun loungers, great restaurant setting, spotlessly clean, many seating areas both indoors and outdoors, allow well behaved on site ( even by the pool) library with good selection of books, some evenings a pianist plays, free wifi- good signal
Cons: Poolside menu very basic and not in keeping with the rest of hotel philosophy, rooms pretty simple and sound proofing not great especially late evening and from around 6.00am when staff start to arrive, wi fi unit very noisy by the bed especially around 5.00 am for some reason, no kettle in room, very basic hair dryer, lots and lots of Mosquitos, if the pianist not playing dinner is lacking atmosphere, dining and room charges are pretty high given the location.

Overall we enjoyed our 4 days but would probably go to villa San Michele or Villa Cora in Florence next time. To be honest we were a bit bored.
additionally the hotel needs to improve the directions on the web site as it is more complicated than indicated.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you dedicated to us writing your review and are pleased you appreciated all things listed in your PROs.
We are sorry that at the main time you had a CONs list, too, and that you did not enjoyed at best your stay at our Property. We will consider your comment as constructive for improving ourselves.

Kind regards,

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family stayed at the Hotel Le Fontanelle for three nights and I can confirm that it deserves every one of the five star ratings on TripAdviser. There is probably not much I can say about the hotel that hasn't been said before, but my family (including twelve year old son) agreed that it was the best place we had ever stayed. The hotel is deliberately small and intimate with only twenty five rooms, and as a result it never felt crowded. The rooms and facilities were beautifully designed and maintained and you could tell that a lot of thought had gone into creating this beautiful place.

The highlight for us, though, was the restaurant. As the weather was so warm, we were able to eat outside on the shaded terrace and the experience was breathtaking. The views over Tuscany are amazing and the food was second to none. We had originally planned on eating outside the hotel each evening, but after one night eating on the terrace we were converted! I was particularly impressed that the hotel had a menu especially for their younger guests including simpler dishes such as pasta and tomato sauce and steak and chips which my son wholeheartedly recommended! That said, although the hotel was very welcoming to younger guests, it may not be entirely suitable for very young children given that the focus of the hotel is upon relaxing and resting rather than entertainment.

Service was deliberately low key, discrete and subtle, but always there when you needed it. The mark of a quality establishment.

One point to note re getting there is that the location of the hotel on google maps is not exactly correct. The hotel is a couple of miles south of the point it is shown at. Basically if you are driving south on the SP408 and you go past the turning whiich is highlighted as the hotel and continue on for a couple of minutes then you will reach a sign pointing to "fontanelle". The (long and winding) driveway to the hotel is then on the right.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay and we will certainly be back next year. Yes, it is expensive, but this is a case of getting what you pay for: I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,

It was a tremendous pleasure having you and your sweet son here and it was our pleasure to propose him our special "Kids Menu".

We are glad to learn that you also appreciated the architectural design of our Hotel: our ownership made its best to keep intact the historical identity of this ancient location, and daily tries to provide as more comforts as possible to our Guests, linking tradition to innovation.
Over the years, we tried to keep abreast of technologies, improving for example our WI-FI system and web visibility also creating an application on purpose for IPhone/IPad/SmartPhones and an update on GPS navigators.
Also with GoogleMaps we made the best we could, because it does not recognize the last road reaching us upon the hill. It is correct what you noticed regarding the location point indicated on GoogleMaps, and it that precise point was on purpose our choice: differently maps automatically calculate the itinerary coming from the other side of the hill by dirt roads, and consequently not much advisable.
This way instead you can be sure to find us for sure and… keep your car clean :-)

We hope to meet your family again in the future and wish you all the best.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food is absolutely the best we've had in Italy in the last two weeks. The chef accommodated our allergies and made beautiful, complex, sophisticated dishes which we savored at every meal. Our massages were wonderful and the staff was truly INCREDIBLE. We felt so well cared-for and nourished. Please keep in mind, this may not be an ideal family getaway, but best for couples or individuals who need a break or time with a good book or journal and a glass of lovely wine amidst a gorgeous view. We did ride the bikes and Vespas along the hills and soaked in the relaxing atmosphere. It's a respite, an escape, a quiet place of beauty and tranquility. Top notch!!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoughtfulsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience at our Hotel and in the surrounding Chianti region by our Vespa scooters.

All our Staff had been glad to pamper you!

Kind regards,

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our 5th visit to La Fontanelle and once again we were overwhelmed by the experience. The property, location, service, food - but most importantly - the wonderful staff are second to none. Each year we visit for a 'recharge' from our busy lives and La Fontanelle always delivers. This is not for those seeking a party or buzzy atmosphere but it is absolutely for those who want to rest and recuperate, take time out from busy lives, tour the beautiful Chianti region and surrounding areas and just lie by the tranquil pool, soaking in the amazing views and enjoying a glass of Franciacorte at the end of the day. Siena, Florence and Montalcino can all easily be reached when you want to drag yourself away from this heavenly place. Highly recommended. Thank you Marion, Salvatore and all the amazing staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaGuestRelations, Direttore at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Friends,

For the 5th time, thank you very very much for having spent your time with us. It is always a tremendous pleasure to meet you and we are looking forward in a soon next time!
And, never forget... "If you don't ask, don't get!"

Best regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianella
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
501 reviews
8.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
394 reviews
16.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
7.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fontanelle

Address: Strada Provinciale 408, km 14.7, 53019 Pianella, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Pianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Price Range: $445 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Fontanelle 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Fontanelle, is a 5 star luxury Hotel located in the Chianti Classico region, capturing the magical essence of Tuscany and the preciousness of its landscapes, offers to its Guests sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty, for a memorable stay or a private special event. With its 25 rooms divided into five different typologies, the Hotel proposes a special refined comfort, turning into the perfect choice for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Fontanelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fontanelle Italy/Tuscany - Pianella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing