We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aulnaie Gardens B&B
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our second visit in July did not disappoint. Both Michel & Eliane are delightful hosts - so welcoming, so helpful ensuring you feel so relaxed immediately. They are very keen to practise their English too ! Their garden is a treat. We visited in June 2012 in order to go to Monet's garden in Giverny and made a special detour this year during our five weeks in France to return to L'Aulnaie. That speaks for itself and there is plenty to see in the area. We shall return, but do not tell too many ! We shall be in touch with Michel & Eliane to see if they can influence the weather too for we have been so lucky on both our visits.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both rooms. Both have en-suite, one has a double bed, the other twin beds and rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed with Michel and Eliane in early September 2013 and nowhere could have been better. The venue is just perfect except the weather was not good to us. Michel and Eliane were super hosts and made us feel very welcome. I am a little reluctant to rate L'Aulnaie too highly in case we wish to go back and they are fully booked because the secret it out! The rooms were a good size and the whole place spotlessly clean. Home made jams and yogurts was the icing on the cake. We have no hesitation in recommending L'Aulnaie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with Michel and Eliane in June and wished we'd stayed longer. The accommodation is fabulous and Eliane and Michel are great hosts. Their English is superb and they are both very helpful. The garden is a wonderful place to relax, it is lovely to walk down to the pond and spot the frogs! We had a couple of picnics in the garden and were offered all the utensils we needed. The village is beautiful with some nice places to walk. It is an ideal location to visit Monet's garden and Eliane usually has some fast pass tickets to help you skip the long queues. I would recommend a stay to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had the warmest of welcomes from Michael & Eliane. Beautifully furnished room & spotlessly clean with well appoointed en suite. Our breakfasts of delicious bread & croissants were accompanied by home made yogurts & jams. The property is a truly gorgeous old farmhouse and the extensive grounds enthusiastically tended by Eliane & her assistant. The setting is completely peaceful. We made a memorable visit from here to Monet's Garden at Giverney, not far away.
I can truly recommend this Chambre d'hote, and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at L'Aulnaie in May 2012 and loved it! The village of Fontaine sous Jouy is charming and beautiful. L'Aulnaie has splendid gardens and the hosts, Michel and Eliane, were so lovely and helpful. Breakfast was delicious! Our room (the Blue Room) was spacious, immaculately clean and quiet. The location is perfect for seeing Monet's Gardens at Giverny, Chateau Gaillard and Les Andelys. We would definitely stay there again!!
Dallas, Texas - USA

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a very warm welcome after our arrival was delayed by two hours because of traffic jams in Rouen. We were swiftly shown to a beautiful and very comfortable room complete with beautiful en-suite bathroom. Eliane asked us if we wanted to eat and offered to make the booking for us. She sent us to a very attractive restaurant a few minutes drive away where we ate and drank well. We spent a restful night in L'Aulnaie, and woke to a delicious breakfast in a lovely reception room with views over Michel and Eliane's beautiful gardens. We will certainly be returning in the future and would recommend this luxurious B&B to anyone who appreciates a warm welcome and a comfortable night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonMTPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2005

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 3 nights so that we could have a base near to Giverney and the Versailles Gardens. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants somewhere quiet and peaceful at a very good price. We paid 60 euros per night for 2 people and thought this was excellent value. Eliane and Michel give you a very warm welcome and are always around if you need them but they do not intrude and you feel like you are in your own little space. The bedroom we had overlooked the garden and what a garden!! There was a large bathroom and there was tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was gorgeous with fresh baked bread and home made jam, one day we even had breakfast in the garden! The only downside was that we sometimes found it hard to find somewhere to eat in the evenings without travelling too far - it would have been nice to have somewhere nearby to walk to for food. A super super place with lovely people. Recommended ++

6  Thank Zipperhead2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aulnaie Gardens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulnaie Gardens B&B

Address: 29 rue de l Aulnaie, 27120 Fontaine-sous-Jouy, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Price Range: $129 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast (each room with private bathroom and toilets) in a beautiful village near Giverny, ideally situated to visit Monet's garden, Giverny and Normandy. Take a walk in our expansive landscaped garden (2.4 acres), which has a wide variety of flowers and interesting tree species, past our pond which recall impressionist paintings, to the stream at the edge of our property. Our garden received an award from the Association Régionale des Parcs & Jardins de Haute-Normandie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aulnaie Gardens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulnaie Gardens B&B Fontaine-Sous-Jouy, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing