We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Treat”
Review of Clos de Mondetour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos de Mondetour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a special treat it was to stay in this bed and breakfast. The grounds and home are beautiful and I was very comfortable in my pretty room. Our breakfast was perfect every morning and beautifully laid out. I think the biggest treat was getting to know the proprietor, Aude Jeanson, and her lovely family. They were so kind, friendly and helpful and I would love to stay with them again in the future. I highly recommend their establishment!
Weta

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Clos de Mondetour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

I can not say enough about our 6 day stay with Aude and her family. The rooms were enchanting, the food was simple and lovely, and the family were charming. Breakfast was a treat, but we ate our evening meal at the B&B as well, and every evening was a wonderful culinary experience for us. We were a group of 6 ladies from Texas, so it was exactly what we were hoping to encounter. Aude is a wonderful cook and she is teaching her daughter to do the same. Margaret (sp?) prepared our dessert each evening, and it was yummy! I especially loved her Creme' Brûlée.

This lovingly restored historic home has an ambiance that everyone should love, yet has all the needed modern amenities.
Thank you so much, Aude

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, but a couple would really love the Red Room!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladeda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After a hard day of brocante shopping, it was such a pleasure to return to this beautiful home and sit by the fire in the living room with my friends. Aude's gracious, smiling face was always there to greet us and ask how our day had gone. Her daughter was home from school in England for Easter break and was also delightful. My room was very clean and spacious. On my last morning there, I opened all of my windows to take in the sounds of the birds calling out on the grounds. To my amazement a cuckoo was one of the birds calling. It was a magical moment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Clos de Mondetour is a beautifully restored historical property owned by hosts, Aude and Gregoire, who are the real treasures among all of the fine antiques and objects de art. They are warm, kind and helpful, but even more than that they welcome guests as one would friends. Their knowledge of the local Norman countryside is detailed and complete, giving directions to the most lovely small villages and the special sites in larger towns. Scenic walks and drives through the countryside were marked on a map so we would not miss a single drive along the rivers or a view across the landscapes. Gregoire was expert in mapping our early morning drive from their house to Paris in order to catch our plane home. He steered us through expressway traffic and turn-offs along a quick and easy route. That last day of our stay Aude was up early to prepare one of her delightful breakfasts in order to send us on our way well fed. These examples are typical of their thoughtfulness and concern for their guests. To round out the picture of a lovely French family their son and daughter were introduced and not surprisingly proved as amicable and helpful as their parents. While the location of Clos de Mondetour is ideal for touring this area of Normandy, the real reason to visit and to stay for a few days is to enjoy the good conversation and hospitality of Aude, Gregoire and their family. We promise you a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable with great baths.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Whether you are travelling by yourself, as a couple, family, group or for business you won't be disappointed. You are welcomed with a warm and inviting smile by Aude who owns and runs this beautiful B&B. Aude speaks both French and English. The rooms are appointed beautifully and are so very comfortable, quiet, clean, and decorated like a picture from a magazine. Each morning awaits an amazing breakfast in the stunning dining room. The location is fantastic, not to mention the village and countryside that surround Clos de Mondetour B&B. Monet's Garden is just up the road along with beautiful villages, antique/brocante stores, and chateau's along the way. There is room to park your car too. I highly recommend Clos de Mondetour and can't wait to stay at Clos de Mondetour again. I can guarantee that your stay will be highly memorable, comfortable and relaxing. I hope they will enjoy Clos de Mondetour as much as we did.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms. They are large and decorated beautifully.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEEGAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Being a lover of comfort and the finer things in life, I loved staying here.
Firstly, the ambiance takes you in its arms and cradles you with that homely feeling.
The guests wing is totally private, full of luxury and the bedrooms are upstairs where I dont think I have had a cosier sleep. This being due to the still of the country and the cosy bedding and stunning furnishings.

Coming down for breakfast was a feast for the eyes and palette and it was an amazing way to start the day shopping around all the brocante shops.

What I really loved though, was coming home after a day out.
Aude the amazingly charming host, would have the fire going, a wine ready and the chairs to sit in front of the fire in were just too comfortable to get out of.
Leave me there forever and Id be a happy girl.
Overall, the host is the highlight of this stay. Always smiling and we just loved her to bits in the four days we stayed. Definately we will be back for some more Normandy love.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and they were both amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaliMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Amazingly beautiful place and equally great people. Aude speaks excellent English and will go out of her way to help you and ensure that you have a great stay. I stayed with the Jeanson family for ten weeks on exchange and can assure you that they are a family of genuinely nice people who made me extremely welcome. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine-sous-Jouy
12.7 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
158 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau d'Emalleville
Chateau d'Emalleville
#1 of 1 in Emalleville
29 reviews
13.6 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,081 reviews
10.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
292 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palais Des Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos de Mondetour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos de Mondetour

Address: 17 rue de la Poste, 27120 Fontaine-sous-Jouy, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Price Range: $165 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old building from the end of the XVI century totally well restored with all modern comfort. The 4 rooms are wide and very luminous due to large windows which allow pretty view on the country side. Antique furniture, family heirlooms and fine bed linen grace the 4 tastefully bedrooms with private en suite bathrooms. In the morning, a generous breakfast is set with the family silver in the guests' sitting room. Free wifi, and Aude knows very well the area to make your stay the most interesting and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clos de Mondetour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos De Mondetour Fontaine-Sous-Jouy, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing