We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Clos de Mondetour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos de Mondetour
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Even more beautiful than it looks on the website. We stayed here for two nights in October when we visited Monet's garden at Giverny. The loveliest part of the stay was Aude and her genuine warmth and thoughtfulness. We will remember for a long time the little bag of chouquettes that she had collected from the Chambray boulangerie that morning and which she handed to us as we departed after a very early breakfast ( excellent with good coffee ) on our way to CDG to fly home. Stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night -- no problem with restaurants being open -- Aude gave good recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
445 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We only stayed 1 night en route to the South. What a fantastic place to stay- wish we could have stayed longer. Located in a protected village (beautiful) in a very rural part of France. Charming hostess who made us very welcome. Don't rely on the sat nav post code to find it exactly- input the address- not too difficult then. We had the lovely, airy and large red room with big windows allowing plenty of light in- as was the bathroom with his/her washbasins. Restaurants not so far away but nearby ones closed on the Tuesday evening we were there. Had a great pizza in an inner courtyard of the pizzeria in Pacy. Breakfast superb- fresh fruit;confitures;croissants;breads etc' - all served in a most elegant manner.Perfection in a simple, understated way. What a great start to our holiday. We have already recommended here to our friends and family. Pity we couldn't pay on a card and had to use cash but we knew at time of booking. We would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Cannot recommend the Clos de Mondetour highly enough! Aude and her family welcomed us warmly and from arrival to a reluctant departure the attention to detail was faultless.
Relaxing,serene and away from the bustle of our daily lives, yet nonetheless well located for excellent restaurants and within easy reach of Giverny and the surrounding area.
A veritable cornucopia of pastries, local breads, fresh fruit and homemade jams made breakfast sublime.
A roaring log fire in a beautifully renovated manoir sitting room set the scene for the rest of the house. Our room was huge and furnished perfectly for the house and in keeping with the highest possible standards that this establishment is clearly trying to attain. Needless to say the Clos de Mondetour desrves the highest ratings possible.
We are already planning a return trip to this gem
A family suite or magnificent double rooms make all combinations of visits possible whether with the family or escaping to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A warm welcome was waiting for us. The room was big and well furnished. The facilities are excellent. Breakfast is generous with a lot of home made goodies.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clos de Mondetour: It was the website that first attracted us and persuaded us to exceed our usual budget for a stopover on our drive south through France. Clos de Mondétour ( www.closdemondétour.com ) is a 16th Century farmhouse refurbished by the present owners to an exceptional standard. There were clues, not just on the web but also in the cordial correspondence before our arrival: the courtesy and warmth when we arrived (later than expected) on a Sunday evening confirmed our expectations even before we saw the beautiful rooms. Madame Jeanson went out of her way to find us a restaurant (also terrific) that was open and would accept us at a late hour. Two (transatlantic) couples travelling together can be hard to please…. Speaking as the mere driver, I can say only that all I heard was ‘oohs’ and ‘aaahs’ of delight from the time of our arrival right until after breakfast. The only downside was that we had to leave after only one night to maintain our schedule.
The determination and tenacity of the Jeanson family in creating this stunning haven has surely paid dividends. The care and comfort they provide exceeds what one may expect from far more expensive lodgings. This is, of course, not a cue to raise prices but to encourage regular travellers to include this remarkable home on their itinerary. Bravo Mme. and M. Jeanson. We’ll undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallibarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Clos de Mondetour last September on our way back up from the South of France for one night before getting the ferry from Calais. We wish we had stayed here for a break, rather than used it as a pit stop as the house, the hosts, the rooms and the area were all wonderful. We were travelling with our brand new 6 week old baby and Aude had thought of everything, little touches like a baby towel in the room and giving me some room in the fridge to store milk. The breakfast was delicious and when I commented on the lovely little French pastries, Aude sent me off with a bag of extra ones.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with antique pieces and a very comfortable bed. Bookshelves full of wonderful magazines and books and the bathroom was huge, with two sinks and a great walk in shower. It was a very comfortable stay.

We really enjoyed talking to Aude and hearing the story behind the house. They have albums with photos of the renovation which were very interesting.

This is a lovely, lovely place and we can't recommend it more highly. I'm sorry it has taken me so long to write the review, I've been a bit busy with the little one!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njlLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at "Clos de Mondetour". Aude and her family were so charming and kind - helping us plan our days and suggesting restaurants for the evening. We stayed in the family room - which was perfect - clean and spacious. The surrounding area is so lovely - it is about half an hour from Monet's gardens at Giverny. Breakfast was delicous - Aude would go to the near-by town (before we were up in the morning) to buy fresh bread and croissants! A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moodymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine-sous-Jouy
12.7 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
124 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palais Des Congres
6.5 mi away
Chateau d'Emalleville
Chateau d'Emalleville
#1 of 1 in Emalleville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
237 reviews
14.6 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,010 reviews
4.3 mi away
Les Hautes Sources
Les Hautes Sources
#1 of 2 in Menilles
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos de Mondetour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos de Mondetour

Property: Clos de Mondetour
Address: 17 rue de la Poste, 27120 Fontaine-sous-Jouy, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fontaine-sous-Jouy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old building from the end of the XVI century totally well restored with all modern comfort. The 4 rooms are wide and very luminous due to large windows which allow pretty view on the country side. Antique furniture, family heirlooms and fine bed linen grace the 4 tastefully bedrooms with private en suite bathrooms. In the morning, a generous breakfast is set with the family silver in the guests' sitting room. Free wifi, and Aude knows very well the area to make your stay the most interesting and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clos de Mondetour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos De Mondetour Fontaine-Sous-Jouy, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing