We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights at the end of May. Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant food delicious and value for money. We ate here for two of the three nights. Restaurant not open on Sunday nights. Room of adequate size with bath and shower and separate WC. Room clean and towels replaced daily. Comfortable and quiet stay which we enjoyed

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
32
107
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited Normandy at beginning of April to visit grave of an uncle killed during WW2 at St Valery en Caux. As there were 7 of us couldn't get booked into St Valery itself, so booked the nearest available place that could take 7 - I'm so glad hotels in st Valery couldn't take us. The Resturant has been renovated to a high standard as has the first floor bedrooms. Stayed bed and breakfast and had dinner in Resturant on our first night. Food excellent, I had mussels and counted 138! I have a gluten intolerance and staff, despite some language difficulties, managed this well. As well as printing off routes to get us back to airport. Would love to visit again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

simple place with no fancy features but the current owner makes a clear difference. fabulous welcome and attention to our needs all the way...
This place is a get away hotel to consider if you need quietness, tranquility and breathtaking seaviews.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

You've heard the stories. Come here to witness how badly you can be treated by a frenchwoman. We had a busted on-line reservation (we got a confirmation, but they never got the reservation). We arrived after 70 miles and tire repairs on our tandem bicycle and she was the resurrected Wicked Witch of the West. No help at all - but the other hotel in town (Les Bains) was so different.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandemTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We've chosen this hotel to stay overnight during our two-day Normandy trip.The hotel looked nice on the pictures, had no bad reviews. It was very interesting to stay at a seaside hotel for a price of 80 euros for four persons.
We called in advance to notify of our late arrival and to make sure the hotel would hold the room. The gentleman at the reception assured us that even if we arrived late he would leave the key for us.
The convenient location of the hotel made it very easy to find it. When we arrived at 11.20 pm the lady showed us into our 'Family room' with two double beds and one two-level bed. There was a bathroom with an old-fashioned hair dryer (there is no door in a bathroom but a folding screen), a TV set, a wardrobe with a plenty of pillows in it. It looked very basic but the pictures on the walls and sound of the sea outside made it less boring.
As all tourists we asked for calvados in the bar and got a very nice portion of something with no label on the bottle.
The breakfast was as always overpriced - 6.5 pastries and coffee. It was difficult to find any place to eat Sunday morning however we found a cafe that served nice gauffres and coffee.
During the checkout the receptionist smoked behind the counter, by default he tried to charged us for breakfast when we reminded that we hadn't got any, the price was as quated in our online reservation (very nice).
In conclusion I can say that the Les Fregates is a great place to stay if you plan to spend much time outside. But sleeping and food (we didn't try the latter but when we phoned there was a loud background restaurant noise) it's no problem in this hotel. And even if you have any problem the hotel's great location can beat everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redclous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

After meeting up with friends who had also been travelling through france we went to Les Fegates Hotel and Restaurant for our 1 night stay. We arrived at around 2 pm. I had prebooked this hotel through a hotel website and a telephone recommendation from the website. From the outside the Hotel looked very dated and very much in need of restoration or at the least a lick of paint. On entry into the hotel we couldn't help but notice a strange smell. It seemed to be a mixture of mustiness, stale cheese and ashtrays. The reception was just a book and computer on part of the bar. The hallways were dark with different pieces of carpet throughout. We tried to be positive as we were shown our respective rooms that were in fact surprisingly passable. We were all a little peckish and so went down to the restaurant for a snack. As the menu didn't seem to include any snacks we asked the owner if we could just get a sandwich or small snack. She told us that they didn't do snacks and so we left to go and find something elsewhere. Later that evening we went into the bar/restaurant area and sat at the bar and waited to be served with drinks. The staff working in the hotel saw us come into the bar and began speaking to people in the restaurant. A young girl was sitting at one of the tables in the bar cutting up cheese. The other members of staff were chatting with guest s in the restaurant area. The owner walked passed us not even acknowledging us. We got the same avoidance from all the staff in the hotel. Nobody came to the bar area to serve us. Twice, different members of staff came into the bar area to make coffee for people in the restaurant but they made no contact with us. My husband called to a member of staff who totally ignored us. I have travelled in france about 40 times and this is the first time i have ever been met with such an attitude. We sat there for around 15 mins. We all got up from the bar stools to leave and the staff turned and watched us leave. we left the hotel at 7.30 in the morning. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The area of Veulettes sur mer was like a ghost town. The beach was stoney with strong smelling seaweed. We found a small bar, and after ordering 3 vodka and cokes we found the vodka was herbal !!! The ice came out of a plastic ice cube tray from the top of the fridge it looked like it had been there for months. Not a good stop over !!!!

  • Liked — The pillows on the beds were comfy.
  • Disliked — The service and attitude of staff, the hygiene and the lack of cleanliness in communual areas.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veulettes-sur-Mer
5.1 mi away
Hotel du Casino
Hotel du Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Des Bains
Hotel Des Bains
#2 of 2 in Veulettes-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#3 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Henri 4
Hotel Henri 4
#2 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates

Property: Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates
Address: 3 Digue Jean Corruble, 76450 Veulettes-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Veulettes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Veulettes-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Les Fregates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing