We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, ideal stop off.”
Review of Hotel Le Cygne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gournay-en-Bray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Cygne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gournay-en-Bray
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb service, ideal stop off.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Cycling to Paris we turned up late and were offered everything we could possilby need. The next morning breakfast was served specially early so we could leave promptly on our cycle and the owner helped us with repairs we were making to our bikes offering tools and advice. Breakfast was good with a large selection of jams, breads, cereals, etc. Room was basic but very clean and there were extra pillows in the cupboard. All in all a great experience. I would highly recommend staying at Le Cygne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05Frenchy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
9
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Like many others here, we were cycling from Dieppe to Paris. The owners were very welcoming and locked our bikes away safely. Be aware not much English is spoken here, so you really need a rudimentary amount of French. Room looked a bit 70s, but was clean and comfortable and quiet. No kettle which disappointed my wife slightly. Owners really made us feel part of the family and meals were informal and sociable. Overall, I would have no hesitation recommending this to other passing cyclists.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed for one night as part of a London to Paris cycle ride. I arrived very wet and was pleased to receive a lovely welcome. The owners offered to put my Bike in their garage for safety and let me head straight to my room for a shower with no cumbersome check-in. I booked directly via email and paid when I left. They made sure I knew where I was going the next day and that I had what I needed and wished me well. Breakfast was open from 7 which was very useful given the ride I had ahead of me.

For other cyclists, there seem to be a few from the reviews, the town has a few bars and places to eat, a Pizza take away and a shop that's open until 10pm. The Hotel is very easy to find and is sign-posted from the main square (though it's very close)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bxxxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a great experience at Le Cygne.

Cycling from Dieppe to Paris we had booked into 'Le Cygne' for the first night but ran into technical problems en-route (collision resulting in buckled wheel!!)

We phoned to say that we would be very late and even though we arrived at around 9.30 PM the hosts were really welcoming and put on a super meal for us.

As has been said, they cater well for cyclists (cycles locked in large outside shed).

i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skifansolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limetz-Villez, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The owners are very watchful. The food was disappointing. Very disappointing. Salad for dinner. Thats it. :( However, the owner and chef does do crepes and gallette that are Superb!!! 10/10!! The rooms are dark and old but clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Bonus!!!! ....Lots of really soft pillows. Would have stayed if the atmosphere had been prettier. But hey, it is only 2 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

As a group of cyclists who had had a problem and were late arriving, we were greeted with lovely food and very comfortable rooms. The hosts were fantastic and the food was terrific value as well as tasty. We can not speak too highly of this place.

Trevor Davies

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fantastic place to stay, we arrived without a reservation and were welcomed into a triple room, had a locked garage for our bikes, we were pretty wiped out from the cycling so the dinner in the restaurant was ideal, and the food was amazing! we had the daily special which was very promptly served, the owners were so welcoming and helpful.
Would very much return, maybe on the next cycle!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immense_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gournay-en-Bray
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le St Aubin
Hotel Le St Aubin
#2 of 3 in Gournay-en-Bray
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#3 of 3 in Gournay-en-Bray
25 reviews
12.6 mi away
Le Moulin des Forges
Le Moulin des Forges
#1 of 1 in Saint-Omer-en-Chaussee
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Chateau du Landel
Chateau du Landel
#1 of 1 in Bezancourt
177 reviews
16.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#1 of 13 in Beauvais
282 reviews
12.2 mi away
Forges Hotel
Forges Hotel
#1 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cygne

Property: Hotel Le Cygne
Address: 20 rue Notre Dame, 76220 Gournay-en-Bray, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Gournay-en-Bray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gournay-en-Bray
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing