We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT - Couldn't wait to write this review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bagnoregio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Romantica Pucci
Ranked #4 of 11 Bagnoregio B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PERFECT - Couldn't wait to write this review”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

My wife and I stayed here on our last of 10 nights in Italy and we were so thrilled that we did. (reservations are very easy to make via email). We arrived in Bagnoregio mid-afternoon, mainly to see the hill-town of Civita. Waitress of the restaurant and the owner/chef helped us to park our car in their private parking lot behind the hotel, then helped us check in. If you have a map or GPS the hotel is very easy to find, right on the main road in Bagnoregio, not sure how anyone could miss it.

After checking in, owner explained the walk to Civita (which was simple) and let us know that our reservation confirmation would allow us to skip the small fee to walk across the foot-bridge. We don't speak much Italian and they didn't speak much English, but this didn't stop them from being as helpful as possible.

Since we had a flight the next day and were leaving early the next morning to drive to the airport in Rome, the owner took 10 euros off the price because we were missing breakfast, even against our insistence that it was no problem. They let us pay that night along with our dinner bill and the waitress went out of her way to explain (even in her limited english) where to leave the key and how get out of the hotel the next morning at 7am.

We stayed in the Magnolia room, which was elegant, very clean, and extremely spacious. Candies on the pillows, and a very comfortable bed. A/C worked great. We were on the side of the hotel facing the road and didn't hear a car all night. Also borrowed a bottle opener to open a bottle of wine we brought with us and the owner insisted on giving us their nicest wine glasses instead of using the ones in the room - just added to how special we were treated. Rooms also had complimentary bottles of water, which is a really nice touch since most guests are making the 30 min walk to Civita.

Combined with the absolutely fantastic meal we had in the hotel restaurant made this our favorite hotel during our 10 days in Italy. The hotel is really only topped by how great the restaurant is. We started with complimentary prossecco, then had some of the best pasta (pici with truffles and crispy bacon that my wife said was the best thing she ate in 10 days in Italy, and we ate well) and filet that we had all week. Filet with truffles was magnificent. We finished with a sublime tiramisu dessert and two complimentary glasses of dessert wine. Waitress even grabbed an english dictionary to help explain the wine to us, and was friendly and helpful all night. Price was incredibly reasonable. Were very disappointed we had to miss breakfast.

Room Tip: Magnolia room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    37
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at this beautiful hotel while visiting the hilltop medieval town of Civita. We stayed in the Magnolia room, all rooms have names, and both the room and bathroom were very spacious and in beautiful condition with canopied large bed and individual air conditioner which we did not use. It was very cool in the evenings. We had a very nice dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very good and the price very reasonable. You do not need to go out looking for a restaurant anywhere else. The breakfast was plentiful and the owner and staff were very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay and recommend this hotel (I believe it only has 5 rooms) without hesitation.

You can walk to Civita, drive to the pedestrian bridge and pay for parking, or take the town shuttle bus which is cheaper than paying for parking. The walk would probably take about 20 minutes. We started walking but saw the shuttle stop and got on the shuttle since it was arriving at the same time that we got there. We took the shuttle back also, since the walk back could be a little tiring and slightly uphill, and they dropped us off right by the hotel. The medieval town of Civita is a dream to see for the first time and worthwhile a half day visit and lunch, which is what we did. I also forgot to mention that the hotel has private free parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our family stayed here in June of 2012. We stayed one night but ended wishing we had planned two nights to explore more. The walk to Civita is downhill, we took the shuttle back which was good in the heat. The hotel is lovely, clean and roomy. Our room had plenty of space and an air-conditioner. Our room was located right over the road, and the noise from cars was loud, but tolerable. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel, and it ended being the best meal we had on our entire trip. You can eat inside, or outside. We chose outside and it was great. You are right next to the road, but we were lucky and it was quiet, with birds making the most noise. Our server was sweet and patient with our tries at Italian, and friendly to our children. The food was excellent, everybody enjoyed their food. Dessert was the best - the panna cotta was heavenly. We hope to someday go back and find that nothing has changed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

What a nice surprise. We enjoyed the beautiful room, so nicely decorated. It seemed to me that it has been recently redone, or they do a great job of keeping it up. The thing that jumped out at me is the walls were perfectly clean.

This place is truly a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevilDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were in Bagnoregio to visit the beautiful hilltown of Civita, only a short walk away. Stayed at Hotel Romantica Pucci because we were intrigued by the write-up in Rick Steve's book. However, some of the reviews we read concerned us. After we arrived we found that there was no cause for concern. The hotel was clean and we could not smell the smoke that others complained of. Our room was large and quaintly appointed. The breakfast was one of the largest and best quality breakfasts we had in Italy. We ate lunch there once and the food was very good. The young lady who handled all the office duties for us was very polite and spoke excellent English. One of the staff drove me in his car to show me where the closest laundramat was. We did make a wrong turn trying to initially find the place. We arrived by bus from Orvieto. From the bus stop you follow the road that goes up the hillside, go to the "T" in the road, turn left, and find Romantica Pucci ahead on the left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We took a day trip on the local bus from Orvieto to Bagnoregio and were looking for a place to have a relaxing lunch prior to the half hour walk to Civita. We happened to stumble across the Hotel Romantica Pucci (actually we walked right past it on the main road to Civita) and decided to give it a try.

Aside from the lovely glass atrium dining area, the food was ABSOLUTELY the best we had during our 2 week stay in Italy. I had a steak filet with truffles and my wife had risotto. The service was welcoming and total price was 33 euros !! We were so lucky to have experienced a slice of true small town Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,283 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Admittedly Rick Steves' guidebook brought us here and we didn't really look anywhere else but we had no complaints. The location was great. It kind of reminded me of staying at my grandmother's house. Civita is definitely worth the walk up to see.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagnoregio
1.0 mi away
Locanda Della Buona Ventura
Locanda Della Buona Ventura
#1 of 2 in Bagnoregio
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B del Prato
B&B del Prato
#1 of 11 in Bagnoregio
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Loggetta
La Loggetta
#2 of 11 in Bagnoregio
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B Il Soffio di Eolo
B&B Il Soffio di Eolo
#5 of 11 in Bagnoregio
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corte della Maesta
Corte della Maesta
#1 of 3 in Civita di Bagnoregio
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Civita Bed and Breakfast
Civita Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Civita di Bagnoregio
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romantica Pucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romantica Pucci

Property: Hotel Romantica Pucci
Address: Piazza Cavour 1, Bagnoregio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bagnoregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bagnoregio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing