We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute! The Italy you read about in books and see in movies!”

Italian Village Vacation Castel Cellesi
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bagnoregio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Italian Village Vacation Castel Cellesi
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We cannot say enough about our visit to Castel Cellesi! We loved every minute of our stay. Our host, Eddie was very helpful in planning but was also right there at the front door of our house when we arrived. The house was perfect for me, my husband, his daughter and her boyfriend. We met many of the people of Castel Cellesi in the village piazza and at the local bar/community center. Even though we spoke hardly any Italian, the people were friendly and very open to us. Eddie had already told some of the locals that my husband & I build ukuleles (www.myamoe.com), so they were expecting us. Most nights after dinner, we would wander over the bar and play our ukuleles and sing until after midnight. We felt so welcome!

On Saturday night, some of the ladies from the village cooked dinner in the piazza. Daily, we drove to nearby towns to buy fresh pastas, meats, bread & vegetables for dinners we happily prepared in our fully furnished kitchen. There was also a buffalo ranch in a nearby town that made fresh buffalo mozzarella daily. Wonderful!

We also took a cooking class with a local lady named Olga. We wanted to bring her home with us! That cooking class was one of the highlights of our trip. The village is very well known for its olive oil - like none we had ever tasted. Olga used this oil in our class where we prepared rabbit, tripe and wild boar. The tiramisu we made was unbelievable. We were so full of food & knowledge at the end of our class that we rolled back to our house & directly into comatose napping. Olga, we cannot thank you enough!

One day we drove to Cortona (about 2 hours away) for the Tuscan Festival of the Sun. There we attended a cheese-making class which was also fabulous! We attended a "concert" on the life of Robert Schumann which starred Sting & his wife.

We are already planning to return next summer! Thank you Eddie and all the people of Castel Cellesi!! We will see you very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyaMoeUkuleles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our holiday. This charming house situated in a quiet, unspoilt village was spotlessly clean and provided a great base to explore to the hilltop towns of Tuscany. You need a car but getting around is easy (with a SatNav!!) and the generous host has a huge knowledge of the area and what to see, genuinely helping you to get the best out fo the sort of holiday you were looking for. There is a terrific pool, local cooking if you wish (or can you do it yourself in a very well provided kicthen that has everything). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robscanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagnoregio hotels
1 mi away
Locanda Della Buona Ventura
Locanda Della Buona Ventura
#1 of 2 in Bagnoregio
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B del Prato
B&B del Prato
#1 of 12 in Bagnoregio
313 reviews
0 mi away
La Loggetta
La Loggetta
#2 of 12 in Bagnoregio
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B&B Il Soffio di Eolo
B&B Il Soffio di Eolo
#3 of 12 in Bagnoregio
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo Buonasera
Agriturismo Buonasera
#1 of 9 in Bagnoregio
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Polinnia B&B
La Polinnia B&B
#4 of 12 in Bagnoregio
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italian Village Vacation Castel Cellesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italian Village Vacation Castel Cellesi

Address: Frazione Castel Cellesi SNC, 01022 Bagnoregio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bagnoregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bagnoregio
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian Village Vacation is an association created to give people a completely different and unknown experience of Italy. A group of home owners have bought old houses in the village and lovingly and tastefully restored them. There are houses of various shapes and sizes, able to sleep from 2 to 8 people comfortably. All houses have comfortable beds with bathrooms and cooking facilities, and all are located in the centre of the village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing