We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great low key agriturismo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crespina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Serra
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great low key agriturismo”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a week's stay in La Serra. The farm was excellent as well as the quality of the apartments. We were the only guest this time so it's unfortunate that we didn't get the chance to have the break and food delivery service. However, the farm is situated well for access to good restaurants and food stores. The family treated us like family and gave us excellent tips about the area and points of interests. The kids loved the dogs and all the other farm animals. It was quite cold so shame we didn't get the chance to use the pool as much as we wanted. Nevertheless, we enjoyed a good relaxing week and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week this summer 2012 and had a very relaxing week. We stayed in Villa La Carraia which was very pleasant, fairly spacious and clean. The pool facilities are excellent and well looked after. The estate is quite large with quite a large woodland area though this has some steep slopes so probably not best for small children. While we were there, we were 'adopted' by one of the family's dogs called Argo who is a lovely sheepdog who loves chasing sticks - my eldest teenage daughter particularly enjoyed playing with him. Communication with the host family was ok - they don't speak much English but there again, we don't speak much Italian but we managed to just about understand each other through gestures, perseverance and a bit of laughter! We had some lovely 'conversations' in particular with the grandmother! There are some lovely places to visit from here - Pisa, San Gimignano and our favourite the Spiaggi Bianchi (white beaches) at Vada are all within an hour of here. All in all we enjoyed our week here and if we were coming back to this area, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_family1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The host lady was not very helpful with us. The website offers a lot to do but this was not offered when we arrived. You need to be able to speak italian if you want to communicate or organise anything here. We stumbled across the washing machine because nobody showed us around. You get no recommendations or advice because you cannot communicate with the host. The host isn't even there during the day as she works. We have 2 small children and found a playground 5 mins away on our last day, this would have been nice to know! Similar story with a restaurant with a lovely play area, again all things the host should have been able to tell us. Our child got sick and we needed to change the sheets so we left them outside the door, that evening they were still there as nobody changed the sheets. The sheets and towels are to be change after a week. We were there 10 days and nothing was changed. We had the host shout at us too and she managed perfect English then! The loaction and setting is lovely but be prepared to fend for yourself when you get there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Agriturismo La Serra, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Upon arrival each guest is shown everything you can do on the farm and everything that the company offers, pool, playground, laundry area, etc..
Following is greeted at the reception, he is provided all the information on our territory, given a map of the province and explained where all the artistic and cultural places of interest, supermarkets, restaurants, beaches suitable for children etc..
Is given a map of our farm (25 acres) where you can walk and where you can meet animals.
Let me point out that you can take advantage of each of the activities and offers made on the site, of course, many of them are on request.
We live on a farm but we are very discreet with our guests, however, say all of them that if they need anything they can come to our house and ask us.
We do not speak English very well, but the talk and we never had problems communicating with our guests. Unfortunately, the few times he has presented the opportunity to speak with Mr. Kevin, he has always avoided by pretending not to understand.
He never asked us if he needed anything, if as he says he had to change the linen could ask us not to put the sheets out of the house. We could think he put them out to dry. The holiday farm is not an hotel where the waitress pass every morning in the rooms, anyway we are always present and helpful for our guests.
It 'just came when her daughter was sick and had them promptly accompanied by a doctor in the village where he received adequate medical attention and care. Also has not even paid a visit and we had to return us the next day to pay the bill. This has not said in his comment!
The behavior of Mr. Kevin has proved even more negative towards us when we pointed out that the swimming pool, for insurance reasons, it is for the exclusive use of guests, at the time of booking rule signed by each guest, and then friends, entering the property without warning, they could not use the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a beautiful place. Extremely quite and relaxing. What was most impressive was the pool area. A big pool surrounded only by olive tress. A perfect place to relax. And, the pool was cleaned every day. It is also worth walking around the huge real estate and seeing all the animals. Our apartement (la carraira) was perfect for a family with two kids and a terrace with pool view. Pisa and the coast is in easy reach (30 minutes drive by car). However, the place is so remote that it might take time to find the next nice village. On the negative side we experienced some clash with the landlady who blamed us not to have cleaned up the room before leaving. Obviously this was a misunderstand. In any case I have never ever experienced that a host shouted at us. A memorable hospitality in an otherwise beautiful place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Agriturismo La Serra, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
I'm sorry but I would never yell at my guest.
I was very disappointed as it was left for the villa of 133 square meters and not a room.
The ceck out occurred two hours after the scheduled time and was left a pigsty. This has created many difficulties in order to return the apartment clean at the appointed time to subsequent customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

While recently visiting Pisa, we traveled to Agriturismo La Serra, located in the Tuscan countryside near Crispina, to participate in a cooking class. We wish now that we had stayed at La Serra, instead of a hotel in Pisa. The family who own and operate this farm are wonderful people, and provided us with an unforgettable experience. They asked us in advance to choose a three-course dinner menu, and then brought in a professional chef from Pisa ("Claudio") who took us through every step of preparation, first explaining what he was going to do and why, next showing us how to do it, and then standing over us as we tried our hand. The dishes that emerged from this process were delicious, and were served with wine made from grapes grown on the farm. This experience stood out for us. We were treated like family, and after about six hours at La Serra, we felt we had not only learned something about Tuscan cooking, but had also developed a genuine relationship with some fine people. The setting is peaceful and beautiful, and the room accommodations appear to be excellent. If you want to relax in the Tuscan countryside, I don't think you can do better than this. Our only regret is that we didn't know how nice La Serra was until we arrived for the cooking class.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at Agriturismo La Serra for three nights with our daughters, ages 8 and 10. Although it was too cold out to take advantage of it, the huge swimming pool looked very tempting. There was a playground and a ping-pong table to keep the girls busy. The apartment we stayed in was very spacious and clean, with beautiful views of the grounds. They are working on trails for hiking near the property, as well. Stefania was a wonderfully gracious host, providing maps and ideas for places to visit, as well as a welcoming bottle of their wine. She even made a birthday cake for our younger daughter, who celebrated her eighth birthday while we were there! The locations is very convenient to both Pisa and Lucca, as well as Viareggio and the other towns along the Versilia. The airport is only 20 minutes away, which made it easy for us to make a 725 am flight on the day of our departure. A car and a GPS are recommended for getting around. This is an ideal place for families or for anyone who enjoys a first rate accommodation in lovely surroundings, with extremely pleasant and helpful hosts. If we are lucky enough to go back to this part of Italy, we would happily stay at Agriturismo La Serra.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolisitalophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crespina
0.0 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poggio al Casone
Poggio al Casone
#1 of 8 in Crespina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo l'isola
Agriturismo l'isola
#2 of 8 in Crespina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Belsole
#3 of 4 in Crespina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tana
La Tana
#4 of 8 in Crespina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Serra

Property: Agriturismo La Serra
Address: Stradiola | La Serra - Ceppaiano, 56042 Crespina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Crespina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Crespina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturismo La Serra is situated in the splendid Tuscan countryside, only a short distance from the sea and the beaches of Tirrenia, Cecina, Viareggio and Forte dei Marmi. Its favoured position furthermore allows easy access to the main cities of historical and artistic interest such as Pisa, Volterra, Lucca, San Gimignano and Firenze. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Serra Crespina, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing