We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable base for exploring WW1 sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Akkerwinde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Akkerwinde
Ranked #3 of 6 Zonnebeke B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable base for exploring WW1 sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Happy to recommend Patrick and Fanny's comfortable home. We were very fortunate to be given the large 2 bedroom upstairs self contained apartment, which was very nice and would make a great base if you were planning on spending a few days in the area.

I enjoyed the communal nature of the breakfast, and it was nice having Fanny join us at the table. A delicious breakfast, with plenty to choose from. About 15 minutes drive back into Ypres and right on the spot for many of the WW1 sites.

Room Tip: Only saw the apartment - great if you were staying a few days in the area as it gives a self caterin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted warmly by Fanny. We were immediately made to feel at home. Our room was lovely, with a private courtyard and a beautiful big bed. We enquired about getting some dinner and was sent to a pub a short walk away. The people there were fantastic, but that's another story. If there is enough people wanting to, they will provide dinner at a very reasonable charge. We dined at De Akkerwinde the second evening and the meal was delicious. Fanny even packed us a lunch to take with us on our tour of the battlefields and cemeteries. The B&B is a short walk to Polygon Woods where we attended the dawn service on Anzac Day. The area has beautiful woods to walk in and the area seems popular with cyclists as well. Patrick and Fanny were wonderful hosts and we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked 1 night here for our trip around the battlefields in Northern France. We booked it fairly last minute through booking.com and we were pleasently surprised.

The B&B was much bigger than we thought, there was a lovely reception room, with a dining table a few chairs and a tv. Our host, Franny, told us guests were free to use this anytime. Other communal areas included a lovely big breakfast room which was already set for the next day. There was a drinks fridge that was stocked with soft drinks and beers which we were told we could help ourselves to at anytime - we just had to note down on the sheet of paper what we had taken.

Our room was great too - as we had booked last minute the room was the last one available and was undergoing some building work (but we didn't mind and it wasn't intrusive). We had a lovely big bed and an annex type conservatory with a couple of arm chairs and a lovely view of the field next door and the cows grazing! The bathroom was lovely and clean and fresh towels were there for our use. The only downside was our room backed on to the reception room and there were a few noisy guests who sat up fairy late talking which kept us up.

Breakfast was amazing. We were greeted by the hosts who asked whether we would like anything cooked, which we declined as we were in a hurry to get going unfortunately. There was a great range of teas on offer, cereal, pastries, breads and cold meats. It was all very yummy. Breakfast was also included in the price.

For a last minute booking we were very impressed with the level of quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganlgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our first stay with Patrick and Fanny at De Akkerwinde. We had eaten here some years ago when it had been a very nice restaurant. We are organising a trip over for a party from our village later this year and wanted to know the layout. Our room we had was spacious. It was different to what you get in most hotels, in that there were many personal touches in the decor, giving the feel that you were staying in a friend's guest room. There were French windows that let out on to the front terrace which allowed us to enjoy the lovely weather we had during our stay. The bed was comfortable - most important. True there was no door to the toilet and washing area mentioned by an earlier reviewer, but it is very well screened off and descrete. We found that with a four poster bed, wonderful wall hangings and nic-nacs, the room had charm of a sort that is very rare in a guest house. Because we are returning with friends, we did ask to see all the rooms. They are all decorated and set out in a similar way. Spacious and decorated nicely.

Patrick and Fanny were very kind and made us feel very welcome. Continental breakfast is the norm, but cooked or even English breakfast were offered. The breakfast room, like the bedroom, is again decorated in a very individual way. Fanny has clearly spent many hours adding lots of personal touches.

All in all I cannot rate this place highly enough. Not so much for the lovely design and decorative quirks that are all over the place, which are great fun, but for the enthusiasm and love that has clearly been poured into the place.

Patrick is a cycling fan, and will be able to advise where to ride. He even tried to get me to go riding with him, which didn't fit in with our time table. There is a cycle hire shop in Ypres he knows about. Certainly this is a brilliant cycling area, with only gentle hills.

The are has many attractions other than WW1 sites for those not so interested in history. Ghent and Brugges with their ancient architecture as well as Ostende and Nieuport on the coast are about an hours drive away.

If you are a WW1 tourist, then this place is as central to the sites in the Salient as you will ever find. Polygon Wood is across the road. Paths in the wood allow you to take in the atmosphere, which, if you stop and pause, you will find, not spooky, but very peaceful and calming. A short walk in one direction takes you to the Polygon Wood and Buttes Cemeteries as well as the 5th Australian and New Zealand memorials. In the other direction you can find Black Watch Corner.

Many other WW1 sites are within a short distance. Menin Road, Hooge, Sanctuary Wood (and it's fantastic museum), Hills 60 & 62, Hellfire Corner are all less than 2 miles drive to the south and West. Passendale, Tyne Cott Cemetary, Zonnebeke and other famous sites are less the 2 miles drive to the North and East. Even the Messiness Ridge, Ypres town, Pope ringe and gas attack areas of Poelkapelle,y Pilkem and Langemark can be driven to in less than 20 minutes.

Room Tip: There is a two bedroon flat available if you are travelling as a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishGentAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found that Fanny & PatricK were very welcoming, when we arrive there was coffee instantly available, complete with pastry!! The room was comfortable, unlike a previous reviewer neither "dismal or noisy" although we also were along side the kitchen!! The fridge in the breakfast area had drinks in it with an "honesty" system which was absolutely fine. The breakfast was all that you could eat in the "continental" style also we were offered omelets if we wanted.
Granted the bathrooms did not have doors but we didn't find that a problem. There was a really good restaurant within easy walking distance although we were offered an evening meal here, but it didn't fit in with what we were doing. Also the B & B was right opposite to Polygone Woods one of the battle areas of WW1.Overall we would be very happy to go back the next time we visit Ypres.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokiarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

A huge disappointment. Bedroom was dismal with no privacy for having a shower or using the toilet. Also it was right next to a very noisy kitchen from 6.30am. The lounge was dark and no-one bothered to put the lights on in the evening, also. there was no bar available at any time. The male owner was very unfriendly, maybe because we chose to eat earlier in the day whilst away from the property. Overall it was well below expectations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTAC343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This B&B is right in the middle of the Battle fields of Flanders only 4 miles from Ypres. It is actually in Polygon Wood. The owners are very friendly, and the B&B has lovely rooms with all the facillities, great rooms, showers, and the comunal Breakfast, with fresh meats omlets, local produce, is brilliant,
An Ideal place for Battle field tours, and in the Eve a short walk to the bar at the end of Lnge Dreve, will reward you with good beer and warm reception.

Room Tip: All rooms are high standard, and the visitors lounge is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraterCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zonnebeke
1.7 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Afrodite
B&B Afrodite
#2 of 6 in Zonnebeke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Amaryllis
B&B Amaryllis
#1 of 6 in Zonnebeke
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Varlet Farm
Varlet Farm
#1 of 2 in Poelkapelle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.5 mi away
Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis Poelkapelle
Guesthouse 't oud Gemeentehuis P...
#197 of 831 in West Flanders Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.8 mi away
Back2Front B&B
Back2Front B&B
#1 of 1 in Boezinge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Akkerwinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Akkerwinde

Property: De Akkerwinde
Address: Lange Dreve 12, Zonnebeke 8980, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Zonnebeke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zonnebeke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Akkerwinde 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Akkerwinde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing