We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather spooky for a woman traveller”

Sant Miquel del Fai Monastery
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rather spooky for a woman traveller”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The access road to this place is very challenging for an average driver and the monastery is really in the middle of nowhere. Despite the web advertising that said that it is open both Saturdays and Sundays, when we arrived in there on a Saturday, the cave was closed and there were only very few people around the monastery. I found the atmosphere prety spooky and deserted. Probably better to visit it in a big group.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarTraveller307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    89
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“do it”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hidden Gem. NO tourists. Waterfalls, hiking, great views, caves and overall a day long magical tour done w. terra diversion bikes from Barcelona. The monastery is abandoned, the buildings are very old and picturesque and the waterfalls and mini falls and drips are just pure joy. On a windy, sunny day we felt like we got treated to some lovely story book place. Romantic and secluded and just a delight. The guide was very accommodating and took us to a hot spring little village too and if it had been warmer I think we could have gotten him to let us go swim at the bottom of the falls too. do this tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place off the beaten path”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We did a tour with Terra Diversion Bikes from Barcelona for about $80 I think to St. Miquel. The tour included transportation there and a stop in a small Spanish village with hot springs. Then we hiked to St. Miquel an abandoned monastery at the top of a good, stiff cliff. We had lovely vistas of waterfalls, rock formations, plants and lovely Spanish houses on the hike. Once there we loved all the waterfalls and buildings, the caves, the view, the ducks in the mini lake and the huge waterfall that you can walk behind. It was magical. I dipped my feet in the glacial spring creating all this wonder and laughed for joy of this pristine and marvelous place that few know off. We then had a simple picnic provided by the tour and then started back down and back to Barcelona. The tour was great since I think it would be hard to find on your own and the guide was very friendly and easy to talk to. The tour is a little strenuous so be in shape or stop often. Would do again and again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
662 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“A magical place in the mountains”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Areally great non touristy place with a magical drive to a hidden monastery with fantastic views. All around are magic walks. The best features are the huge waterfalls and wonderful caves. A top hidden destination not to be missed. Great for everyone including kids just keep hold of their hands! The drops are huge.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to be with nature”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beautiful mountain, waterfalls, cool springs, caves and well prepared for visitors to walk through without difficulties. There's a playground for children and parents, you can bring your own picnic basket or purchase food at a little cafe at the playground. It's a place worth visiting and bring your bathing suits just in case you might want to swim down the stream at the bottom.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sant Miquel del Fai Monastery also viewed

Sant Feliu de Codines, Province of Barcelona
Benifallet, Province of Tarragona
 
Collbato, Province of Barcelona
Montserrat, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sant Miquel del Fai Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing